Canadian Cyclist


December 24/00 7:37 am - Mercury, 'Cross, Andreu, B.C., Seasons Greetings

Posted by Editor on 12/24/00

Mercury Team 2001

The Mercury team, after its amalgamation with the Lemond Viatel group has finally announced their roster for next year:

Manager/Team Manager: John Wordin
Assistants: Roy Knickman, Johan Lammerts, Thurlow Rogers, Eddy Borysewicz, Alain Gallopin, Stan Barrett, Yost Whit


Niklas Axelsson (Swe)
Derek Bouchard-Hall (USA)
Laurent Chotard (Fra)
Baden Cooke (Aus)
Jamie Drew (Aus)
Gordon Fraser (Can)
William Frischkorn (USA)
Fabrizio Guidi (Ita)
Chris Horner (USA)
Jans Koerts (Ned)
Floyd Landis (USA)
Chann McRae (USA)
Scott Moninger (USA)
John Peters (USA)
Chris Pic (USA)
Mike Sayers (USA)
Plamen Stainov (Bul)
Andrei Teteriouk (Kaz)
Pavel Tonkov (Rus)
Leon Van Bon (Ned)
Geert Van Bondt (Bel)
Peter Van Petegem (Bel)
Wim Vansevenant (Bel)
Henk Vogels (Aus)
Chris Wherry (USA)
Phil Zajicek (USA)

The riders that the team picked up (such as Pavel Tonkov and Peter Van Petegem) mean they will be in the first division of pro teams. This increases their likelihood of making the Tour de France for 2001.

Superprestige 'Cross #6 - Overijse, Belgium

1 Erwin Vervecken (Bel) RVS Liege 59:45
2 Tom Vannoppen (Bel) Vlaanderen 2002 s.t.
3 Sven Nijs (Bel) Rabobank at 0:03
4 Wim De Vos (Ned) Spaar Select 0:13
5 Peter Van Santvliet (Bel) Spaar Select 0:20
6 Bart Wellens (Bel) Spaar Select 0:25
7 Richard Groenendaal (Ned) Rabobank 0:30
8 Marc Janssens (Bel) Palmans Ideal 1:08
9 Jiri Pospisil (Cze) Czech Republic 1:13
10 Gretenius Gommers (Ned) WTC Woerden 1:19


1 Richard Groenendaal (Ned) Rabobank 154 points
2 Peter van Santvliet (Bel) Spaar Select 104
3 Bart Wellens (Bel) Spaar Select 102
3 Tom Vannoppen (Bel) Vlaanderen 2002 102
5 Erwin Vervecken (Bel) RVS Liege 94
6 Mario de Clercq (Bel) Domo-Farm Frites 93
7 Sven Nijs (Bel) Rabobank 78
8 Marc Janssens (Bel) Palmans Ideal 73
9 Kipcho Volckaerts (Bel) Jonge Renners 60
10 Gerben de Knegt (Ned) Rabobank 57
10 Arne Daelmans (Bel) Den Tip Vorselaar 57

Andreu Retires

Frankie Andreu, a stalwart of the U.S. Postal squad, has announced his retirement. Andreu finished 9 Tours - no small accomplishment. He will remain with the Posties in a management capacity.

Spin Doctor's Annual Awards - B.C.

Annual awards for this elite road racing team in Victoria, B.C

Top rider: Bob Cameron
Best Climber: Bob Cameron
Top Sprinter: Bob Cameron

Bob was obviously the top rider in Victoria in the past year in the Club series. He won the A group in convincing form and went on to place well in the Bastion Square Grand Prix and Mt. Tolmie Road race (both won by Roland Green). He dominated a very tough field in Penticton in the summer placing 1st in the Master's crit but them got dropped by the field in the road race. He is hoping to ride in the BC Cup series again this year, and perhaps ride again in Belgium in a few kermesses.

Brian Berry

Best Wishes of the Season

Our >best wishes to the season to our readers.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2023 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.