Canadian Cyclist


May 30/17 12:17 pm - Winston-Salem Women's Road Race results, Albrecht 6th

Posted by Editoress on 05/30/17

Team TIBCO – Silicon Valley Bank Captain, Lauren Stephens wins Winston Salem GP!

Lauren Stephens scored her second major win in two weeks Monday following her Gatineau time trial win May 19th. Stephens’ win was made possible by terrific teamwork throughout the race.

Teammate Ingrid Drexel (Mexican National time trial and road race champion) was part of a break of four riders - Ruth Winder (UnitedHealthcare), Kristi Lay (Rally), and Claire Rose (Visit Dallas DNA)who got away with three laps to go. The break was caught on the last lap and that was the cue for Lauren and three other riders - (Leah Thomas (Sho-Air Twenty20), Lauretta Hanson (UnitedHealthcare) and Lizzie Williams (Hagens Berman-Supermint) - to counter attack with just a few kilometres to go. It was on the last QOM climb that Stephens attacked and left the rest of the break behind to solo in for the win.

Lex Albrecht finished 6th and Ingrid finished 8th after her aggressive race, for the team.

“It was a perfectly executed plan from the team” said Sports Director Ed Beamon. "After the break was caught there was a group of twenty who kept attacking each other. Ingrid attacked numerous times which gave Lauren the opportunity to go away. I am very happy with the result but happier with how the team rode together and how tactically astute they were."

Lauren Stephens was also pleased with the team effort: "The team rode really well today and I am happy that I was able to deliver a result for them. I attacked half way up the final climb toward the finish. I had to be patient but it worked. I used my strengths and it's always good to win solo."
Team TIBCO – Silicon Valley Bank press release

Other top Canadians: 9th Kirsti Lay (Rally Cycling), 19th Jasmin Duehring (Sho-Air Twenty20), 20th Stephanie Roorda (Sho-Air Twenty20)


