Canadian Cyclist


May 11/17 17:46 pm - Women's Amgen Tour of California: Stage 1 results

Posted by Editoress on 05/11/17

Megan Guarnier won stage 1 of the Women’s Tour of California after a race ending dominant performance from her team Boels Dolmans. In a place so special to her, the US national champion achieved a huge comeback two months after suffering a concussion. Her teammate Anna van der Breggen played her part setting the final assault for Guarnier before finishing second herself, ahead of Cuban national champion Arlenis Sierra (Astana Women’s Team). Their rivals will try to turn things around with the queen-stage set on Friday.

Lizzie Williams (Hagens Berman-Supermint) had the most successfull attack of the day, a solo attempt gained her over 1 minute at the midway point of the 117 km stage. Williams was brought back with less than 25 km to go and was named the Most Courageous Rider of the stage. Boels Dolmans then went to the fore, controlling any further attempts at breakaways.

“It’s really special for me to have a World Tour event here in the US and in California, my adopted home state.” said Guarnier. “My teammates set me perfectly for this win. Today was quite aggressive, they had a lot of work and let me stay calm and save everything for the finish. It was hectic coming into the final climb. Amy Pieters went super hard, strung things out and opened it up for us. Anna (Van Der Breggen) went, I followed her and with 300 metres to go it was my time to attack.”


Lex Albrecht (Team Tibco - Silicon Valley Bank) was top Canadian on the day finishing 7th at 17 seconds back.


