Canadian Cyclist


October 13/00 9:49 am - Bike Swap, Sun Tour, Alberta 'Cross

Posted by Editor on 10/13/00

CC Swap and Witches Brew Races - Vancouver, B.C.

We are working with B.C. event organizer Claire Bonin to develop a series of Bike Swaps. The first one will take place in Vancouver on October 28th at the University of British Columbia (Parking Lot #6).

How does it work? Individuals or clubs can purchase a table to sell their old, unneeded equipment, and stores or sales reps can purchase a 10'x10' space to sell their old stuff. A great way to clear out your old equipment and, at the same time, buy new (old) stuff that you really, really need! Download PDF registration form Here.

The event will be held in conjunction with the Witches Brew Races, pumpkin carving and helmet decorating contests. Download PDF registration form Here.


Date: Saturday, October 28, 2000
Location: UBC Parking lot #6
Set up time: 7:30-9:00 am
Bike Swap operation: 9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Format: Profit is all yours, no commissions on sales
Races: 11:00 am to 8:00 pm
Table: Provided for Individual registration

Fax form to: Claire at 604.938.1075 before October 21st, 2000
For information call: Sylvie at 604.894.1433 or e-mail

Herald Sun Tour - Australia

Stage 13 - Eaglehawk to Ballarat 148 km

1 Jeremy Hunt (GBR) Southern Grampians 3:37:42
2 Andy De Smet (Bel) Fosters Lightice
3 Jaroslav Bilek (Cze) Active For Life
4 Eugen Wacker (Kgz) Echuca-Moama
5 Svein Gaute Holestol (Nor) City Of Melbourne
6 Trent Wilson (Aus) Custom Fleet
7 Glen Chadwick (Aus) Team Caravello
8 Dan Smith (GBR) Team Caravello
9 Scott Moninger (USA) Jayco
10 Jamie Drew (Aus) Jayco at 0:14

18 Eric Wohlberg (Can) Australia Post 2:35
24 Michael Sayers (USA) Jayco
35 John Lieswyn (USA) Australia Post both s.t.
47 Kirk Albers (USA) Ballarat-Eureka 8:08
48 Norm Carter (USA) Ballarat-Eureka s.t.
60 Scott Cochran (USA) Ballarat-Eureka 30:43
64 Dave McCook (USA) Australia Post 45:38


1 Eugen Wacker (Kgz) Echuca-Moama 27:14:10
2 Scott Moninger (USA) Jayco at 1:33
3 Andy De Smet (Bel) Fosters Lightice 1:59
4 Eric Wohlberg (Can) Australia Post 2:29
5 Tomas Konecny (Cze) Active For Life 4:23
6 Josh Collingwood (Aus) Ballarat-Eureka 4:39
7 Trent Wilson (Aus) Custom Fleet 5:03
8 Peter Wrolich (Aut) City Of Melbourne 5:15
9 Ciaran Power (Irl) Latrobe City 5:22
10 Grzegorz Wajs (Pol) Echuca-Moama 5:35

17 John Lieswyn (USA) Australia Post 11:56
36 Michael Sayers (USA) Jayco 34:26
40 Norm Carter (USA) Ballarat-Eureka 41:22
54 Kirk Albers (USA) Ballarat-Eureka 1:02:50
64 Scott Cochran (USA) Ballarat-Eureka 1:35:27
72 Dave McCook (USA) Australia Post 2:11:30

Happy Birthday To...

Gilles Corbeil (yesterday) and Gina Potvin (today).

Velociraptor Cyclocross 2000 - Edmonton, Alberta
(Courtesy Sean J. Barr)

Goldstick Pavilion: 39 Street and 103 Avenue. Parking and shower facilities available. BYOTowel.

Course Length:
2.0 km circuit. Pre-ride for riders will take place 15mins before race commences. Course will be marked and marshaled.

Entry Details:
$15/pre-registration. 10/08/2000
$20/same day registration. 10/15/2000
Registration will close 30mins prior to start.
First race @ 10:00 am.

Prize List:
$500 in cash and merchandise prizes will be awarded after the Open Men's race completes.

Contact Name: Sean J. Barr @ 780.468.7001 email:

Race ?'s Contact 468-7001

Open Men
Comprised of Road Categories 1-3 and Elite-Expert Mountain Bike
Duration: 50 minutes + 1 lap. Start @ 12:45 PM

Open Women
All categories of Road and Mountain Bike
Duration: 45 minutes + 1 lap. Start @ 10:00 am

Master Men
Comprised of Master licensed men who choose not to race Open or Novice
Duration: 45 minutes + 1 lap. Start @ 10:00 am

Novice Men
Comprised of Road Categories 4-5 and
Sport-Beginner Mountain Bike
Duration: 40 minutes + 1 lap. Start @ 10:00 am

Main Sponsors: Velocity Cycling Club, Velocity Cycle & Sport, Fast Trax and the Edmonton Nordic Ski Club.

'Cross Nationals Reminder

A reminder that the Cyclo-cross Nationals are approaching (November 4-5 - Strathcona-Tweedsmuir School, Okotoks, Alberta). For more information, visit the website:


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2023 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.