Canadian Cyclist


January 3/01 10:05 am - Ontario Training Course, Sudbury Awards, CC Awards, CC Mail

Posted by Editor on 01/3/01

OCA Training Workshop

January 27, 2001

10am - 4pm, Coach Frank Fogolin

Cost: $20.00

Back by popular demand! In it's second year this one day training workshop, led by a NCCP Level 3 Cycling Coach, will assist riders with developing a seasonal racing and training plan. Bring your bike for a bike- fitting session. This workshop to be held at the Ontario Sport Alliance Building, 1185 Eglinton Ave East, Toronto. To register please contact the High Performance Coordinator at the Ontario Cycling Association or 416-426-7243.

Tara Mulder,
High Performance Coordinator
Ontario Cycling Association

Sudbury Club Awards
(courtesy Sandra Kleppe)

On December 28th, 2000 the Sudbury Cycling Club had a special celebration to honour Eric Wohlberg for his efforts at the Sydney Olympics.

Also Honoured were Dr. Eli Girolametto and Battista Muredda for over 26 years of Volunteer Service to the club. Dr. Girolametto received a Lifetime Achievement Award from the City of Sudbury for his contributions as club treasurer. Battista Muredda also received a Lifetime Achievement Award from the City of Sudbury for his contributions as Head Coach. Both of these wonderful volunteers received honours from the Club as well.

Battista noted in his speech that for 23 of the 26+ years that the club has existed we have had a rider on the National team, we have had 3 of our cyclists as Olympic Team Members - Gary Trevisiol ('84), David Spears ('88), and Eric Wohlberg ('96 & '2000). Our club riders have been representatives at the Olympics, Pan Am Games, Commonwealth Games, World Championships as well as many high ranking International Races. We have high hopes for our new and upcoming riders Peter Sanowar, David Smith and James Larmer.

Congratulations go out to these wonderful Volunteers that in essence are the reason that the cyclists are able to go on to greater things. And Congratulations to Eric Wohlberg for his continuing success throughout his cycling career.

Photo - Dr Girolametto, Eric Wohlberg, Battista Muredda

CC Awards

Voting has been very strong for the Canadian Cyclist of the Year awards, with mountain bikers Alison Sydor and Roland Green taking an early lead. However, there is still a week left and, as we have seen in past years, things can change dramatically. Get your vote in before Noon EST on January 10th. Just click on the Vote button at the top of the page.

CC Mail

Mike Shea of B.C. was the winner of our first trivia contest for members of the CC Mail list. His prize (wrist gear by has been sent out. If you want the chance to win stuff, be sure to sign up.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.