Canadian Cyclist


May 24/17 17:37 pm - Baloise Belgium Tour: Stage 1

Posted by Editoress on 05/24/17

Bryan Coquard (Direct Energie) won the first stage of the Baloise Belgium Tour at De Wandelaar in Knokke-Heist. The Frenchman took it in a spring over Jens Debusschere (Lotto Soudal) and Daniel McLay( Fortuneo - Vital Concept).

One hundred and fifty-five riders left Lochristi for the first stage of the Baloise Belgium Tour from Lochristi to Knokke-Heist. Despite the summer temperatures, the peloton quickly accelerated. The result: an average speed of 55 kilometres in the first half hour.

After passing the first sprint - won by Belgian champion Philippe Gilbert (Quick-Step Floors) - the break of the day formed. The five riders soon opened a four-minute lead. The group consisted of: Lasse Norman Hansen (Aqua-Blue Sport), Kenneth Vanbilsen (Cofidis), Ludwig De Winter (Veranclassic), Brian Van Goethem (Roompot Dutch Lottery) and Timothy Stevens (Pauwels Sauzen-Vastgoedservice).

In the peloton, Quick Step held the control. At twenty miles from the finish, most of the escapees were again back in the bunch. Hansen, as the last survivor of the early break took the final sprint points. Then an attack by Gilbert and Oliver Naesen went but they only managed a gain of two seconds

A group with Sylvain Chavanel (Direct Energie) and Tim Declercq (Quick-Step Floors) attacked trying to avoid the inevitable large group sprint at the finish. The effort was in vain. Lotto-Soudal carefully prepared the sprint for Jens Debusschere, but it was Bryan Coquard who had the most power on De Wandelaar. Unfortunately a massive crash on the straight meant only a limited group sprinted for the win.

Coquard  is automatically the first GC leader.

Stage 1 of the Baloise Belgium Tour in Belgium

Stage 1: Lochristi to Knokke-Heist, 178.8 km
1 Bryan Coquard (Fra) Direct Energie 4:08:58
2 Jens Debusschere (Bel) Lotto Soudal
3 Daniel Mclay (GBr) Fortuneo - Vital Concept
4 Tom Van Asbroeck (Bel) Team Belgium
5 Roy Jans (Bel) WB Veranclassic Aqua Protect
6 Bert Van Lerberghe (Bel) Sport Vlaanderen - Baloise
7 Baptiste Planckaert (Bel) Katusha-Alpecin
8 Michaël Van Staeyen (Bel) Cofidis, Solutions Credits
9 Kenny Dehaes (Bel) Wanty - Groupe Gobert
10 Nicolas Marini (Ita) Nippo - Vini Fantini
11 Piet Allegaert (Bel) Sport Vlaanderen - Baloise
12 Joeri Stallaert (Bel) Cibel - Cebon
13 Tom Meeusen (Bel) Beobank - Corendon
14 Yves Lampaert (Bel) Quick-Step Floors
15 Jonas Rickaert (Bel) Sport Vlaanderen - Baloise
16 Oliver Naesen (Bel)Team Belgium
17 Raymond Kreder (Ned) Roompot - Nederlandse Loterij
18 Boy Van Poppel (Ned) Trek-Segafredo
19 Kevin Ista (Bel) WB Veranclassic Aqua Protect
20 Kevin Ledanois (Fra) Fortuneo - Vital Concept
104 Antoine Duchesne (Can) Direct Energie all s.t.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2024 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.