Canadian Cyclist


August 23/17 14:26 pm - Cycling Canada Announces Para Road Worlds Team

Posted by Editor on 08/23/17

Cycling Canada is pleased to announce the team of 13 athletes who will represent our nation at the 2017 UCI Para-cycling Road World Championships in Pietermaritzburg, South Africa.  The athletes will travel to South Africa on August 24-25, with competition taking place on August 31st to September 3rd.  The team includes multiple Rio Paralympic and world championship medalists.  All athletes are scheduled to compete in both Time Trial and Road Race events.

The women's squad is led by Rio bronze medalist and multi-time world champion Shelley Gautier of Toronto, who will compete in the T1 category.  Other women on the team include Marie-Claude Molnar (C4), Nicole Clermont (C5) and the tandem team of Shawna Ryan and Joanie Caron.  Missing from the squad are former world and Paralympic champion Robbi Weldon and her tandem pilot Audrey Lemieux, who had to decline their selection as they recover from a crash at a World Cup earlier in the season.

The men's squad includes Tristen Chernove in the C2 category, who won gold, silver and bronze medals at the Rio Games.  He is joined by fellow Rio medalists Ross Wilson (C1), who won two silver medals, Charles Moreau (H3), with two bronze medals and Michael Sametz (C3), who won a bronze medal.  The team also includes Alexander Hyndman and Joey Desjardins, both H3, and the tandem team of Mathieu Croteau Daigle and his pilot Benoit Lussier.

Para head coach Sebastien Travers said, "We are impatient to compete against the top international Elite athletes; this will be the first major event since the Rio Paralympic Games in September last year. The Canadian team is composed of very strong athletes and we are really looking forward to seeing them perform and step onto the podium in Pietermaritzburg."

Shelley Gautier - T1 [Toronto, ON]
Marie-Claude Molnar - C4 [St Hubert, QC]
Nicole Clermont - C5 [St Denis de Brompton]
Shawna Ryan - Tandem [Saskatoon, SK]
Joanie Caron - Tandem Pilot [Rimouski, QC]
Mathieu Croteau Daigle - Tandem [Sherbrooke, QC]
Benoit Lussier - Tandem Pilot [Montreal, QC]
Ross Wilson - C1 [Sherwood Park, AB]
Tristen Chernove - C2 [Cranbrook, BC]
Michael Sametz - C3 [Calgary, AB]
Charles Moreau - H3 [Victoriaville, QC]
Alexander Hyndman - H3 [Morpeth, ON]
Joey Desjardins - H3 [Hawksbury, ON]


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.