Canadian Cyclist


November 7/00 11:36 am - Tickets, Hour Record, Team News, 'Cross World Cup, Birthdays

Posted by Editor on 11/7/00

A Cycling Celebration

Tickets are going fast, with half already sold to our Cycling Celebration for the Olympic cyclists - November 18th at the Steam Whistle Brewery in Toronto. Do not leave it too late to get tickets - click on the 'A Cycling Celebration' button at the top of the page for more information and to get tickets. It is very unlikely that there will be any tickets available at the door.

Longo Breaks Hour Record

Jeannie Longo of France has broken the world hour record for women set a few weeks ago by Anna Wilson (Australia). Wilson was the first to set a women's record after the UCI introduced new rules on bike specifications - 43.501 kilometres. Longo, riding in Mexico City, yesterday set a new record of 44.767 kilometres.

Mazur Joins Swiss Team

Peter Mazur, the Junior World Time Trial champion, has signed with the Swiss team Velo Club Mendrisio.

Team News

- Eric Wohlberg is riding for Saturn (confirmed).
- the Elita squad will be splitting up, with some riders going to a new Mercury womens team (unofficial)
- Geoff Kabush is still 'fielding offers'

'Cross World Cup #1 - Bergamo, Italy

1 Richard Groenendaal (Ned) Rabobank 1:00:55
2 Bart Wellens (Bel) Spaar Select at 0:55
3 Mario de Clercq (Bel) Palmans-Ideal 1:04
4 Daniele Pontoni (Ita) 1:20
5 Tom Vannoppen (Bel) Vlaanderen 2002 1:36
6 Erwin Vervecken (Bel) RVS-Liege 2:12
7 Luca Bramati (Ita) 2:20
8 Jiri Pospisil (Cze) 2:35
9 Bjorn Rondelez (Bel) Spar-Oki 3:08
10 Gerben de Knegt (Ned) Rabobank 3:18
11 Maarten Nijland (Ned) WTC Woerden 4:09
12 Vaclav Jezek (Cze) 4:27
13 Francis Mourey (Fra) 4:38
14 Tadeusz Korzeniewski (Pol) Ekolog 5:04
15 Beat Wabel (Sui) K2 Pro Flex 5:30
16 Kamil Ausbuher (Cze) 5:40
17 David Pagnier (Fra) Charvieu-Chavagneux IC at 1 lap
18 Dominique Arnould (Fra) at 1 lap
19 Wim De Vos (Ned) Spaar Select at 1 lap
20 Roland Schatti (Sui) GS Mephisto Romers at 1 lap
21 Ondrej Lukes (Cze) at 1 lap
22 David Derepas (Fra) Phonak at 1 lap
23 Stefano Toffoletti (Ita) at 1 lap
24 David Seco Amundarain (Esp) at 1 lap
25 Massimo Sargenti (Ita) at 1 lap
26 Enrico Franzoi (Ita) at 1 lap
27 Igor Tavella (Ita) at 1 lap
28 Jan Ramsauer (Sui) at 1 lap
29 Alexandre Moos (Sui) KIA-Villiger at 1 lap
30 Pascal Perrin (Fra) at 1 lap
DNF Jonathan Page (USA)

Happy Birthday To...

Masters World Mountain Bike champion Bill Hurley (tomorrow), and to Holly Gould - daughter of Canadian ex-racer Jill Smith and Tim Gould (also tomorrow).


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.