Canadian Cyclist


July 28/17 14:42 pm - Canadians Finished 3rd & 4th at Jeux de la Francophonie

Posted by Editoress on 07/28/17

Canada's Lex Albrecht took third place in the women's road race at the Jeux de la Francophonie in Abidjan, Côte d'Ivoire.  In the men's race, Félix Côté Bouvette finished fourth.  The Canadian team of six women and five men all came from Quebec.  Racers faced hot and humid conditions for the competition, on a circuit consisting of a 54 kilometre road circuit and multiple laps of an 8 kilometre finishing loop.

"The game plan was to make it a hard race from the start, and that's what the girls did," said coach Pascal Morin.

In the opening kilometres the 21 rider women's race broke apart, with five riders getting clear, including two Canadians - Elisabeth Albert and Frédérique Larose-Gingras.  In the final kilometres the race came back together, with Albrecht taking third in the sprint.  Elisabeth Albert, Frédérique Larose-Gingras and Alizée Brien took fifth, sixth and eighth places, respectively. Gabrielle Pilote-Fortin and Adriane Provost finished 11th and 13th.

"We were handcuffed in the breakaway. So, one by one, the girls tried to join them, and they almost all succeeded. There was another attempt to escape made by Frédérique and a French woman, the eventual winner. But the peloton came back and Frédérique got caught in the final sprint," Morin explained.

The men's race, with 82 riders, saw the peloton reach the finishing circuit together. "The peloton arrived grouped on the circuit," said the president of the Fédération québécoise des sports cyclistes (FQSC), André Michaud. "With about 80 kilometres to go, two Frenchmen, one Swiss, one Moroccan and Felix [Côté Bouvette] attacked. They rolled to the finish without being caught. The gap reached almost three minutes at one point. One of the French riders went off in the break with two laps to go. Felix worked hard to plug the hole, but it did not work. He gave everything he had to try to make it onto the podium."

Four other Canadians in the race - Olivier Brisebois, Simon-Pierre Gauthier, Elliott Doyle and Jean-François Soucy - finished 6th, 14th, 16th and 26th respectively.

At the end of the road race, the only cycling event presented as part of the multi-sport event, Quebec was second in women and third in men.

"There had to be about 10,000 people around the urban circuit. It was impressive. I've never seen that many before," Morin said of the impressive crowd that attended the cycling events.


Results from the men's and women road races at the Francophone Games on Thursdy the 27th in Abidjan, Ivory Coast

