Canadian Cyclist


April 12/17 21:07 pm - Paris to Ancaster Adds Pro Criterium

Posted by Editoress on 04/12/17

The organizers of the Paris to Ancaster Bike Race (P2A) have announced that the event weekend is expanding to include a P2A Pro Criterium on Saturday, April 29th, in Paris, Ontario.

The P2A Pro Criterium will feature an international field of professional men and women riders competing in a spectator friendly short, closed circuit race. Just as P2A is a unique blend of road and offroad sections, this criterium is a cross between a road criterium and a cyclocross race.

Taking place in downtown Paris, the circuit will be a technical 750 metre course with 5 corners. It will take place mostly on paved roads, but will include 100m on a gravel potholed lane and a short 50m grass section to provide a sampling of the P2A course variety. Due to this short course, there will be a maximum of 25 riders for each heat and the final.

Early confirmed Canadian riders include 3-time Paris to Ancaster winner, Mike Garrigan and perennial P2A podium finisher, Aaron Schooler. Leading the international field against some of the strongest riders in Canada include 5-time British cyclocross champion, Ian Field; Danish cyclocross champion, Margriet Kloppenberg; and Belgium-based American cyclocross champion, Christine Vardaros.

The P2A Pro Criterium is offering a $5,000 cash prize list, with equal payout for men and women; a last chance to qualify for the P2A 70k elite wave, as all finalists are guaranteed elite wave entry; and P2A call up for the top ten of the P2A Pro Criterium.

This criterium is open to UCI license holders, road Category 1/2, Master 1 road, Expert and Elite mountain bike, or Category 1/2 cyclocross license holders.

As part of the criterium there will be a finish line festival with food and beverage vendors, kids activities and an awards ceremony, all in downtown Paris.

Registration is available at


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2024 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.