Canadian Cyclist


May 14/17 19:43 pm - Tour of California: Stage 1 results

Posted by Editoress on 05/14/17

German speedster Marcel Kittel (Quick - Step Floors) collected his first career Amgen Tour of California stage victory and the  Sprint Jersey as the week long, 583-mile (938 km) stage race began today in Sacramento, California. World Road Race Champion Peter Sagan (BORA-Hansgrohe), known as the "King of California" for his race record 15 stage wins, crossed the line in second today with Team Sky's Elia Viviani rounding out the podium in third.
"It's a nice start to the [Amgen] Tour of California. Some teams tried to go for the crosswinds but the wind was not strong enough. I'm very happy with how my team handled the sprint," said Kittel. "It gives us confidence for the races to come. We got rid of a lot of pressure today, and we can look forward to the rest of the race and go relaxed in the next days."

Rob Britton (Rally Cycling) was top Canadian finishing 22nd at 4 seconds back.



Results from the first stage in California

Stage 1: Sacramento Circuit, 167 km
1 Marcel Kittel (Ger) Quick-Step Floors 3:45:35
2 Peter Sagan (Svk) Bora-Hansgrohe
3 Elia Viviani (Ita) Team Sky
4 John Degenkolb (Ger) Trek-Segafredo
5 Jean-Pierre Drucker (Lux) BMC Racing Team
6 Reinardt Janse Van Rensburg (RSA) Dimension Data
7 Jonas van Genechten (Bel) Cofidis, Solutions Credits
8 Marko Kump (Slo) UAE Team Emirates
9 Wouter Wippert (Ned) Cannondale-Drapac Pro Cyling Team
10 Travis McCabe (USA) UnitedHealthcare Professional Cycling Team
11 Greg Henderson (NZl) UnitedHealthcare Professional Cycling Team
12 Ramon Sinkeldam (Ned) Team Sunweb
13 Alexander Kristoff (Nor) Katusha-Alpecin
14 Colin Joyce (USA) Rally Cycling
15 Rick Zabel (Ger) Katusha-Alpecin all s.t.
16 Fabio Sabatini (Ita) Quick-Step Floors 0:04
17 Robert Gesink (Ned) Team LottoNl-Jumbo
18 Pawel Poljanski (Pol) Bora-Hansgrohe
19 Brent Bookwalter (USA) BMC Racing Team
20 George Bennett (NZl) Team LottoNl-Jumbo
21 Rafal Majka (Pol) Bora-Hansgrohe
22 Rob Britton (Can) Rally Cycling
23 Ulises Alfredo Castillo Soto (Mex) Jelly Belly p/b Maxxis
24 Jay McCarthy (Aus) Bora-Hansgrohe
25 Michael Morkov (Den) Katusha-Alpecin
26 Sam Oomen (Ned) Team Sunweb
27 Nathan Brown (USA) Cannondale-Drapac Pro Cyling Team
28 Samuel Sanchez (Esp) BMC Racing Team
29 Andrew Talansky (USA) Cannondale-Drapac Pro Cyling Team
30 Matteo Dal-Cin (Can) Rally Cycling
31 Michael Schär (Sui) BMC Racing Team
32 Tiago Machado (Por) Katusha-Alpecin
33 Daan Olivier (Ned) Team LottoNl-Jumbo
34 Gavin Mannion (USA) UnitedHealthcare Professional Cycling Team
35 Rúben Guerreiro (Por) Trek-Segafredo
36 Laurens De Vreese (Bel) Astana Pro Team
37 Floris Gerts (Ned) BMC Racing Team
38 Maximilian Schachmann (Ger) Quick-Step Floors
39 Alberto Bettiol (Ita) Cannondale-Drapac Pro Cyling Team
40 Koen De Kort (Ned) Trek-Segafredo
41 Kiel Reijnen (USA) Trek-Segafredo
42 Arman Kamyshev (Kaz) Astana Pro Team
43 Vegard Stake Laengen (Nor) UAE Team Emirates
44 Lawson Craddock (USA) Cannondale-Drapac Pro Cyling Team
45 Markel Irizar (Esp) Trek-Segafredo
46 Matteo Trentin (Ita) Quick-Step Floors
47 Danny Pate (USA) Rally Cycling
48 Adam de Vos (Can) Rally Cycling
49 Enric Mas (Esp) Quick-Step Floors
50 Andrea Peron (Ita) Team Novo Nordisk
51 Luis Angel Mate (Esp) Cofidis, Solutions Credits
52 Ben King (USA) Dimension Data
53 Tom Bohli (Sui) BMC Racing Team
54 Haimar Zubeldia (Esp) Trek-Segafredo
55 Serghei Tvetcov (Rom) Jelly Belly p/b Maxxis
56 Taylor Phinney (USA) Cannondale-Drapac Pro Cyling Team
57 Simone Consonni (Ita) UAE Team Emirates
58 Antwan Tolhoek (Ned) Team LottoNl-Jumbo
59 Martin Elmiger (Sui) BMC Racing Team
