Canadian Cyclist


May 25/17 15:56 pm - Baloise Belgium Tour: Stage 2

Posted by Editoress on 05/25/17

Mathieu Van der Poel won the second stage in Moorslede, Belgium. The Dutch rider of Team Beobank-Corendon took the win in a sprint over Philippe Gilbert (Quick-Step Floors) and Wout Van Aert (Veranda's Willems Crelan). "That I can beat Gilbert, I'm a bit surprised." said Van der Poel  "I'm pleased I was able to take win on this stage after such a difficult final. That I could beat Philippe Gilbert in the sprint is a bit unexpected, he’s one of the strongest sprinters in the peloton. "

In the last mile it was very exciting when the peloton approached. "I did not expect them (chase) to be as close as they were, but we kept up the drive to the finish. It was a very nice sprint," said Van der Poel. "A bit hectic and difficult to position yourself. More beautiful than winning a solo ride, if you win in a cross it's just less euphoric."

"I'm sorry to leave after today (Van der Poel told the organization that he had to leave Friday to start Sunday in the World Cup of mountain biking in Albstadt, Germany) . But it's a unique opportunity for me on Sunday to show my talent in mountain biking. It's nice that I got a win here."

Stage 2 results in Belgium

Stage 2: Knokke-Heist to Moorslede, 199 km
1 Mathieu van der Poel (Ned) Beobank-Corendon 4:43:12
2 Philippe Gilbert (Bel) Quick-Step Floors
3 Wout van Aert (Bel) Veranda's Willems Crelan
4 Oliver Naesen (Bel) Team Belgium
5 Olivier Pardini (Bel) WB Veranclassic Aqua Protect
6 Florian Senechal (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits
7 Tiesj Benoot (Bel) Lotto Soudal all s.t.
8 Tony Martin (Ger) Katusha-Alpecin 0:03
9 Julien Vermote (Bel) Quick-Step Floors
10 Maarten Wynants (Bel) Team LottoNl-Jumbo both s.t.
111 Antoine Duchesne (Can) Direct Energie 10:44
1 Philippe Gilbert (Bel) Quick-Step Floors 8:51:57
2 Wout Van Aert (Bel) Veranda's Willems Crelan at 0:06
3 Oliver Naesen (Bel) Team Belgium 0:08
4 Florian Senechal (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits 0:12
5 Oliver Naesen (Bel) Team Belgium 0:13
6 Tiesj Benoot (Bel) Lotto Soudal s.t.
7 Jelle Vanendert (Bel) Lotto Soudal 0:15
8 Tony Martin (Ger) Katusha-Alpecin 0:16
9 Julien Vermote (Bel) Quick-Step Floors s.t.
10 Maarten Wynants (Bel) Team LottoNl-Jumbo 0:18
127 Antoine Duchesne (Can) Direct Energie 10:57


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.