Canadian Cyclist


February 13/18 8:54 am - Tour of Oman: Stage 1

Posted by Editoress on 02/13/18

Bryan Coquard (Vital Concept) can now forget about his early season frustrations - the French sprinter came out on top at the end of the first stage of the Tour of Oman to claim his first victory with his new team. After 162.5km of racing, between Nizwa and Sultan Qaboos University, he final sprint saw Coquard storm to victory ahead of Mark Cavendish (Dimension Data) and Giacomo Nizzolo (Trek-Segafredo). He also leads the general and points classifications.

Maxime Farazijn (Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise), Pierre Luc Perichon (Fortuneo-Samsic), Conor Dunne (Aqua Blue Sport) and Brian Van Goethem (Roomport-Nederlandse Loterij) jumped from the gun. They quickly opened a 4:30 gap, only 15km into the stage. Team Cofidis and Team Sunweb were the first to react and set the pace at the front of the pack. UAE Team Emirates and Bahrain-Merida then joined them to ensure a bunch gallop in front of Sultan Qaboos University.

With the gap down to 2 minutes for the final 50km, the leaders’ chances to battle it out in the final appeared slim. They eventually got reeled in with 9km to go, after Pierre Luc Perichon sealed the lead in the most aggressive rider classification. It was then time for the sprinters and most of all Bryan Coquard to shine.

The only Canadian entry, Adam de Vos (Rally Cycling) finished 123rd, 1:48 back of the leaders.



