Canadian Cyclist


January 11/18 9:27 am - Women's Tour Down Under: Stage 1, Jackson 15th

Posted by Editoress on 01/11/18

Annette Edmondson (Wiggle High5) won the opening stage of the 2018 Santos Women's Tour Down Under in a bunch sprint finish in the Adelaide Hills town of Gumeracha.

Two time world champion Giorgia Bronzini (Cylance) was second with UniSA-Australia's Lauretta Hanson third across the line at the end of the 115 kilometre stage out and back from Gumeracha.

Earlier in the day Rachel Neylan (UniSA-Australia) launched a solo bid for victory but she was caught two kilometres from home to set up a bunch sprint finish.

Temperatures topped 38 degrees (C) but the Wiggle-Hi5 team handled the heat and the competition to set up Edmondson for the final sprint.

That was shaved back to 200m within the final two kilometres, making way for the bunch sprint to the line.

A crash near the final turn before the main street of Gumeracha made things interesting in the push to the line, but the leaders worked their way to the front for a fast finish.

The only Canadian entry, Alison Jackson (Team TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank) finished 15th in the same time as the winner.


Stage 1: Gumeracha to Gumeracha, 115.7 km
1 Annette Edmondson (Aus) Wiggle High5 3:08:53
2 Giorgia Bronzini (Ita) Cylance Pro Cycling
3 Lauretta Hanson (Aus) UniSA-Australia
4 Sarah Roy (Aus) Mitchelton Scott
5 Emilie Moberg (Nor) Team Virtu Cycling
6 Chloe Hosking (Aus) Ale Cipollini
7 Maria Vittoria Sperotto (Ita) BePink
8 Kristina Clonan (Aus) TIS Racing
9 Barbara Guarischi (Ita) Team Virtu Cycling
10 Georgia Baker (Aus) TIS Racing
11 Kendall Ryan (USA) Team TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank
12 Katrin Garfoot (Aus) UniSA-Australia
13 Amanda Spratt (Aus) Mitchelton Scott
14 Katia Ragusa (Ita) BePink
15 Alison Jackson (Can) Team TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank
16 Tiffany Cromwell (Aus) UniSA-Australia
17 Shara Gillow (Aus) UniSA-Australia
18 Holly Marie Breck (USA) Cylance Pro Cycling
19 Grace Anderson (NZl) Vantage New Zealand National Team
20 Rachele Barbieri (Ita) Wiggle High5
21 Scotti Lechuga-Wilborne (USA) Twenty20 p/b Sho-Air
22 Abigail Van Twisk (GBr) Trek-Drops
23 Lauren Kitchen (Aus) UniSA-Australia
24 Lauren Stephens (USA) Cylance Pro Cycling
25 Katarzyna Pawlowska (Pol) Team Virtu Cycling
26 Shayna Powless (USA) Twenty20 p/b Sho-Air
27 Jessica Mundy (Aus) TIS Racing
28 Kate McIlroy (NZl) Specialized Women's Racing
29 Taryn Heather (Aus) Specialized Women's Racing
30 Annemiek Van Vleuten (Ned) Mitchelton Scott
31 Deborah Paine (NZl) Vantage New Zealand National Team
32 Lydia Rippon (NZl) Vantage New Zealand National Team
33 Ashlee Ankudinoff (Aus) Specialized Women's Racing
34 Jeanne Korevaar (Ned) Waowdeals Pro Cycling Team
35 Grace Brown (Aus) Holden Team Gusto Racing
36 Linda Villumsen (NZl) Team Virtu Cycling
37 Marlies Mejias Garcia (Cub) Twenty20 p/b Sho-Air
38 Shannon Malseed (Aus) Team TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank
39 Eri Yonamine (Jpn) Wiggle High5
40 Karlijn Swinkels (Ned) Ale Cipollini
