Canadian Cyclist


May 19/17 16:22 pm - Giro d'Italia: Stage 13

Posted by Editoress on 05/19/17

Unstoppable Gaviria

The Colombian rider Fernando Gaviria (Quick-Step Floors) came from behind to outsprint Irishman Sam Bennett (Bora - Hansgrohe) in Tortona, to raise his hands up in the air for the fourth time at the Giro 100 and become the Colombian with the most stage victories at the Corsa Rosa following a spectacular finish ahead of tomorrow's stage in Oropa. The Dutchman Tom Dumoulin was protected by his Team Sunweb riders and retained the Maglia Rosa.

Fernando Gaviria: “As I was stuck behind, I almost thought it was impossible to make it back to the front, but we had to go for the fight and we took one more win. Riders touching each other, it happens in a sprint, I took it quietly and made my way. It’s great to feel the support of Colombian athletes from other sports. Now that I’m winning on the road, I won’t go back to track cycling. To compensate for missing the Gold medal at the Rio Olympics, I'll have to win three monuments and a World Championship.”

Tom Dumoulin: “My rivals tested me the day after the time trial but I wouldn’t say that my confidence has increased because they haven’t attacked me since. We didn’t expect much to happen in the past two stages because they were mostly flat. The coming stages will be another story. Tomorrow it will be hard for the last thirty minutes and very hard for twenty minutes in the steep part of the climb to Oropa, but that’s normally what suits me very well. They’ll attack me early from all sides. Normally Movistar has the best team and Nairo Quintana is the best climber but I have to be aware of all the other GC guys too.”

Top Canadian on the stage was Svein Tuft (Orica-Scott) finishing 88th in the same time as the winner. Mike Woods (Cannondale-Drapac Pro Cycling Team) is top Canadian in GC, sitting 23 rd at 20:17 back.


Results from the thirteenth stage in Italy

Stage 13: Reggio Emilia to Tortona, 167 km
1 Fernando Gaviria (Col) Quick-Step Floors 3:47:45
2 Sam Bennett (Irl) Bora-Hansgrohe
3 Jasper Stuyven (Bel) Trek-Segafredo
4 Roberto Ferrari (Ita) UAE Team Emirates
5 Ryan Gibbons (RSA) Dimension Data
6 Rüdiger Selig (Ger) Bora-Hansgrohe
7 Sacha Modolo (Ita) UAE Team Emirates
8 Caleb Ewan (Aus) Orica-Scott
9 André Greipel (Ger) Lotto Soudal
10 Viacheslav Kuznetsov (Rus) Katusha-Alpecin
11 Phil Bauhaus (Ger) Team Sunweb
12 Maximiliano Richeze (Arg) Quick-Step Floors
13 Jakub Mareczko (Ita) Wilier Triestina
14 Ivan Savitckii (Rus) Gazprom – Rusvelo
15 Luka Mezgec (Slo) Orica-Scott
16 Aleksei Tcatevich (Rus) Gazprom – Rusvelo
17 Quentin Jauregui (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale
18 Enrico Barbin (Ita) Bardiani CSF
19 Salvatore Puccio (Ita) Team Sky
20 Gregor Mühlberger (Aut) Bora-Hansgrohe
88 Svein Tuft (Can) Orica-Scott all s.t.
126 Michael Woods (Can) Cannondale-Drapac Pro Cycling Team 1:06
1 Tom Dumoulin (Ned) Team Sunweb 56:28:53
2 Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar Team at 2:23
3 Bauke Mollema (Ned) Trek-Segafredo 2:38
4 Thibaut Pinot (Fra) FDJ 2:40
5 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Bahrain-Merida 2:47
6 Andrey Amador (CRc) Movistar Team 3:05
7 Bob Jungels (Lux) Quick-Step Floors 3:56
8 Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale 3:59
9 Tanel Kangert (Est) Astana Pro Team s.t.
10 Ilnur Zakarin (Rus) Katusha-Alpecin 4:17
11 Dario Cataldo (Ita) Astana Pro Team 5:19
12 Steven Kruijswijk (Ned) Team LottoNl-Jumbo 6:07
13 Davide Formolo (Ita) Cannondale-Drapac Pro Cycling Team 6:19
14 Rui Costa (Por) UAE Team Emirates 6:29
15 Adam Yates (GBr) Orica-Scott 6:52
16 Maxime Monfort (Bel) Lotto Soudal 7:22
17 Jan Polanc (Slo) UAE Team Emirates 7:39
18 Ben Hermans (Bel) BMC Racing Team 8:12
19 Simone Petilli (Ita) UAE Team Emirates 13:23
20 Jan Hirt (Cze) CCC Sprandi Polkowice 17:55
23 Michael Woods (Can) Cannondale-Drapac Pro Cycling Team 20:17
154 Svein Tuft (Can) Orica-Scott 1:52:16


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.