Canadian Cyclist


October 21/17 12:02 pm - Cycling Canada Presents Annual Awards

Posted by Editor on 10/21/17

On Friday evening, during the President's Reception at the Cycling Canada annual conference in Victoria, the national federation presented their awards for the top events of the year, as well as recognition for volunteer contribution, officials and athletic performances.



B.C. took the biggest haul of the awards

Photo gallery


Event/Organizer of the Year:

• Road - Tour of Alberta -Alberta Peloton Association

• Mountain Bike - Canadian XCO Championships - Alberta Nationals MTB Race Association

• BMX - Canadian Championships & Canada Cup 7 - Calgary BMX

• Paracycling- Global Relay Canadian Road Championships - Centre National Cyclisme Bromont, QC

• Cyclocross -  Canadian Championships - Club Cycliste Sherbrooke, QC

• Track - Canadian Championships (Elite/Master) - Cycling Canada

National Commissaire of the Year 2017 - Marko Rosic / BC

International Commissaire of the Year 2017 -Wayne Pomario / BC

Recognition Award for Coach of the Year

• Road/Route - Christine Gillard / QC

• MTB / Velo - Joel Harwood / BC

• BMX - Adam Muys / BC

• CycloCross - David Gagnon / QC

• Track - Barry Lyster / BC


Torchy Peden Award (awarded by the Board of Directors) - Manitoba; Canada Summer Games

Photo gallery


Russ Copeland Award - Holden Jones (MTB); third place finish in the Junior Men's XCO at the UCI Mountain Bike World Championships

President's Trophy - Tristen Chernove (Para); World Champion in Para-Cycling Individual Pursuit, Kilometer Time Trial, Individual Time Trial and Road Race.

Builder of the Year -  TBD (by Inter-provincial Council)

Contribution to the Canadian Cycling Association as a builder; Contribution to the Canadian Cycling Association as a coach, instructor, official or event organizer

Service Pins



Louis Barbeau receiving his 20 year service award


20 years:
• Louis Barbeau / QC - High Performance Committee
• Wayne Pomario / BC - Officials Committee

10 years:
• Kevin Baldwin / NL - Board of Directors
• Mike Connolly / PEI - Provincial Association

5 years:
• Bruno Vachon / QC - Events Committee


Photo gallery


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.