109.4 km
1 Lauren Stephens (USA) Team TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank 2:47:04
2 Leah Thomas (USA) Sho-Air Twenty20 at 0:16
3 Lauretta Hanson (Aus) UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling 0:19
4 Elizabeth Williams (Aus) Hagens Berman / Supermint 0:20
5 Peta Mullens (Aus) Hagens Berman / Supermint 0:32
6 Lex Albrecht (Can) Team TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank s.t.
7 Eugenia Bujak (Pol) BTC City Ljubljana 0:33
8 Ingrid Drexel Clouthier (Mex) Team TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank 0:40
9 Kirsti Lay (Can) Rally Cycling 0:41
10 Polona Batagelj (Slo) BTC City Ljubljana s.t.
11 Emma Grant (GBr) Colavita/Bianchi 0:42
12 Erica Allar (USA) Rally Cycling 0:43
13 Rushlee Buchanan (NZl) UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling 0:44
14 Samantha Schneider (USA) IS Corp p/b Progress Software s.t.
15 Ruth Winder (USA) UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling 0:45
16 Marlies Mejias Garcia (Cub) Weber Shimano Ladies Power 0:46
17 Christy Keely (USA) Fearless Femme Racing
18 Janelle Cole (USA) UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling both s.t.
19 Jasmin Duehring (Can) Sho-Air Twenty20 0:47
20 Stephanie Roorda (Can) Sho-Air Twenty20 0:48
21 Camila Andrea Valbuena Roa (Col) Weber Shimano Ladies Power 0:55
22 Beth Ann Orton (USA) Ortho Carolina 1:11
23 Diana Carolina Peñuela Martinez (Col) UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling 2:28
24 Rebecca Wiasak (Aus) Fearless Femme Racing
25 Tina Mayolo Pic (USA) Papa Johns Racing p/b Trek
26 Heather Fischer (USA) Team TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank all s.t.
27 Karlee Gendron (Can) IS Corp p/b Progress Software 2:29
28 Mikayla Harvey (NZl) Team Illuminate
29 Starla Teddergreen (USA) Hagens Berman / Supermint
30 Claire Rose (GBr) Visit Dallas DNA Pro Cycling all s.t.
31 Jessenia Alejandra Meneses Gonzalez (Col) Weber Shimano Ladies Power 2:30
32 Hannah Shell (USA) Pastaria Big Shark Racing s.t.
33 Erica Clevenger (USA) Visit Dallas DNA Pro Cycling 2:31
34 Emily Rodger (Can) Pastaria Big Shark Racing
35 Lorena Maria Vargas Villamil (Col)
36 Natalia Franco (Col) Pastaria Big Shark Racing all s.t.
37 Luz Adriana Tovar Salgado (Col) 2:32
38 Manuela Escobar Jaramillo (Col)
39 Ruby Livingstone (NZl) Roxsolt Attaquer both s.t.
40 Sharlotte Lucas (NZl) Roxsolt Attaquer 2:33
41 Nicole Mertz (USA) Velo Classic p/b Stan's Notubes s.t.
42 Lucy Bechtel (Aus) Fearless Femme Racing 2:34
43 Frédérique Larose-Gingras (Can) SAS - MACOGEP
44 Véronique Bilodeau (Can) SAS - MACOGEP both s.t.
45 Holly Breck (USA) Sho-Air Twenty20 2:35
46 Debbie Milne (USA) Papa Johns Racing p/b Trek
47 Annie Foreman-Mackey (Can) Sho-Air Twenty20
48 Rachel Langdon (GBr) Team Illuminate
49 Rocio Parrado Guarnizo (Col) Weber Shimano Ladies Power all s.t.
50 Skylar Schneider (USA) IS Corp p/b Progress Software 2:36
51 Laura Jorgensen (USA) Fearless Femme Racing 2:37
52 Katherine Maine (Can) Rally Cycling
53 Jennifer Valente (USA) Sho-Air Twenty20 both s.t.
54 Kathryn Buss (USA) Team TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank 2:38
55 Allison Beveridge (Can) Rally Cycling s.t.
56 Carrie Cartmill (Can) Ortho Carolina 2:40
57 Marcela Elizabeth Prieto Moreno (Mex) 2:42
58 Flora Yan (USA) Fearless Femme Racing 2:58
59 Stefanie Sydlik (USA) Visit Dallas DNA Pro Cycling 4:33
60 Georgia Catterick (NZl) Team Illuminate 4:59
61 Liza Rachetto (USA) Hagens Berman / Supermint 5:00
62 Jessica Cerra (USA) Hagens Berman / Supermint 8:58
DNF Abigail Mickey (USA) Colavita/Bianchi
DNF Madison Kelly (USA)
DNF Maria Antonieta Gaxiola Gonzalez (Mex)
DNF Abby Sneddon (Aus) Roxsolt Attaquer
DNF Erika Haydee Varela Huerta (Mex)
DNF Irena Ossola (USA) SAS - MACOGEP
DNF Kelly Catlin (USA) Rally Cycling
DNF Daphne Karagianis (USA)
DNF Mia Radotic (Cro) BTC City Ljubljana
DNF Michaela Drummond (NZl) Visit Dallas DNA Pro Cycling
DNF Marjolaine Bazin (Fra) SAS - MACOGEP
DNF Katherine Shields (USA)
DNF Amber Pierce (USA) Colavita/Bianchi
DNF Megan Alderete (USA) Hagens Berman / Supermint
DNF Aranza Valentina Villalon Sanchez (Chi) Weber Shimano Ladies Power
DNF Kristen Arnold (USA)
DNF Rylee McMullen (NZl) Roxsolt Attaquer
DNF Tabitha Sherwood (USA)
DNF Payten Maness (USA)
DNF Teresa O'Sullivan (Irl)
DNF Alexandra Millard (USA) Team Illuminate
DNF Yulin Aguila (Mex)
DNF Cynthia Frazier (USA)
DNF Laurel Rathbun (USA)
DNF Ellen Noble (USA) Colavita/Bianchi
DNF Antje Thamm (Ger)
DNF Loren Morgan (USA)
DNF Christina Gokey-Smith (USA)
DNF Arden Stelly (USA)
DNF Anna Zita Maria Stricker (Ita) BTC City Ljubljana
DNF Maria Fadiga (Arg) Weber Shimano Ladies Power
DNF Jessica Mundy (Aus) Colavita/Bianchi
DNF Kendelle Hodges (Aus) Colavita/Bianchi
DNF Sara Poidevin (Can) Rally Cycling
DNF Lauren Hall (USA) UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling
DNF Emma Bedard (Can) SAS - MACOGEP
DNF Brianna Walle (USA) Team TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank
DNF Sarah Guilbert (USA)
DNF Danielle Clark (USA)
DNF Adriane Provost (Can) SAS - MACOGEP
DNF Samantha Fox (USA)
DNF Karol Moreno (Col)
DNF Brittlee Bowman (USA)
DNF Jennifer Wakeman (USA)
DNF Ana María Hernández Delgado (Mex)
DNF Yusseli Mendivil Soto (Mex) Team Illuminate
DNF Ashley Weaver (USA)
DNF Stephanie Nave (USA)
DNF Susan Jones Morgan (USA)
DNF Diana Ramos (PuR)
DNF Caroline Baur (Sui)


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2024 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.