Canadian Cyclist


December 16/00 9:04 am - McGrath Signs, 2001 Track Nats, U.S. 'Cross Nationals

Posted by Editor on 12/16/00

McGrath Stays With Haro-Lee Dungarees

Mountain bike pro Seamus McGrath has dropped us a line to let us know that he has signed on the Haro-Lee Dungarees team for 2001 - his 4th season with the team. He will be joining long-time Canadian team mate Chris Sheppard.

2001 Track Nationals

For the first time Masters will be included in the championships. The format is to be determined. My proposal to date is to include Master Men A, B, C, D, E and Master Women A, B, C and D. The Masters would compete in an omnium format with the 200m, Pursuit, Olympic Sprint and Points Race being the events. It is possible the master 'A' category will have a full sprint ladder. All is to be determined.

Also the dates for the event are different than what is presently on the calendar. We expect to start on Wednesday, July 4th and finish on Sunday, July 8th. Again this is to be determined. We have a webpage which we will be placing on the net upon signing of the contract.

The organizing club is the Juventus Cycling Club; home club of Lori-Ann Muenzer, Jim Fisher, and Lars Madsen, all members of the national team. The co-organizer of the event is the Edmonton Masters Cycling Club (E=MC squared). The location is the Argyll Velodrome in Edmonton, Alberta.

I am the lead of this event. Send your questions my way please.

David Embury

U.S. Cyclo-Cross Championships - Day 1
(courtesy Patrice Quintero, USCF)

Overland Park, Kansas (Dec. 15, 2000) - Despite near freezing temperatures and six inches of snow on the ground, collegiate and masters cyclists survived the cold to claim national cycling titles Friday. The U.S. Cycling Federation National Cyclo-cross Championships began December 15 in Overland Park, Kan.

In the men's collegiate race, Kansas University student Jed Schneider claimed the Stars and Stripes jersey. Kerry Barnholt, part of the University of Colorado cycling powerhouse, won the women's race.

Both riders took convincing wins, setting a fast pace early. Schneider, originally from Albuquerque, admitted that he was nervous after he slipped a pedal in a shaky start. Tood Shoberg, of Lindsey Wilson College in Kentucky, was Schneider's biggest threat. A crash, though, took out Shoberg and allowed Schneider to create a gap between himself and the rest of the field.

"When Todd crashed, I just put the hammer down. I was hoping to be by myself off the front and have as much time as possible between me and the other riders," said Schneider, who is a geography graduate student at KU.

"The conditions were really good, especially compared to yesterday. It helped to have mountain bike skills out here. There was a lot of single track and some off-camber turns," Schneider continued. "I think I did really well considering I had a bad start."

Barnholt's theory was to get out in front fast and leave the field behind, and it worked. Though she had some company with Ingrid Spies (University of Washington) for some time, Barnholt took off and ended up finishing first, 2 minutes and 44 seconds ahead of the rest of the field.

"I wanted to get in front of everyone because I knew it would be easier to see. I just tried not get bogged down and tried to stay upright. I think the key was to go slow around the corners. I was nervous in the first two laps, but I expected more of a battle in the entire race," Barnholt said.

Barnholt, who also races mountain bikes professionally, graduates from the University of Colorado later this month, with a masters degree in kinesiology. Friday's title was her first national title.

"It feels great to win. It's my first and last collegiate title," Barnhart said.

The 2000 USCF National Cyclo-cross Championships wrap up Saturday, December 16, with the elite and men and women's races. Among the competitors will be 2000 mountain bike Olympians Alison Dunlap, Travis Brown and Ruthie Matthes, all from Colorado.

Men 30/34
1. Todd Hoefer (ABS/Steelman)
2. Jeff Weinert (Independent /Fab.)
3. Donny Mills (Wheelwords/C'dale)

Men 40-44
1. Tom Hayles (Cody/Schwab)
2. Geoff Proctor (Montana Velo)
3. Karl Kiester (Cody/Schwab)

Men 45-49
1. Paul Curley (Gearworks)
2. Randy Root (Snow Valley)
3. Shannon Fox (Cody/Schwab)

Men 50-54
1. Dan Norton (Redline Racing)
2. David Rath (GMBC)
3. Dan White (White Bros)

Men 55-59
1. Keith Gregory (Buffalo CC)
2. Jerry Shere (NMBRA)

Men 60-64
1. Peter Dahlstrand (Berzerkley Bicycle Collective)
2. Bradley Snyder (Lakewood Racing)

Men 'C'
1. Jim Scheel (Red Rocks Velo)
2. Steve Warden (CalPoly Wheelman)
3. Mark Beattie (Capital Bike Club)

Women 30/34
1. Margell Abel (Veritas)
2. Elizabeth Coleman (Sobe)
3. Jennifer Maxwell (Cane Creek)

Women 35/39
1. Emily Thorne (Independent Fab)
2. Anne Lannan (Veritas)
3. Wanda Howlett (Toreefasione)

Women 40/44
1. Jodi Grosbeck (Putney/West Hill)
2. Susan Fredrickson (ECV)
3. Vivian Chualinkski (Mercy Cycling)

Women 45/49
1. Katherine Farago (NEBC)
2. Olenda Taylor (Wheatland)
3. Margaret Thompson (MRBC/Aegis)

Day 2 (Saturday, December 16th) will be the elite, espoir and junior categories.

CC Mail

Our first mailing goes out on Monday (December 18th). If you want to receive it be sure that you are on the list by 9:00 am EST Monday.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2023 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.