41 Mikayla Harvey (NZl) Vantage New Zealand National Team
42 Alex Manly (Aus) Mitchelton Scott
43 Soraya Paladin (Ita) Ale Cipollini
44 Georgia Whitehouse (Aus) Sydney Uni-Staminade Women's Cycling Team
45 Briana Hargrave (Aus) TIS Racing
46 Francesca Pattaro (Ita) BePink
47 Eva Buurman (Ned) Trek-Drops
48 Jessica Allen (Aus) Mitchelton Scott
49 Erica Clevenger (USA) Twenty20 p/b Sho-Air
50 Christel Van Loo (Ned) Maaslandster International
51 Emma Grant (GBr) Team TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank
52 Anouska Koster (Ned) Waowdeals Pro Cycling Team
53 Maeve Plouffe (Aus) TIS Racing
54 Trine Schmidt (Den) Team Virtu Cycling
55 Riejanne Markus (Ned) Waowdeals Pro Cycling Team
56 Lucy Kennedy (Aus) Mitchelton Scott
57 Tayler Wiles (USA) Trek-Drops
58 Erica Magnaldi (Ita) BePink
59 Audrey Cordon-Ragot (Fra) Wiggle High5
60 Amy Cure (Aus) Wiggle High5
61 Kathrin Hammes (Ger) Trek-Drops
62 Amanda Jamieson (NZl) Maaslandster International
63 Ella Bloor (Aus) Specialized Women's Racing
64 Carlee Taylor (Aus) Holden Team Gusto Racing
65 Louise Norman Hansen (Den) Team Virtu Cycling
66 Sabrina Stultiens (Ned) Waowdeals Pro Cycling Team
67 Rachel Neylan (Aus) UniSA-Australia
68 Roxanne Knetemann (Ned) Ale Cipollini
69 Megan Scott (Aus) Sydney Uni-Staminade Women's Cycling Team
70 Sharlotte Lucas (NZl) Specialized Women's Racing all s.t.
71 Yasue Nakahara (Jpn) Maaslandster International 1:15
72 Lucy Bechtel (Aus) Specialized Women's Racing 1:20
73 Danielle Morshead (USA) Twenty20 p/b Sho-Air
74 Kathryn Buss (USA) Team TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank
75 Margot Clyne (USA) Twenty20 p/b Sho-Air
76 Angela Smith (Aus) Sydney Uni-Staminade Women's Cycling Team all s.t.
77 Rylee Mcmullen (NZl) Vantage New Zealand National Team 1:44
78 Molly Weaver (GBr) Trek-Drops s.t.
79 Nicola MacDonald (Aus) Holden Team Gusto Racing 3:07
80 Marta Tagliaferro (Ita) Cylance Pro Cycling 4:14
81 Desiree Ehrler (Sui) Maaslandster International 5:13
82 Jelena Eric (Srb) Cylance Pro Cycling s.t.
83 Silvia Valsecchi (Ita) BePink 6:23
84 Rosella Ratto (USA) Cylance Pro Cycling 8:04
85 Emily Newsom (USA) Team TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank 10:00
86 Kimberley Wells (Aus) Holden Team Gusto Racing 10:50
87 Annasley Park (GBr) Trek-Drops 12:01
88 Serene Lee (Sng) Maaslandster International 12:07
89 Erin Kinnealey (Aus) UniSA-Australia 12:13
90 Rotem Gafinovitz (Isr) Waowdeals Pro Cycling Team 14:13
91 Gina Ricardo (Aus) Sydney Uni-Staminade Women's Cycling Team 16:05
92 Monique Van De Ree (Ned) Waowdeals Pro Cycling Team 0:00
93 Macey Stewart (Aus) Wiggle High5 0:00
OTL Lisa Morzenti (Ita) BePink
OTL Kate Smith (NZl) Vantage New Zealand National Team
OTL Anna-Leeza Hull (Aus) Maaslandster International
DNF Anna Trevisi (Ita) Ale Cipollini
DNF Rebecca Wiasak (Aus) Holden Team Gusto Racing
DNF Jade Colligan (Aus) Sydney Uni-Staminade Women's Cycling Team
DNF Chloe Heffernan (Aus) Sydney Uni-Staminade Women's Cycling Team
DNS Mayuko Hagiwara (Jpn) Ale Cipollini


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.