Canadian Cyclist


May 7/17 19:37 pm - Giro d'Italia: Stage 3

Posted by Editor on 05/7/17

Fernando Gaviria's First Win

It’s the Giro of the first timers. Fernando Gaviria claimed his first stage victory at the Corsa Rosa after Lukas Pöstleberger won in Olbia on his Grand Tour debut and André Greipel took his first Maglia Rosa in Tortolì. But it wasn’t a bunch sprint finish in Cagliari.

The first Colombian sprinter to win at the Giro, was part of a small groupthat battled the crosswinds in the final 10km. Gaviria, with the help of his Quick-Step Floors team takes the lead in the general classification over from André Greipel.











Photo Gallery


Gaviria (Quick-Step Floors) said: “We didn’t plan this attack in the crosswinds. We wanted to be at the front if the bunch was going to fire up. We’re a strong team so we took the initiative. With six riders at the front, we outnumbered the others. When we saw a split in the bunch, we went full gas. I had two days with bad legs, or if my legs were good, the others had much better ones. I was bitter because I had done a lot of sacrifices at home to be ready for stage 1 of the Giro. Now we can enjoy the rest day as a team, because I have the Maglia Rosa for two days: the rest day and stage 4.” Tomorrow is the first rest day of the 100th Giro d’Italia.

Giro d'Italia


Michael Woods (Cannondale-Drapac) was top Canadian in 85th at 1:17 back. Woods is also is top Canadian in GC, sitting 67th at 1:40 back.



Results from the 3rd stage in Italy

Stage 3: Tempi to Cagliari, 148 km
1 Fernando Gaviria (Col) Quick-Step Floors 3:26:33
2 Rüdiger Selig (Ger) Bora-Hansgrohe
3 Giacomo Nizzolo (Ita) Trek-Segafredo
4 Nathan Haas (Aus) Dimension Data
5 Maximiliano Richeze (Arg) Quick-Step Floors all s.t.
6 Kanstantsin Siutsou (Blr) Bahrain-Merida 0:03
7 Bob Jungels (Lux) Quick-Step Floors s.t.
8 Caleb Ewan (Aus) Orica-Scott 0:13
9 Sacha Modolo (Ita) UAE Team Emirates
10 André Greipel (Ger) Lotto Soudal
11 Phil Bauhaus (Ger) Team Sunweb
12 Viacheslav Kuznetsov (Rus) Katusha-Alpecin
13 Roberto Ferrari (Ita) UAE Team Emirates
14 Ryan Gibbons (RSA) Dimension Data
15 Patrick Konrad (Aut) Bora-Hansgrohe
16 Lukas Pöstlberger (Aut) Bora-Hansgrohe
17 Enrico Battaglin (Ita) Team LottoNl-Jumbo
18 Ivan Savitckii (Rus) Gazprom – Rusvelo
19 Adam Yates (GBr) Orica-Scott
20 Eugert Zhupa (Alb) Wilier Triestina all s.t.
85 Michael Woods (Can) Cannondale-Drapac 1:17
107 Svein Tuft (Can) Orica-Scott 1:29
1 Fernando Gaviria (Col) Quick-Step Floors 14:45:16
2 André Greipel (Ger) Lotto Soudal at 0:09
3 Lukas Pöstlberger (Aut) Bora-Hansgrohe 0:13
4 Bob Jungels (Lux) Quick-Step Floors
5 Kanstantsin Siutsou (Blr) Bahrain-Merida both s.t.
6 Caleb Ewan (Aus) Orica-Scott 0:17
7 Roberto Ferrari (Ita) UAE Team Emirates s.t.
8 Ryan Gibbons (RSA) Dimension Data 0:23
9 Enrico Battaglin (Ita) Team LottoNl-Jumbo
10 Sacha Modolo (Ita) UAE Team Emirates
11 Geraint Thomas (GBr) Team Sky
12 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Bahrain-Merida
13 Adam Yates (GBr) Orica-Scott
14 Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale
15 Rui Costa (Por) UAE Team Emirates
16 Diego Rosa (Ita) Team Sky
17 Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar Team
18 Kristijan Koren (Slo) Cannondale-Drapac
19 Tom Dumoulin (Ned) Team Sunweb
20 Luis León Sanchez (Esp) Astana Pro Team all s.t.
67 Michael Woods (Can) Cannondale-Drapac 1:40
132 Svein Tuft (Can) Orica-Scott 5:40



Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.