Canadian Cyclist


October 16/17 14:10 pm - Grand Prix of Gloucester: Day 2 results

Posted by Editoress on 10/16/17

The CRAFT Sportswear Gran Prix of Gloucester presented by Ipswich Ale Brewing continued Sunday with Category 2 races at historic Fort Stage Park on Gloucester Harbor. It was the opening weekend of competition for the Vittoria Northeast Cyclocross Series presented by Clif Bar and Cycle-Smart. Tobin Ortenblad (Santa Cruz/Donkey Label Racing) would outsmart his competitors down the final turns to win his fifth race of USA Cycling's Professional Cyclocross Calendar (ProCX). Ellen Noble (Aspire Racing) would solo her way to victory, her second of the year, in a confident and aggressive race on the women's side.

Noble controlled the race from the start. She established an early lead with Emma White (Cannondale/, and would then ride away from White with four laps remaining. White would suffer a mechanical, but hung on for second place. The third step of the podium would go to Beverly, Mass.-rider Crystal Anthony (Maxxis Shimano Pro Cyclocross), after surpassing yesterday's third place-finisher Christel Ferrier Bruneau (SAS-Macogep).

Noble will take over the Vittoria Series leaders jersey, while White will still remain in a Verge leaders jersey as the top U23 woman. Together with Anthony, the three riders are currently ranked in the Top Five of the ProCX women's standings.

"I felt like yesterday I kind of a raced a little complacently," said Noble. "I didn't plan on riding on the front the whole day, but I felt really, really strong technically today, much more focused than yesterday. So I just led through the technical sections, and I noticed that I was getting small gaps. So I just wanted to keep those gaps going, and eventually I was able to get one that stuck."

For the Elite Men, it would be Jeremy Powers (Aspire Racing), like his teammate Noble, who seemed motivated to lead the charge early on and control the pace. Powers and Day 1 winner Ortenblad would go head to head for nearly the entire race, separating from the bunch on the second lap.

Ortenblad got the jump on Powers taking the inside line on the final turn onto the pavement. He would use a tailwind on the finishing sprint to win by 12 seconds over Powers. Curtis White (Cannondale/ would fight for third, escaping teammate Cooper Willsey and riding away to the final podium spot. Ortenblad now leads the Vittoria Series for the Elite Men, with Cooper Willsey leading the U23 men's competition.

"Jeremy was definitely riding super aggressive today, you could tell he didn't want it to be a group again," said Ortenblad, who currently leads the ProCX standings for men. "He split it up pretty early. He and I just kind of went back and forth for the most part. Last lap, I kinda wanted to lead through the beginning and Jeremy also wanted to, so he came around me on the technical stuff. We both rode the stairs and this run-up thing really well, and I was able to kinda hang on his wheel again. Coming into the sprint, he definitely tried to slow down and make me come through and I did, but I was able to just hold it from there."


Results from the second day of the  Grand Prix of Gloucester held at Stage Fort Park, in Gloucester, MA