Results from stage one of the Women’s Amgen Tour of California

Stage 1: Lake Tahoe circuit, 117 km
1 Megan Guarnier (USA) Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam 3:03:48
2 Anna van der Breggen (Ned) Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam at 0:04
3 Arlenis Sierra (Cub) Astana Women's Team 0:07
4 Ruth Winder (USA) Unitedhealthcare Pro Cycling 0:10
5 Kristabel Doebel-Hickok (USA) Cylance Pro Cycling s.t.
6 Lauren Stephens (USA) Team Tibco - Silicon Valley Bank 0:14
7 Lex Albrecht (Can) Team Tibco - Silicon Valley Bank 0:17
8 Coryn Rivera (USA) Team Sunweb 0:20
9 Katie Hall (USA) Unitedhealthcare Pro Cycling s.t.
10 Alena Amialiusik (Blr) Canyon SRAM Racing 0:22
11 Kirsti Lay (Can) Rally Cycling 0:25
12 Sofie De Vuyst (Bel) Lares - Waowdeals Women Cycling s.t.
13 Martina Ritter (Aut) Drops 0:28
14 Rossella Ratto (Ita) Cylance Pro Cycling s.t.
15 Danielle King (GBr) Cylance Pro Cycling 0:31
16 Scotti Lechuga (USA) Hagens Berman - Supermint 0:33
17 Katerina Nash (Cze) Team Illuminate 0:37
18 Sofia Bertizzolo (Ita) Astana Women's Team 0:39
19 Leah Thomas (USA) Sho - Air Twenty20 s.t.
20 Lara Vieceli (Ita) Astana Women's Team 0:42
21 Kelly Catlin (USA) Rally Cycling 0:43
22 Emma White (USA) Rally Cycling 0:47
23 Tayler Wiles (USA) Unitedhealthcare Pro Cycling 0:50
24 Kathryn Buss (USA) Team Tibco - Silicon Valley Bank s.t.
25 Anna Christian (GBr) Drops 0:52
26 Audrey Cordon Ragot (Fra) Wiggle High5 0:54
27 Jennifer Luebke (USA) Visit Dallas DNA Pro Cycling 0:56
28 Leah Kirchmann (Can) Team Sunweb 0:58
29 Megan Alderete (USA) Hagens Berman - Supermint
30 Jasmin Duehring (Can) Sho - Air Twenty20 both s.t.
31 Ingrid Drexel (Mex) Team Tibco - Silicon Valley Bank 1:00
32 Stefanie Sydlik (USA) US National Team 1:03
33 Abigail Mickey (USA) Colavita - Bianchi
34 Juliette Labous (Fra) Team Sunweb
35 Abby-Mae Parkinson (GBr) Drops
36 Elizabeth Holden (GBr) Drops all s.t.
37 Giorgia Bronzini (Ita) Wiggle High5 1:07
38 Gutierrez Rodriguez (Mex) Astana Women's Team s.t.
39 Emilia Fahlin (Swe) Wiggle High5 1:12
40 Trixi Worrack (Ger) Canyon SRAM Racing
41 Mikayla Harvey (NZl) Team Illuminate
42 Liane Lippert (Ger) Team Sunweb
43 Peta Mullens (Aus) Hagens Berman - Supermint
44 Hannah Payton (GBr) Drops all s.t.
45 Breanne Nalder (USA) Visit Dallas DNA Pro Cycling 1:17
46 Caitlin Laroche (USA) Rally Cycling 1:23
47 Karol-Ann Canuel (Can) Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam s.t.
48 Shayna Powless (USA) Sho - Air Twenty20 1:28
49 Rushlee Buchanan (NZl) Unitedhealthcare Pro Cycling 1:31
50 Marie Soleil Blais (Can) Team Illuminate 1:33
51 Michaela Drummond (NZl) Visit Dallas DNA Pro Cycling 1:37
52 Hannah Barnes (GBr) Canyon SRAM Racing
53 Sofia Arreola Navarro (Mex) Sho - Air Twenty20
54 Amy Pieters (Ned) Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam
55 Christine Majerus (Lux) Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam
56 Lizzie Williams (Aus) Hagens Berman - Supermint
57 Brianna Walle (USA) Team Tibco - Silicon Valley Bank
58 Lucinda Brand (Ned) Team Sunweb
59 Gillian Ellsay (Can) Colavita - Bianchi
60 Jip Van Den Bos (Ned) Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam
61 Malgorzata Jasinska (Pol) Cylance Pro Cycling all s.t.
62 Hanna Muegge (Ger) Visit Dallas DNA Pro Cycling 1:55
63 Jessica Cerra (USA) Hagens Berman - Supermint 1:57
64 Lindsay Myers (USA) Team Tibco - Silicon Valley Bank 1:59
65 Katherine Maine (Can) Rally Cycling 2:00
66 Georgia Catterick (NZl) Team Illuminate 2:05
67 Allison Arensman (USA) US National Team
68 Sarah Rijkes (Aut) Lares - Waowdeals Women Cycling both s.t.
69 Skylar Schneider (USA) US National Team 2:14
70 Hannah Arensman (USA) US National Team
71 Claire Rose (GBr) Visit Dallas DNA Pro Cycling both s.t.
72 Lindsay Bayer (USA) Hagens Berman - Supermint 2:19
73 Mandy Heintz (USA) Visit Dallas DNA Pro Cycling s.t.
74 Bryony Van Velzen (Ned) Lares - Waowdeals Women Cycling 2:21
75 Amélie Rivat (Fra) Lares - Waowdeals Women Cycling s.t.
76 Alexandra Millard (USA) Team Illuminate 2:29
77 Amber Pierce (USA) Colavita - Bianchi 2:39
78 Whitney Allison (USA) Colavita - Bianchi s.t.
79 Julia Soek (Ned) Team Sunweb 2:45
80 Erica Allar (USA) Rally Cycling 2:51
81 Alexis Ryan (USA) Canyon SRAM Racing 3:12
82 Barbara Guarischi (Ita) Canyon SRAM Racing s.t.
83 Lauretta Hanson (Aus) Unitedhealthcare Pro Cycling 4:33
84 Lauren Hall (USA) Unitedhealthcare Pro Cycling s.t.
85 Kirsten Wild (Ned) Cylance Pro Cycling 5:03
86 Alison Tetrick (USA) Cylance Pro Cycling 11:35
87 Samantha Schneider (USA) US National Team 11:39
DNF Holly Breck (USA) Sho - Air Twenty20
DNF Amy Cure (Aus) Wiggle High5
DNF Tiffany Cromwell (Aus) Canyon SRAM Racing
DNF Laurel Rathbun (USA) US National Team
DNF Astrid Gassner (Aut) Colavita - Bianchi
DNF Jessica Mundy (Aus) Colavita - Bianchi
DNF Shana Van Glabeke (Bel) Lares - Waowdeals Women Cycling
DNF Yusseli Mendivil Soto (Mex) Team Illuminate


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2024 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.