60 Janier Acevedo (Col) UnitedHealthcare Professional Cycling Team
61 Daniel Eaton (USA) UnitedHealthcare Professional Cycling Team
62 Tao Geoghegan Hart (GBr) Team Sky
63 Geoffrey Soupe (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits
64 Peter Kennaugh (GBr) Team Sky
65 Federico Zurlo (Ita) UAE Team Emirates
66 Lennard Hofstede (Ned) Team Sunweb
67 Floris De Tier (Bel) Team LottoNl-Jumbo
68 Martijn Verschoor (Ned) Team Novo Nordisk
69 Stéphane Rossetto (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits
70 Chris Hamilton (Aus) Team Sunweb
71 Lachlan Morton (Aus) Dimension Data
72 Erik Baska (Svk) Bora-Hansgrohe
73 Joshua Berry (USA) Jelly Belly p/b Maxxis
74 Javier Megias (Esp) Team Novo Nordisk
75 Scott Thwaites (GBr) Dimension Data
76 Michal Kolár (Svk) Bora-Hansgrohe
77 Johannes Fröhlinger (Ger) Team Sunweb
78 Matti Breschel (Den) Astana Pro Team
79 Bert-Jan Lindeman (Ned) Team LottoNl-Jumbo
80 Nicolas Edet (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits
81 David Lopez (Esp) Team Sky
82 Nick Dougall (RSA) Dimension Data
83 Miles Scotson (Aus) BMC Racing Team
84 Evan Huffman (USA) Rally Cycling
85 Jhonatan Restrepo (Col) Katusha-Alpecin
86 Kristijan Durasek (Cro) UAE Team Emirates
87 Tanner Putt (USA) UnitedHealthcare Professional Cycling Team
88 Yoann Bagot (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits
89 Ian Boswell (USA) Team Sky
90 Toms Skujins (Lat) Cannondale-Drapac Pro Cyling Team
91 Zdenek Stybar (Cze) Quick-Step Floors
92 Daniel Jaramillo (Col) UnitedHealthcare Professional Cycling Team
93 Jonathan Clarke (Aus) UnitedHealthcare Professional Cycling Team
94 Taylor Sheldon (USA) Jelly Belly p/b Maxxis
95 Alexey Vermeulen (USA) Team LottoNl-Jumbo
96 Jordan Cheyne (Can) Jelly Belly p/b Maxxis
97 Gregory Daniel (USA) Trek-Segafredo
98 Koen Bouwman (Ned) Team LottoNl-Jumbo
99 Joonas Henttala (Fin) Team Novo Nordisk
100 Sean Bennett (USA) Jelly Belly p/b Maxxis
101 Marco Mathis (Ger) Katusha-Alpecin
102 Artyom Zakharov (Kaz) Astana Pro Team
103 Sepp Kuss (USA) Rally Cycling
104 David Lozano (Esp) Team Novo Nordisk
105 Jacob Rathe (USA) Jelly Belly p/b Maxxis
106 Yousif Mirza Alhammadi (UAE) UAE Team Emirates
107 Truls Korsaeth (Nor) Astana Pro Team
108 Roy Curvers (Ned) Team Sunweb all s.t.
109 Mathias Leturnier (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits 0:24
110 Filippo Ganna (Ita) UAE Team Emirates 0:26
111 Maciej Bodnar (Pol) Bora-Hansgrohe s.t.
112 Nils Politt (Ger) Katusha-Alpecin 0:28
113 Riccardo Minali (Ita) Astana Pro Team 0:30
114 Ben Wolfe (USA) Jelly Belly p/b Maxxis 0:34
115 Juraj Sagan (Svk) Bora-Hansgrohe 0:35
116 Eric Young (USA) Rally Cycling s.t.
117 Jack Bauer (NZl) Quick-Step Floors 0:50
118 Owain Doull (GBr) Team Sky 0:55
119 Christopher Williams (Aus) Team Novo Nordisk 0:59
120 Daniil Fominykh (Kaz) Astana Pro Team s.t.
121 Tyler Farrar (USA) Dimension Data 1:02
122 Mike Teunissen (Ned) Team Sunweb 1:05
123 Ruslan Tleubayev (Kaz) Astana Pro Team 1:12
124 Andrea Guardini (Ita) UAE Team Emirates s.t.
125 Jonathan Dibben (GBr) Team Sky 1:14
126 Mads Würtz Schmidt (Den) Katusha-Alpecin 1:19
127 Martin Velits (Svk) Quick-Step Floors s.t.
128 Mark Renshaw (Aus) Dimension Data 1:23
129 Bernhard Eisel (Aut) Dimension Data 2:05
130 Danny van Poppel (Ned) Team Sky s.t.
131 Charles Planet (Fra) Team Novo Nordisk 2:24
132 Romain Gioux (Fra) Team Novo Nordisk 2:30
133 Søren Kragh Andersen (Den) Team Sunweb 3:17
134 Brendan Canty (Aus) Cannondale-Drapac Pro Cyling Team s.t.
135 Guillaume Bonnafond (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits 3:57
DNS Marco Coledan (Ita) Trek-Segafredo



Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.