Canadian Cyclist


June 8/17 18:20 pm - Grand Prix Cycliste de Saguenay: Stage 1 results

Posted by Editoress on 06/8/17

Boivin Second in Opening Stage of GP Saguenay

Team Canada had a strong start to the internationally sanctioned stage race Grand Prix Cycliste de Saguenay on Thursday, with team leader Guillaume Boivin placing second on the 166 kilometre opening stage that began and finished in the town of La Baie, on the Saguenay River.

Boivin was a member of an eight rider breakaway group, that also included Canadian riders Travis Samuel (H&R Block) and Jack Burke (Aevolo) - the only Under-23 rider in the lead group.  The break did not get away from the main peloton until 80 kilometres into the stage, with constant attacking and the high temperatures (32 Celcius) whittling down the field.  Boivin bridged across to the initial break, which then rode away from the rest of the peloton.  In the final sprint, American Steve Fisher (Canyon Bicycles) outkicked Boivin for the win and the leader's jersey.  Fisher leads Boivin by seven seconds after time bonuses are factored in.  Team Canada is second in the team standings, behind Canyon Bicycles.

"I haven't raced since the Tour of Azerbaijan," explained Boivin, "so I wasn't sure how I'd go, but I knew I was strong from recent training. I really surprised myself during the bridge. I just did a supertuck on the descent and got away from the group and decided I might as well go!"

The speed and temperature saw 23 riders abandon or finish outside the time limit, with only 12 riders within a minute of the lead.  Defending champion Ryan Roth (Silber Pro Cycling) is over three minutes back, after his team was constantly put to the test trying to defend against the attacks.  Roth was the only member of his team to finish ahead of the main bunch, nearly 17 minutes in arrears.

Team Canada manager Kevin Field commented, "This is actually a perfect situation for us. We said in our [team] meeting it would actually be better for us not to win today, but keep the game close. We lost Raph [Auclair] today as well, so defending with just three guys would have been hard. Now Canyon has the responsibility, which is good for us."


