Canadian Cyclist


May 9/17 11:33 am - Giro d'Italia: Stage 4

Posted by Editoress on 05/9/17

Polanc and Jungels repeat their winning feats

The Slovenian rider wins on Etna in similar fashion to his solo victory on Abetone in 2015.
The Luxembourger wears the Maglia Rosa just like last year.

Two years after he won climbing the Abetone, Slovenia’s Jan Polanc claimed the first uphill finish of the 100th Giro d’Italia as he soloed to victory on Mount Etna, surviving from a long breakaway despite the strong wind blowing on Sicily’s famous volcano. Luxembourg’s Bob Jungels – who wore the Maglia Rosa for three days last year – moved into the lead ahead of British riders Geraint Thomas and Adam Yates.






Photo gallery


Results from the fourth stage in Italy

Stage 4: Cefalu to Etna, 181 km
1 Jan Polanc (Slo) UAE Team Emirates 4:55:58
2 Ilnur Zakarin (Rus) Katusha-Alpecin at 0:19
3 Geraint Thomas (GBr) Team Sky 0:29
4 Thibaut Pinot (Fra) FDJ
5 Dario Cataldo (Ita) Astana Pro Team
6 Tom Dumoulin (Ned) Team Sunweb
7 Bob Jungels (Lux) Quick-Step Floors
8 Adam Yates (GBr) Orica-Scott
9 Bauke Mollema (Ned) Trek-Segafredo
10 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Bahrain-Merida
11 Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar Team
12 Simone Petilli (Ita) UAE Team Emirates
13 Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale
14 Pierre Rolland (Fra) Cannondale-Drapac Pro Cycling Team
15 Tejay Van Garderen (USA) BMC Racing Team
16 Wilco Kelderman (Ned) Team Sunweb
17 Michael Woods (Can) Cannondale-Drapac Pro Cycling Team
18 Mikel Landa Meana (Esp) Team Sky
19 Davide Formolo (Ita) Cannondale-Drapac Pro Cycling Team
20 Steven Kruijswijk (Ned) Team LottoNl-Jumbo all s.t.
64 Svein Tuft (Can) Orica-Scott 26:43
1 Bob Jungels (Lux) Quick-Step Floors 19:41:56
2 Geraint Thomas (GBr) Team Sky at 0:06
3 Adam Yates (GBr) Orica-Scott 0:10
4 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Bahrain-Merida
5 Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale
6 Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar Team
7 Tom Dumoulin (Ned) Team Sunweb
8 Bauke Mollema (Ned) Trek-Segafredo
9 Mikel Landa Meana (Esp) Team Sky
10 Thibaut Pinot (Fra) FDJ all s.t.
22 Michael Woods (Can) Cannondale-Drapac Pro Cycling Team 1:27
162 Svein Tuft (Can) Orica-Scott 31:41



Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.