Women, 6 laps
1 Ellen Noble (USA) Aspire Racing 0:48:10
2 Emma White (USA) Cannondale pb CyclocrossWorld. at 0:46
3 Crystal Anthony (USA) Maxxis Shimano Pro Cyclocross 1:10
4 Christel Ferrier Bruneau (Can) SAS-Macogep 1:50
5 Allison Arensman (USA) J.A. King pb BR'C 2:57
6 Magdeleine Vallieres (Can) Club Cycliste de Sherbrooke 3:02
7 Julie Wright (USA) Team Averica 3:07
8 Kathryn Cumming (USA) Jalapeno Cycling 3:23
9 Laura Winberry (USA) Independent 3:39
10 Lynne Bessette (Can) 100B7.comFELT 4:15
12 Regina Legge (USA) Trek Cyclocross Collective 4:58
13 Erin Faccone (USA) Team Averica 5:27
14 Leslie Lupien (USA) Team Averica 5:39
15 Natalie Tapias (USA) JAM NCC 6:13
16 Katie Carlson (USA) Ladies First pb Milton Caterpil 6:51
17 Sophie Russenberger (USA) DaH+?NGER 7:19
18 Christin Reuter (USA) Mad Alchemy | Zanconato 7:22
19 Natalie Forsythe (USA) Riverside Racing 7:39
20 Alex Carlson (USA) Cycle-Smart 7:54
21 Emily Molden (USA) Nantucket Velo 8:08
22 Katelyn Parhiala (USA) JRA Cycles -2 Laps
23 Paige Williams (USA) Fuji Cross Crew -2 Laps
24 Jenny Wojewoda (USA) -3 Laps
DNF Beth Ann Orton (USA) Team S&M CX
DNF Taylor Kuyk-White (USA) Philadelphia Bike Expo
DNF Alix Norris (USA) Cowbell Racing pb World Bicycle
Men, 8 laps
1 Tobin Ortenblad (USA) Santa Cruz Donkey Label Racing 0:58:15
2 Jeremy Powers (USA) Aspire Racing at 0:12
3 Curtis White (USA) Cannondale pb Cyclocrossworld 0:47
4 Cooper Willsey (USA) Cannondale pb cyclocrossworld. 1:14
5 Justin Lindine (USA) Apex NBX Hyperthreads 1:22
6 Scott Smith (USA) JAM NCC 1:38
7 Anthony Clark (USA) Squid Squad 1:50
8 Bjorn Selander (USA) Independent 2:11
9 Spencer Petrov (USA) Aspire Racing 2:30
10 Brendan Mccormack (USA) ApexNBXHyperthreads 2:41
11 Cameron Beard (USA) Cannondale Cyclocrosworld.comDe 2:55
13 Michael Owens (USA) Hands-On Cycling pb Guerciotti 3:24
14 Nicholas Lando (USA) Elite Pro Factory 3:52
15 Andy Scott (USA) Riverside Racing 3:53
16 Evan McNeely (Can) Ride with Rendall 4:23
17 Marc-Andre Daigle (Can) Garneau Easton 4:31
18 Jules Goguely (USA) Apex NBX Hyperthreads s.t.
19 Clyde Logue (USA) Colonial Bicycle Co 5:13
20 Zachary Curtis (USA) Bridgewater University 5:40
21 Adam Myerson (USA) Cycle-Smart 6:08
22 Christopher Rabadi (USA) Unattached 6:09
23 Matthew Owens (USA) UVM Cycling 6:11
24 Andrew Loaiza (USA) Cyclepath PDX 6:28
25 Tim Willis (USA) JAM NCC 6:45
26 Ben Powers (USA) Riverside Racing 6:49
27 Bryan Horsley (USA) Sea Sports Cyclery & Outdoor -2 Laps
28 Gregg Griffo (USA) Park Ave Bike pb Borah Teamwear -2 Laps
29 Andrew Borden (USA) X-Men -2 Laps
30 Nathaniel Morse (USA) CCB - Velotooler -2 Laps
31 Trent Blackburn (USA) JAM NCC -2 Laps
32 Edouard Tougas (Can) Independent -2 Laps
33 Bradford Smith (USA) The Drifters -2 Laps
34 Dylan Mcnicholas (USA) POLARTEC -2 Laps
35 Colin Reuter (USA) -2 Laps
36 Patrick Collins (USA) Minuteman Road Club -2 Laps
37 Gennaro Ameno (USA) GREEN LINE VELO driven by Zipca -2 Laps
38 Scott Myers (USA) Independent -3 Laps
39 Christian Sundquist (USA) Independent -3 Laps
40 Wilson Stevens (USA) Local Openers pb Tenspeed Hero -3 Laps
41 Chris Niesen (USA) JAM NCC -3 Laps
42 Matthew Tyler (USA) Laughing Dog Bicycles -3 Laps
43 Ian Clarke (USA) UVM Cycling -3 Laps
44 Matt Perreault (USA) Colonial Bicycle Company -3 Laps
45 Gregory Colby (USA) B2C2JRA Cycles -3 Laps
46 Theodore Willard (USA) Team Spark -4 Laps
47 Andrew Reimann (USA) Jalapeno Cycling -5 Laps
DNF Jack Kisseberth (USA) JAM NCC
DNF Kale Wenczel (USA) JAM NCC
DQ Peter Goguen (USA) Race C.F.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.