1 Pauline Allin (France) 2:00:29
2 Soline Lamboley (France) at 0:28
3 Lex Albrecht (Canada-Québec)
4 Laura Asencio (France)
5 Elisabeth Albert (Canada-Québec)
6 Frédérique Larose-Gingras (Canada-Québec)
7 Ana Maria Covrig (Romania) all s.t.
8 Alizée Brien (Canada-Québec) 0:33
9 Marike Tache (Romania) 4:33
10 Axelle Dubau (France) 8:36
11 Gabrielle Pilote-Fortin (Canada-Québec) 8:36
12 Adahi Orneila Kouassi (Cote d'Ivoire) 10:18
13 Adriane Provost (Canada-Québec) s.t.
14 Amoin Raymonde Kouassi (Cote d'Ivoire) 13:54
15 Amoin Hermeline Kouassi (Cote d'Ivoire) s.t.
DNF Koue Anita Nado (Cote d'Ivoire)
DNF Lamama Longomo Batetele (Congo RD (Kinshasa))
DNF Alexandra Irani (Lebanon)
DNF Rufine Azokpota (Benin)
DNF Gisèle Kenou (Benin)
1 Pierre Idjouadiene (France) 3:03:35
2 Soufiane Sahbaoui (Morocco) at 1:20
3 Bruno Armirail (France)
4 Félix Côté-Bouvette (Canada-Québec) both s.t.
5 Justin Paroz (Switzerland) 1:24
6 Olivier Brisebois (Canada-Québec) 3:37
7 Valentin Plesea (Romania)
8 Edgar Stepanyan (Armenia)
9 Ilyass Rabihi (Morocco) all s.t.
10 Emil Dima (Romania) 3:43
11 Justin Mottier (France) 3:52
12 Mounir Makhchoun (Morocco)
13 Florent Pereira (France)
14 Simon-Pierre Gauthier (Canada-Québec)
15 Julien Bossens (Switzerland)
16 Jean-François Soucy (Canada-Québec)
17 Vlad Nicolae Dobre (Romania) all s.t.
18 Mohsin Annachnach (Morocco) 3:55
19 Lahcene Sabbahi (Morocco) 3:58
20 Ali Nouisri (Tunisia) 4:05
21 Dan - Mihai Babaita (Romania) 4:10
22 Djim Mohindo Kyaviro (Congo RD (Kinshasa)) 5:32
23 Jerome Bamouny (Burkina Faso) 6:12
24 Jonathan Liyanza Djodjo (Congo RD (Kinshasa))
25 Abdallah Al Er (Lebanon) both s.t.
26 Elliott Doyle (Canada-Québec) 6:15
27 Daniel Kinanira (Congo RD (Kinshasa)) 6:24
28 Elias Abou Rachid (Lebanon) 6:36
29 Leonard Barbu (Romania)
30 Kamena Wa Tshiyana Loic (Congo RD (Kinshasa))
31 Christopher Gerry (Seychelles)
32 Yaya Diallo (Mali)
33 Wiliams Ahoure (Cote d'Ivoire)
34 Djany Mayele Nkoro (Congo RD (Kinshasa))
35 Moussa Togola (Mali)
36 Rémi Sowou (Benin)
37 Karamoko Bamba (Cote d'Ivoire)
38 Emmanuel Sagbo (Benin)
39 El Houcaine Sabbahi (Morocco)
40 Glodie Minimbu Sumbu (Congo RD (Kinshasa))
41 Cedric Marie O. W. Zoungrana (Burkina Faso)
42 Kouame Faustin Dje (Cote d'Ivoire)
43 Coulibaly Birama (Mali) all s.t.
DNF Seydou Djire (Mali)
DNF John Aoun (Lebanon)
DNF Emile Daou (Lebanon)
DNF Youssof Mrad (Lebanon)
DNF Roy Roukoz (Lebanon)
DNF Mahaman Gado Soly (Niger)
DNF Mahamadou Ousseini (Niger)
DNF Issoufou Sani Boureima (Niger)
DNF Mahamadou Soumana (Niger)
DNF Lario Harrison (Seychelles)
DNF Xerxes Larue (Seychelles)
DNF Edrick Roucou (Seychelles)
DNF Fadi Confiance (Seychelles)
DNF Mario Ernesta (Seychelles)
DNF Alexandre Aurel Zinsou (Benin)
DNF Téophile Ouédraogo (Burkina Faso)
DNF Abou Sanogo (Cote d'Ivoire)
DNF Mher Mkrtchyan (Armenia)
DNF Daniel Kabre (Burkina Faso)
DNF V. Bassirou Monean (Burkina Faso)
DNF Pingdwendé Ouédraogo (Burkina Faso)
DNF Loic Askia Demaka (Gabon)
DNF Paul-Junior Maroga-Mouckoda (Gabon)
DNF B. Toussaint Yvan Mouanga Anguilet (Gabon)
DNF Glenne Morvan Moulingui (Gabon)
DNF Rodney Khalifa Mouloungui (Gabon)
DNF Franso Rael Ndzaou (Gabon)
DNF Abdoulaye Bangoura (Guinée)
DNF Mohamed Souare (Guinée)
DNF Ibrahima Sory Sylla (Guinée)
DNF Jeff Alcegaire (Haiti)
DNF Jude Kethlain Estimable (Haiti)
DNF Evano Exilus (Haiti)
DNF Herode Isaac (Haiti)
DNF Shawell Lafontant (Haiti)
DNF Mackenley Victor (Haiti)
DNF Issieile Coulibaly (Mali)
DNF Diavandia Sangare (Mali)
DNF Ali Idrissa (Niger)
DNF #85
DNF Sindaliou Ouattara (Cote d'Ivoire)
DNF Ben.Ibrahim Soumahoro (Cote d'Ivoire  


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.