Canadian Cyclist


May 18/17 12:15 pm - Giro d'Italia: Stage 12

Posted by Editoress on 05/18/17

Gaviria makes it three

The Colombian rider Fernando Gaviria (Quick-Step Floors) claimed his third stage victory at the Giro100 as he fended off Italy's Jakub Mareczko (Wilier Triestina - Selle Italia) and Irishman Sam Bennett (Bora - Hansgrohe) in a bunch sprint in Reggio Emilia at the end of today's 229km stage which included riding on the A1 Panoramica motorway. Dutchman Tom Dumoulin (Team Sunweb) retained the Maglia Rosa for the third consecutive day.








Fernando Gaviria said: “Initially I was a bit worried when Max [Richeze] had a flat tyre because he’s got a very important role in my lead out. I was hoping he’d have enough time to come across… he did and his work at the end was phenomenal. Thanks to that I’ve had an exceptional victory. One win in a Grand Tour could be a question of luck but three, it’s just amazing. I’m here because my family made a lot of sacrifices for me. My dad would die for cycling. It’s his true passion. That’s why I’ve offered them to follow the whole Giro and be close to me.”


Photo Gallery


Results from the twelfth stage in Italy

Stage 12: Forli to Reggio Emilia, 229 km
1 Fernando Gaviria (Col) Quick-Step Floors 5:18:55
2 Jakub Mareczko (Ita) Wilier Triestina
3 Sam Bennett (Irl) Bora-Hansgrohe
4 Phil Bauhaus (Ger) Team Sunweb
5 Maximiliano Richeze (Arg) Quick-Step Floors
6 Ryan Gibbons (RSA) Dimension Data
7 Sacha Modolo (Ita) UAE Team Emirates
8 André Greipel (Ger) Lotto Soudal
9 Jasper Stuyven (Bel) Trek-Segafredo
10 Roberto Ferrari (Ita) UAE Team Emirates
11 Enrico Barbin (Ita) Bardiani CSF
12 Viacheslav Kuznetsov (Rus) Katusha-Alpecin
13 Aleksei Tcatevich (Rus) Gazprom – Rusvelo
14 Maciej Paterski (Pol) CCC Sprandi Polkowice
15 Rüdiger Selig (Ger) Bora-Hansgrohe
16 Luka Mezgec (Slo) Orica-Scott
17 Adam Yates (GBr) Orica-Scott
18 Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale all s.t.
19 Vincenzo Albanese (Ita) Bardiani CSF 0:06
20 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Bahrain-Merida s.t.
102 Michael Woods (Can) Cannondale-Drapac Pro Cycling Team 0:31
175 Svein Tuft (Can) Orica-Scott 3:34
1 Tom Dumoulin (Ned) Team Sunweb 52:41:08
2 Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar Team at 2:23
3 Bauke Mollema (Ned) Trek-Segafredo 2:38
4 Thibaut Pinot (Fra) FDJ 2:40
5 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Bahrain-Merida 2:47
6 Andrey Amador (CRc) Movistar Team 3:05
7 Bob Jungels (Lux) Quick-Step Floors 3:56
8 Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale 3:59
9 Tanel Kangert (Est) Astana Pro Team s.t.
10 Ilnur Zakarin (Rus) Katusha-Alpecin 4:17
11 Dario Cataldo (Ita) Astana Pro Team 5:19
12 Steven Kruijswijk (Ned) Team LottoNl-Jumbo 6:07
13 Davide Formolo (Ita) Cannondale-Drapac Pro Cycling Team 6:19
14 Rui Alberto Faria da Costa (Por) UAE Team Emirates 6:29
15 Geraint Thomas (GBr) Team Sky 6:46
16 Adam Yates (GBr) Orica-Scott 6:52
17 Maxime Monfort (Bel) Lotto Soudal 7:22
18 Jan Polanc (Slo) UAE Team Emirates 7:39
19 Ben Hermans (Bel) BMC Racing Team 8:12
20 Simone Petilli (Ita) UAE Team Emirates 13:23
23 Michael Woods (Can) Cannondale-Drapac Pro Cycling Team 19:11
156 Svein Tuft (Can) Orica-Scott 1:52:16



Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2024 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.