Canadian Cyclist


January 30/17 8:05 am - Chernove, Coles-Lyster & Iles BC Athletes of the Year Finalists

Posted by Editoress on 01/30/17

Sport BC, on behalf of the BC Sport community, has proudly announced the outstanding amateur athletes, coaches, and officials, named as finalists for 14 of the 18 award categories to be presented at the upcoming Athlete of the Year Awards. BC cyclists Tristen Chernove, Maggie Coles-Lyster, and Finn Iles have all been named as finalists in their respective categories.



Tristen Chernove




Maggie Coles-Lyster



Finn Iles



The 51st Annual Awards Ceremony and Gala dinner is set for Wednesday, March 8th, at the Fairmont Waterfront Hotel. The ceremonies will recognize BC's best in amateur sport including athletes, coaches, and officials for outstanding performances in their sport over the 2016 season. Each finalist was nominated by their Provincial or Multi-Sport Organization, High School, College or University. The Selection Committee, chaired by Bernie Pascall, included 15 highly regarded sportswriters, broadcasters, and amateur sport leaders in British Columbia.

"A large number of highly qualified nominations for each of the categories were received this year," notes Sport BC President & CEO, Rob Newman. "Each year the Athlete of the Year Awards recognizes the talented and deserving athletes, coaches and officials. This year's nominees in all the award categories are certainly a testament to the strength and depth of sport development in our province over the last 51 years. Each year, we are grateful for the support and contribution of our sport and business partners and volunteers."

Finalists for the 2017 Sport BC Athlete of the Year Awards represent 18 sports from 21 various cities and are noted below. An additional four awards will be presented at the ceremony including the Best of BC, KidSport BC Community Champion, Harry Jerome Comeback and the Daryl Thompson Lifetime Achievement Award.

Athlete with a Disability
• Tristen Chernove (Cranbrook) - Para-Cycling
• Liam Stanley (Victoria) - Para-Athletics
• Michelle Stilwell (Parksville) - Para-Athletics

Female Junior Athlete of the Year
• Maggie Coles-Lyster (Maple Ridge) - Cycling
• Nina Schultz (New Westminster) - Athletics
• Shallon Olsen (Surrey) - Gymnastics

Male Junior Athlete of the Year
• Finn Iles (Whistler) - Cycling
• Benjamin Sigouin (Vancouver) - Tennis
• AJ Ewart (Coquitlam) - Golf

For the full list of finalists in each category, click Here.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.