Canadian Cyclist


June 30/17 12:50 pm - Canuel Leads Giro d'Italia Femminile after Stage 1

Posted by Editoress on 06/30/17

Canuel in Pink at Giro Rosa

The Boels-Dolmans team starts the 2017 edition of the Giro Rosa in the same way of how they ended the race one year ago - dominating the 11.5 kilometre Team Time Trial opening stage between Aquileia and Grado, with a time of 14:47. Newly crowned Canadian time trial champion Karol-Ann Canuel was the first place finisher and dons the pink jersey as race leader.  Team Sunweb finished second, 19 seconds back, and Orica-Scott was third at 22 seconds.  This is the second straight year that a Canadian has won the opening stage - last year it was Leah Kirchmann (Team Sunweb)






At the end of  Stage 1:  Canuel in Pink Jersey, Lucinda Brand in the Cyclamine Jersey, Amalie Dideriksen is in White, Annemiek Van Vleuten in Green and Elisa Longo Borghini in Blue.

"It went really well," said Canuel.  "It was a great team effort. The girls were great and it's great to have the pink jersey!  It's really incredible to have managed to take 19 seconds ahead of our closest rivals on a flat course."

On Saturday, the Giro has the first road stage, 124 kilometres from Zoppola to Montereale Valcellina. Canuel will be in Pinkon Canada Day.


Stage 1: Aquileia to Grado TTT, 11.5km

1 Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam 0:14:47
2 Team Sunweb at 0:16
3 Orica-Scott 0:22
4 Wiggle-High5 0:24
5 Canyon SRAM 0:36
6 WM3 Pro Cycling 0:37
7 Astana Womens Team 0:51
8 Cervélo-Bigla Pro Cycling 0:52
9 Lensworld - Kuota 1:04
10 FDJ Nouvelle Aquitaine Futuroscope 1:06
11 Team VéloCONCEPT Women 1:08
12 BTC City Ljubljana 1:21
13 Cylance Pro Cycling 1:24
14 Hitec Products 1:30
15 Bepink Cogeas 1:33
16 Alé Cipollini 1:36
17 Lares-Waowdeals Women Cycling team 1:44
18 Servetto Giusta 2:02
19 Valcar PBM 2:08
20 Top Girls Fassa Bortolo 2:09
21 Aromitalia Vaiano 2:31
22 Conceria Zabri-Fanini-Guerciotti 2:43
23 S.C. Michela Fanini Rox 2:50
24 Giusfredi Bianchi 3:03
1 Karol-Ann Canuel (Can) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team 0:14:47
2 Megan Guarnier (USA) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team
3 Amealie Dideriksen (Den) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team,
4 Chantal Blaak (Ned) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team
5 Anna van der Breggen (Ned) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team
6 Elizabeth Deigen (GBr) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team all s.t.
7 Lucinda Brand (Ned) Team Sunweb 0:19
8 Coryn Rivera (USA) Team Sunweb
9 Flootje Mackaij (Ned) Team Sunweb
10 Sabrina Stultiens (Ned) Team Sunweb all s.t.
65 Alison Jackson (Can) BePink Cogeas 1:33



Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2023 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.