Canadian Cyclist


January 25/18 10:26 am - Cycling Canada Announces Cyclo-cross World Championships

Posted by Editoress on 01/25/18

Cycling Canada has announced the team of 13 athletes that will represent Canada at the 2018 Cyclo-cross World Championships, to take place in Valkenburg, Netherlands, on February 3-4.

The team will include four reigning national champions, led by the Elite women's and men's champions - Christel Ferrier Bruneau of Granby, Quebec, and Michael Van den Ham of Abbottsford, BC.  Prior to the world championships, the team will participate in the final round of the Cyclo-cross World Cup, on January 27-28, in Hoogerheide, Netherlands.


Tyler Clark

Ruby West

Magdeleine Vallieres Mill

Nicholas Diniz

Mical Dyck

Maghalie Rochette

Christel Ferrier Bruneau

Mark McConnell



Michael van den Ham


Scott Kelly, Program Manager for the Canadian National Cyclo-Cross Team, said "We've assembled a great team of athletes to represent Canada at this year's World Championships.  Our National program is still very much in a growth phase and our goal at every international competition is for our athletes to continue to learn and develop.  The World Championships is a great opportunity for our riders to take everything they're learned this year, put it all together on the day and leave everything out on the course."

"We are, as always, extremely grateful to our staff for volunteering their time and expertise during these World Championships," said Kris Westwood, High Performance Director at Cycling Canada.  "This is the sixth consecutive Cyclo-Cross World Championships for our core group of volunteer Cyclo-Cross staff, and we are incredibly appreciative of their efforts every year supporting National Cyclo-Cross Program at World Cups and the World Championships."

Canadian National Team Roster for Hoogerheide World Cup and 2018 World Championships (* denotes National Champion)

Junior Men
Paul Mysko - Barrie, Ontario
Dylan Kerr - Horseshoe Valley, Ontario
Conor Martin - Kelowna, BC
Tyler Clark * - King City, Ontario

Under-23 Women
Magdeleine Vallieres Mill - Sherbrooke, Quebec
Siobhan Kelly - London, Ontario
Ruby West * - Dundas, Ontario

Under-23 Men
Nicholas Diniz - Oakville, Ontario

Elite Women
Mical Dyck - Cumberland, BC
Maghalie Rochette - St-Jerome, Quebec
Christel Ferrier Bruneau * - Granby, Quebec

Elite Men
Mark McConnell - Calgary, AB
Michael van den Ham* - Abbottsford, BC

Cycling Canada does not receive government funding for Cyclo-Cross programs.  This means all projects are funded through sponsorships, private donations or by the athletes themselves.  Any amount donated has a direct impact on the development of this sport in Canada.  As a not-for-profit organization, Cycling Canada can issue tax receipts for any donation greater than $25.  To donate, please visit .  If you are interested in sponsorship opportunities please contact Scott Kelly at .

About the Canadian Cyclo-Cross Working Group

The Canadian-Cyclo-cross Working Group is made up of various stakeholders from the Canadian Cyclo-cross community.  The objective of this initiative is to improve communications and planning around the Canadian Cyclo-cross program.  The working group has been tasked with developing a sustainable cyclo-cross program, exploring funding opportunities and identifying and engaging leaders in the Canadian Cyclo-cross community to help drive these initiatives.

Working Group members:

Program Manager: Scott Kelly
NSO Rep: Kris Westwood
PSO Rep: Jayson Gillespie
Elite Female Rep: Maghalie Rochette
Elite Male Rep: Michael van den Ham
Industry Rep: Craig Richey
Member at Large: Aaron Schooler


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2024 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.