Canadian Cyclist


September 21/17 7:50 am - Cross Vegas

Posted by Editoress on 09/21/17

Team Tactics assist Laurens Sweeck and Katerina Nash Rocket to Victory at Cross Vegas

A stellar field of world and national champions lined up for both the Elite Men's and Elite Women's C1 races at the final Las Vegas edition of Clif Bar CrossVegas.  Ultimately it was team cooperation that determined who would own the top two podium spots in each race; Belgian brothers and ERA-Circus teammates Laurens and Diether Sweeck for the Elite Men, and for the Elite Women, Clif Pro Teammates Katerina Nash, (Clif Bar) and Catharine Pendrel

In the men's race, Laurens Sweeck opened a gap on his first run up the course's challenging sand pit and kept at least 30 seconds ahead of the chase group for the rest of the race. His brother and teammate Diether Sweeck marked every move by the five chasers, before propelling himself to 2nd place, well in front of four-time U.S. national champion Jeremy Powers (Aspire Racing), who took 3rd.



Sweeck, Sweeck, Powers - photo Dave Iltis,


"Diether was just able to sit on the whole time and capitalize from all the work I was doing up front,"said Powers. "That's racing…they for sure had power in numbers.”

Katerina Nash Closes Out CrossVegas with Her 5th Win
Fresh off her World Cup victory three days ago, Katerina Nash handily beat out the competition for her 5th CrossVegas win. She and her teammate Catherine Pendrel spent two laps in a group of eight, before taking off together and establishing a solid and impenetrable lead over the others, who spent the rest of the race making small attacks and jockeying for position. It wasn't until the last time up the final barriers that American Ellen Noble (Aspire Racing) made the move that would put her in 3rd place.  



Pendrel, Nash, Noble - photo Dave Iltis,


"Halfway through on the stairs, Catharine went into a little attack… and I went around and jumped on one of the fastest wheels in the world, so we teamed up and worked together,"said Nash, who is also an Olympian and World Cup champion.

The deep grass and windswept terrain at the Desert Breeze Soccer Complex in Las Vegas, and the course that race director Brook Watts and team have perfected over 11 years, is well known for its flyovers, obstacles and sand pits.  Said Laurens Sweeck, "It was like there was still a brake on my wheel with the grass here, so…it was hard."

Next year, CrossVegas will be held September 19, 2018 in Reno, Nevada.

"It's been such an amazing event...definitely a great addition to Interbike,"said Nash. "There were maybe people in the bike industry who had never seen a cross race before, and this was a chance for them to… pick up a cross bike and go ride it and realize how cool it is.”

press release



Pro Women
1 Katerina Nash (Clif Pro Team) 0:43:08
2 Catharine Pendrel (Clif Pro Team) at 0:11
3 Ellen Noble (Aspire Racing) 0:44
4 Caroline Mani (Van Dessel/ atom composites) 0:46
5 Chloe Woodruff (Stan's-Pivot Pro Team) s.t.
6 Clara Honsinger (Team S&M CX) 0-:49
7 Crystal Anthony (Maxxis-Shimano) 1:04
8 Meredith Miller (Rapha Canyon) 1:20
9 Cassandra Maximenko (Van Dessel/Atom Composites) 1:40
10 Heidi Franz (NWCX Project) 2:03
11 Hannah Finchamp (Clif Pro Team) s.t.
12 Courtney Patton (Freddie Fu Cycling Team) 2:15
13 Rebecca Gross (Zero D Racing - Sped Precision) 2:43
14 Laurel Rathbun (Donnelly Sports) 3:04
15 Shannon Mallory (NWCX Project) 3:19
16 Alexandra Burton (Point S Racing) 3:32
18 Taylor Kuyk-White (Philly Bike Expo) 4:04
19 Katherine Santos (Amy D Foundation) 4:08
20 Caitlin Bernstien (Vive La Tarte) 4:11
21 Chelsea Weidinger (Mash SF) 4:31
22 Heidi Wood (HiFi CX) 4:34
23 Jennifer Malik (American Classic Pro Cyclocross) 5:16
24 Christa Ghent (Amy D Foundation) 5:24
25 Nicole Dorinzi (Pro Mountain Outfitter) 5:32
26 Lisa Cordova (Cyclesport Specialized p/b Musc) 5:55
27 Petra Schmidtmann (Van Dessel factory Cycling) 6:06
28 Allison Arensman (J.A. King p/b BR'C) 6:44
29 Lisa Leonard (Independent) 7:17
30 Terra Kier (Square1/Helens Cycles) 8:13
31 Lindsay Wetzel Polin (SK Racing) 8:49
DNF Beth Ann Orton (Team S&M CX)
DNF Tricia Fleischer (Monument Wheelworks/Hammerquist)
DNF Mckenzie Melcher (SoCal Cross)
DNS Laura Parsons (Point S Racing)
Pro Men
1 Laurens Sweeck (ERA REAL ESTATE - CIRCUS) 1:08:38
2 Diether Sweeck (ERA REAL ESTATE - CIRCUS) at s.t.
3 Jeremy Powers (Aspire Racing) 0:15
4 Bjorn Selander (Borah Teamwear powered by Bingh) 0:17
5 Michael van den Ham (Garneau-Easton p/b Transitions) 0:54
6 Geoff Kabush (SCOTT Sports - Maxxis) 1:09
7 Travis Livermon (Maxxis-Shimano) 1:30
8 Hector Fernando Riveros Paez (Stan's NoTubes p/b Maxxis / CZ) 1:43
9 Lance Haidet (Donnelly Sports) 1:53
10 Cody Kaiser (LangeTwins / Specialized) 1:58
11 Denzel Stephenson (EVOL Devo Elite) 2:05
12 Andrew Juiliano (GRIT WORLD RACING p/b SHIMANO) 2:21
13 Troy Wells (Team CLIF Bar) 2:46
14 Mark McConnell (Hot Sauce Cycling) 3:01
15 Jonathan Page (Shimano Clifbar KindHuman) 3:09
16 Keegan Swenson (Cannondale/3Rox) s.t.
17 Allen Krughoff (Krughoff Racing) 3:22
18 Jules Goguely (Apex / NBX / Hyperthreads) 3:41
19 Benjamin Sonntag (Team CLIF Bar) 4:01
20 Dylan Postier (Garneau-Easton p/b Transitions) 5:00
21 Kevin Bradford-Parish (Gillespie/Set Coaching) 5:08
22 David Greif (VeloReno) -2 Laps
23 Molly Cameron (Point S Racing) -2 Laps
24 Isaac Niles (garneau easton p/b transitions) -2 Laps
25 Timothy Rugg (Ride With Rendall) -3 Laps
26 Jose Alfredo Pacheco Roses (BUENA PARK BICYCLES) -3 Laps
27 Brannan Fix (Alpha Bicycle Co.-Groove Subaru) -3 Laps
28 Ryan Rinn (Vive La Tarte) -3 Laps
29 Jayson Jacobs (BREISMEISTER) -3 Laps
30 Jared Nieters (SEAVS/Haymarket pb Van Dessel) -3 Laps
31 Aj Snovel (Jakroo HiFi p/b Felt Bicycles) -4 Laps
32 Parker Bloom (Broad Street Cycles) -4 Laps
33 Oleksiy Ukhanov (Hudson/Ludwig & Larsen Racing/) -5 Laps
DNF Fred Mills (Point S Racing)
DQ Alex Wild (Specialized Racing)


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.