Canadian Cyclist


March 10/17 19:41 pm - Paris Nice: Stage 6

Posted by Editoress on 03/10/17

Simon Yates attacked 20 km from the line while the main contenders played their waiting game, to take the win of the 6th stage of Paris-Nice in Fayence. The Briton surged shortly before the top of the first category Col de Bourigaille, never to be seen again by the leading favorites, who waited for the final "wall" of Fayence to battle it out. The final climb revealed the current strengths and weaknesses and race leader Julian Alaphilippe (Quick Step), so impressive two days ago at Mont Brouilly, could not react when Colombian Sergio Henao (Sky) surged to take second place ahead of 2013 and 2015 winner Richie Porte (BMC). Alaphilippe was 4th and maintained a 36-seconds lead over Tony Gallopin overall, with Henao third, a further 10 seconds adrift.

Canadians: Michael Woods (Cannondale-Drapac) finished the stage in 56th at 9:23 back and now sits 114th in GC. Antoine Duchesne (Direct Energie) finished 81st at 18:08 back and sits 124th.


Stage 6: Aubagne to Fayence, 193.5
1 Simon Yates (GBr) Orica-Scott 4:37:51
2 Sergio Henao Montoya (Col) Team Sky at 0:17
3 Richie Porte (Aus) BMC Racing Team 0:26
4 Julian Alaphilippe (Fra) Quick-Step Floors 0:29
5 Daniel Martin (Irl) Quick-Step Floors s.t.
6 Jon Izaguirre Insausti (Esp) Bahrain-Merida 0:32
7 Jakob Fuglsang (Den) Astana Pro Team
8 Alberto Contador (Esp) Trek-Segafredo
9 Ilnur Zakarin (Rus) Katusha-Alpecin
10 Tony Gallopin (Fra) Lotto Soudal all s.t.
11 Diego Ulissi (Ita) Team UAE Emirates 0:39
12 Gorka Izagirre Insausti (Esp) Movistar Team
13 Warren Barguil (Fra) Team Sunweb both s.t.
14 Patrick Konrad (Aut) Bora-Hansgrohe 0:58
15 Sam Oomen (Ned) Team Sunweb 1:05
16 Nicolas Roche (Irl) BMC Racing Team 1:41
17 Mikel Nieve (Esp) Team Sky 2:24
18 Jan Polanc (Slo) Team UAE Emirates 3:47
19 Nicolas Edet (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits 3:50
20 Jarlinson Pantano (Col) Trek-Segafredo
56 Michael Woods (Can) Cannondale-Drapac 9:23
81 Antoine Duchesne (Can) Direct Energie 18:08
1 Julian Alaphilippe (Fra) Quick-Step Floors 21:58:22
2 Tony Gallopin (Fra) Lotto Soudal at 0:36
3 Sergio Henao Montoya (Col) Team Sky 0:46
4 Gorka Izagirre Insausti (Esp) Movistar Team 0:57
5 Daniel Martin (Irl) Quick-Step Floors 1:20
6 Ilnur Zakarin (Rus) Katusha-Alpecin 1:31
7 Alberto Contador (Esp) Trek-Segafredo 1:34
8 Simon Yates (GBr) Orica-Scott 1:37
9 Jon Izaguirre Insausti (Esp) Bahrain-Merida 2:04
10 Warren Barguil (Fra) Team Sunweb 3:08
11 Philippe Gilbert (Bel) Quick-Step Floors 6:41
12 Rudy Molard (Fra) FDJ 7:25
13 Romain Hardy (Fra) Fortuneo - Vital Concept 9:59
14 Bram Tankink (Ned) Team LottoNl-Jumbo 14:50
15 Richie Porte (Aus) BMC Racing Team 15:54
16 Sam Oomen (Ned) Team Sunweb 17:53
17 Jakob Fuglsang (Den) Astana Pro Team 18:18
18 Steven Kruijswijk (Ned) Team LottoNl-Jumbo 18:51
19 Nicolas Roche (Irl) BMC Racing Team 19:26
20 Yves Lampaert (Bel) Quick-Step Floors 19:37
124 Antoine Duchesne (Can) Direct Energie 53:09
144 Michael Woods (Can) Cannondale-Drapac 59:55


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.