Canadian Cyclist


May 6/17 15:28 pm - Giro d'Italia: Stage 2

Posted by Editoress on 05/6/17

In a stage with strong headwinds the sprinters' teams controlled the race until the final showdown. The experienced Greipel beat his rivals in the sprint.

André Greipel claimed his seventh stage win at a Giro d'Italia as he outsprinted Roberto Ferrari and Jasper Stuyven at Tortolì at the end of a stage more than six hours long, due to the head wind. For the first time in his long career, the ‘Gorilla’ moved into the lead of a Grand Tour. He'll be in the Maglia Rosa for the third and last day of the Giro100's visit to Sardinia.

It is Greipel's first Maglia Rosa ever but the 23rd for German riders. The last of them to lead the Giro d'Italia was Marcel Kittel in 2016. Herman Buse was the first, exactly 85 years ago after he won stage 2 from Vicenza to Udine on 15 May 1932 – but it was a very different way of winning as he soloed to cross the finishing line 11 minutes before his competitors

    Maglia Rosa (pink), general classification leader - André Greipel (Lotto Soudal)
    Maglia Ciclamino (cyclamen), sprinter classification leader - André Greipel (Lotto Soudal)
    Maglia Azzurra (blue), King of the Mountains classification leader  - Daniel Teklehaimanot (Team Dimension Data)
    Maglia Bianca (white), young rider general classification leader - Lukas Pöstlberger (Bora - Hansgrohe)

Mike Woods (Cannondale Drapac) was top Canadian in 71st in the same time as the winner. Svein Tuft (Orica-Scott) was 137th at 1:12 back.


Stage 2: Olbia to Tortoli, 221 km
1 André Greipel (Ger) Lotto Soudal 6:05:18
2 Roberto Ferrari (Ita) UAE Team Emirates
3 Jasper Stuyven (Bel) Trek-Segafredo
4 Fernando Gaviria (Col) Quick-Step Floors
5 Kristian Sbaragli (Ita) Dimension Data
6 Enrico Battaglin (Ita) Team LottoNl-Jumbo
7 Ryan Gibbons (RSA) Dimension Data
8 Geraint Thomas (GBr) Team Sky
9 Caleb Ewan (Aus) Orica-Scott
10 Rui Alberto Faria da Costa (Por) UAE Team Emirates
11 Matteo Montaguti (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale
12 Davide Villella (Ita) Cannondale-Drapac
13 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Bahrain-Merida
14 Maximiliano Richeze (Arg) Quick-Step Floors
15 Lukas Pöstlberger (Aut) Bora-Hansgrohe
16 Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale
17 Luka Mezgec (Slo) Orica-Scott
18 Alexander Edmondson (Aus) Orica-Scott
19 Adam Yates (GBr) Orica-Scott
20 Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar Team
71 Michael Woods (Can) Cannondale-Drapac all s.t.
137 Svein Tuft (Can) Orica-Scott 1:12
1 André Greipel (Ger) Lotto Soudal 11:18:39
2 Lukas Pöstlberger (Aut) Bora-Hansgrohe at 0:04
3 Caleb Ewan (Aus) Orica-Scott 0:08
4 Roberto Ferrari (Ita) UAE Team Emirates
5 Jasper Stuyven (Bel) Trek-Segafredo 0:10
6 Pavel Brutt (Rus) Gazprom – Rusvelo 0:12
7 Kristian Sbaragli (Ita) Dimension Data 0:14
8 Ryan Gibbons (RSA) Dimension Data
9 Fernando Gaviria (Col) Quick-Step Floors
10 Enrico Battaglin (Ita) Team LottoNl-Jumbo
11 Geraint Thomas (GBr) Team Sky
12 Rui Costa (Por) UAE Team Emirates
13 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Bahrain-Merida
14 Simone Ponzi (Ita) CCC Sprandi Polkowice
15 Sacha Modolo (Ita) UAE Team Emirates
16 Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar Team
17 Adam Yates (GBr) Orica-Scott
18 Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale
19 Diego Rosa (Ita) Team Sky
20 Matteo Montaguti (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale all s.t.
61 Michael Woods (Can) Cannondale-Drapac 0:27
149 Svein Tuft (Can) Orica-Scott 4:15



Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2024 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.