Results from the first stage in La Baie, QC

Stage 1: La Baie circuit, 166.1 km
1 Steve Fisher (USA) Canyon Bicycles Pro Cycling 4:06:10
2 Guillaume Boivin (Can) Team Canada
3 Ulisis Castillo Soto (Mex) Jelly Belly p/b Maxxis
4 Francisco Mancebo (Esp) Canyon Bicycles Pro Cycling
5 Diego Milan Jimenez (Dom) Inteja Dominican Cycling Team all s.t.
6 Travis Samuel (Can) H & R Block 0:03
7 Jack Burke (Can) Aevolo Cycling s.t.
8 Kaler Marshall (USA) Canyon Bicycles Pro Cycling 0:20
9 Bruno Langlois (Can) Garneau Québecor 0:44
10 Chad Beyer (USA) Canyon Bicycles Pro Cycling
11 James Piccoli (Can) Team Canada both s.t.
12 Serghei Tsvetkov (Rom) Jelly Belly p/b Maxxis 0:53
13 Benjamin Perry (Can) Team Canada 3:03
14 Ryan Roth (Can) Silber Pro Cycling s.t.
15 Jokin Extabe Leturia (Esp) Novo Nordisk 3:17
16 Juri Rupnik (Slo) H & R Block 4:17
17 Jonathan Sandoval (Mex) Fundation Cycling s.t.
18 Chris Prendergast (Can) H & R Block 5:41
19 Gage Hect (USA) Aevolo Cycling
20 Laurent Gervais (Can) Aevolo Cycling both s.t.
21 Brett Wachtendorf (USA) Lowestrates 6:55
22 Michael Sheehan (USA) Jelly Belly p/b Maxxis 11:10
23 Marc-Antoine Soucy (Can) Garneau Québecor
24 Jake Sitler (USA) CCB Velotooler
25 Connor Toppings (Can) Garneau Smart Savvy
26 Ignacia Sarabia Diaz (Mex) Inteja Dominican Cycling Team
27 Javier Megias (Esp) Team Novo Nordisk all s.t.
28 Gevardo Medina Robles (Mex) Ride with Rendall 12:31
29 Léandre Bouchard (Can) Team Canada 14:36
30 Patrick Collins (USA) CCB Velotooler
31 Lukas Conly (Can) Garneau Smart Savvy both s.t.
32 Bonaventure Uwizeyimana (Rwa) Lowestrates 14:46
33 Alexander Latil (Fra) Vélo Sélect 15:30
34 Chris Winn (Aus) Canyon Bicycles Pro Cycling 16:46
35 Albert Torres Barcelo (Esp) Inteja Dominican Cycling Team
36 Rafael Marquez Raigon (Esp) Inteja Dominican Cycling Team
37 Jean Denis Thibault (Can) H & R Block
38 Fabio Calabria (Aus) Team Novo Nordisk
39 Jesus Alberto Rubio Arribas (Esp) Inteja Dominican Cycling Team
40 Erik Slack (USA) Canyon Bicycles Pro Cycling
41 Joshua Kropf (Can) Garneau Smart Savvy
42 Jordann Jones (Can) NCCH Elite p/b MGCC all s.t.
43 Cortlan Brown (USA) Canyon Bicycles Pro Cycling 16:56
44 Brian Kamstra (Nld) Novo Nordisk
45 Martin Rupes (Can) NCCH Elite p/b MGCC
46 Trevor O'Donnell (Can) Ride with Rendall
47 Ryan Primeau (Can) VeloSelect
48 Olivier Brisebois (Can) Garneau Québecor
49 Jason Saltsman (USA) Aevolo Cycling
50 Benjamin Wolfe (USA) Jelly Belly p/b Maxxis
51 Marc-Antoine Nadon (Can) H & R Block
52 Adam Carr (USA) Fundation Cycling
53 Francis Izquierdo (Can) Transport Lacombe/Devinci
54 Tyler Stites (USA) Aevolo Cycling
55 Nicolas Ducharme (Can) Transport Lacombe/Devinci
56 Jean-Simon D'Anjou (Can) Garneau Québecor
57 Stephen Keeping (Can) Transport Lacombe/Devinci
58 William Goodfellow (Can) Vélo Sélect
59 Lance Haidet (USA) Aevolo Cycling
60 Corentin Cherhal (Fra) Team Novo Nordisk
61 Julio Alberto Amores Palacios (Esp) Inteja Dominican Cycling Team
62 Timothy Austen (Can) Ride with Rendall
63 Matthew Sherar (USA) Lowestrates
64 Elliott Doyle (Can) Garneau Québecor
65 Mitch Ketler (Can) Garneau Smart Savvy
66 Felix Côté-Bouvette (Can) Garneau Québecor
67 Pier-André Côté (Can) Silber Pro Cycling
68 Wellington Capellan (Dom) Fundation Cycling
69 Julien Gagne (Can) Silber Pro Cycling
70 Derrick St John (Can) Ride with Rendall
71 Conor O'Brien (Can) H & R Block
72 Jean Francois Soucy (Can) Garneau Québecor
73 Justin Mauch (USA) Ride with Rendall
74 Nicolas Masbourian (Can) Silber Pro Cycling
75 Spencer Petrov (USA) CCB Velotooler
76 Jake Cullen (Can) Garneau Smart Savvy
77 Emile Jean (Can) Silber Pro Cycling
78 Noah Granigan (USA) CCB Velotooler
79 Keegan Swirbul (USA) Jelly Belly p/b Maxxis
80 Olivier Peloquin (Can) Transport Lacombe/Devinci
81 Reid Mcclure (Can) Team Novo Nordisk
82 Matthew Staples (Can) H & R Block
83 Alexander Cowan (Can) Silber Pro Cycling
84 Cooper Willsey (USA) CCB Velotooler
85 Stephen Bassett (USA) Silber Pro Cycling
86 Sean Gardner (USA) Fundation Cycling
87 Cameron Mcphaden (Can) Lowestrates
88 Jean-Michel Lachance (Can) Fundation Cycling
89 Stephen Clancy (Irl) Novo Nordisk all s.t.
90 William Guzman Rosario (Dom) Inteja Dominican Cycling Team 17:07
91 Sean Bennett (USA) Jelly Belly p/b Maxxis
92 Angus Morton (Aus) Jelly Belly p/b Maxxis both s.t.
93 Christian Gomes (Can) Ride with Rendall 30:27
94 Quentin Valognes (Fra) Novo Nordisk OTL
95 Shawn Turcotte (Can) Vélo Sélect OTL
96 Benjamin Andrew (Can) Lowestrates OTL
97 Vincent Veilleux (Can) Vélo Sélect OTL
98 Benn Mcnabb (Can) NCCH Elite p/b MGCC OTL
DNF Cory Small (USA) CCB Velotooler
DNF Jonah Mead Vancort (USA) CCB Velotooler
DNF Raphael Auclair (Can) Team Canada
DNF Simon Ouellet (Can) Transport Lacombe/Devinci
DNF Hendrik Pineda (Can) Transport Lacombe/Devinci
DNF Max Rubarth (Can) Transport Lacombe/Devinci
DNF Jonathan Lewis (Aus) NCCH Elite p/b MGCC
DNF Daniel Rae (Aus) NCCH Elite p/b MGCC
DNF Eric Johnston (Can) NCCH Elite p/b MGCC
DNF Adam Lefebvre (Can) NCCH Elite p/b MGCC
DNF William Blackburn (Can) Lowestrates
DNF Christian Trenchev (Can) Lowestrates
DNF Laurent Levasseur (Can) Vélo Sélect
DNF Michael Dalterio (Can) Vélo Sélect
DNF Brendan McCormack (USA) Fundation Cycling
DNF Alex Amiri (Can) Garneau Smart Savvy
DNF Kellen Viznaugh (Can) Garneau Smart Savvy


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2024 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.