Stage 1: Nizra to Sultan Qaboos University, 162.5 km
1 Bryan Coquard (Fra) Vital Concept Cycling Club 3:58:41
2 Mark Cavendish (GBr) Team Dimension Data
3 Giacomo Nizzolo (Ita) Trek-Segafredo
4 Nacer Bouhanni (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credit
5 Maximilian Richard Walscheid (Ger) Team Sunweb
6 Adam Blythe (GBr) Aqua Blue Sport
7 Alexander Kristoff (Nor) UAE Team Emirates
8 Bram Welten (Ned) Team Fortuneo-Samsic
9 Magnus Nielsen (Den) Astana Pro Team
10 Boris Vallee (Bel) Wanty-Groupe Gobert
11 Yannis Yssaad (Fra) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA
12 Viacheslav Kuznetsov (Rus) Team Katusha-Alpecin
13 Baptiste Planckaert (Bel) Team Katusha-Alpecin
14 Floris Gerts (Ned) Roompot-Nederlandse Loterij
15 Jean-Pierre Drucker (Lux) BMC Racing Team
16 Wouter Wippert (Ned) Roompot-Nederlandse Loterij
17 Kevin Deltombe (Bel) Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise
18 Eric Young (USA) Rally Cycling
19 Kenneth van Rooy (Bel) Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise
20 Nathan Haas (Aus) Team Katusha-Alpecin
21 Borut Bozic (Slo) Bahrain-Merida
22 Amaury Capiot (Bel) Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise
23 Fabio Jakobsen (Ned) Quick-Step Floors
24 Shane Archbold (NZl) Aqua Blue Sport
25 Francisco Jose Ventoso Alberdi (Esp) BMC Racing Team
26 Simone Antonini (Ita) Wanty-Groupe Gobert
27 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Bahrain-Merida
28 Luka Pibernik (Slo) Bahrain-Merida
29 Scott Davies (GBr) Team Dimension Data
30 Davide Martinelli (Ita) Quick-Step Floors
31 Andrew Fenn (GBr) Aqua Blue Sport
32 Rui Alberto Faria Da Costa (Por) UAE Team Emirates
33 Alex Aranburu Deba (Esp) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA
34 Merhawi Kudus Gebremedhin (Eri) Team Dimension Data
35 Justin Oien (USA) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA
36 Natnael Berhane (Eri) Team Dimension Data
37 Nils Politt (Ger) Team Katusha-Alpecin
38 Reto Hollenstein (Sui) Team Katusha-Alpecin
39 Elmar Reinders (Ned) Roompot-Nederlandse Loterij
40 Odd Christian Eiking (Nor) Wanty-Groupe Gobert
41 Dries Devenyns (Bel) Quick-Step Floors
42 Nicholas Dlamini (RSA) Team Dimension Data
43 Brandon McNulty (USA) Rally Cycling
44 Kiel Reijnen (USA) Trek-Segafredo
45 Miguel Angel Lopez Moreno (Col) Astana Pro Team
46 Nicolas Roche (Irl) BMC Racing Team
47 Jan Hirt (Cze) Astana Pro Team
48 Fabio Felline (Ita) Trek-Segafredo
49 Fabien Doubey (Fra) Wanty-Groupe Gobert
50 Sjoerd Van Ginneken (Ned) Roompot-Nederlandse Loterij
51 Manuele Boaro (Ita) Bahrain-Merida
52 Marco Marcato (Ita) UAE Team Emirates
53 Tanel Kangert (Est) Astana Pro Team
54 Sindre Skjostad Lunke (Nor) Team Fortuneo-Samsic
55 Jacques Willem Janse Van Rensburg (RSA) Team Dimension Data
56 Mark McNally (GBr) Wanty-Groupe Gobert
57 Jesus Herrada Lopez (Esp) Cofidis, Solutions Credit
58 Edward Theuns (Bel) Team Sunweb
59 Aime De Gendt (Bel) Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise
60 Maxime Farazijn (Bel) Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise
61 Peter Stetina (USA) Trek-Segafredo
62 Alexey Lutsenko (Kaz) Astana Pro Team
63 Omar Fraile Matarranz (Esp) Astana Pro Team
64 Pim Ligthart (Ned) Roompot-Nederlandse Loterij
65 Tim Declercq (Bel) Quick-Step Floors
66 Wesley Kreder (Ned) Wanty-Groupe Gobert
67 Danny Pate (USA) Rally Cycling
68 Gorka Izagirre Insausti (Esp) Bahrain-Merida
69 Benjamin Declercq (Bel) Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise
70 Julien Bernard (Fra) Trek-Segafredo
71 Nicolas Dougall (RSA) Team Dimension Data
72 Steff Cras (Bel) Team Katusha-Alpecin
73 Jordi Warlop (Bel) Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise
74 Greg van Avermaet (Bel) BMC Racing Team
75 Markel Irizar Aramburu (Esp) Trek-Segafredo
76 Bert van Lerberghe (Bel) Cofidis, Solutions Credit
77 Xandro Meurisse (Bel) Wanty-Groupe Gobert
78 Eros Capecchi (Ita) Quick-Step Floors
79 Alberto Bettiol (Ita) BMC Racing Team
80 Remi Cavagna (Fra) Quick-Step Floors
81 Pierre Luc Perichon (Fra) Team Fortuneo-Samsic
82 Daniel Navarro Garcis (Esp) Cofidis, Solutions Credit
83 Antonio Nibali (Ita) Bahrain-Merida
84 Nathan van Hooydonck (Bel) BMC Racing Team
85 Niki Terpstra (Ned) Quick-Step Floors
86 Pieter Weening (Ned) Roompot-Nederlandse Loterij
87 Nicolas Edet (Fra)Cofidis, Solutions Credit
88 Daniel Pearson (GBr) Aqua Blue Sport
89 Nicholas Schultz (Aus) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA
90 Giovanni Visconti (Ita) Bahrain-Merida
91 Michael Carbel Svendgaard (Den) Team Fortuneo-Samsic
92 Przemyslaw Niemiec (Pol) UAE Team Emirates
93 Arnaud Gerard (Fra) Team Fortuneo-Samsic
94 Michael Schar (Sui) BMC Racing Team
95 Mark Christian (GBr) Aqua Blue Sport
96 Danilo Celano (Ita) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA
97 Maxime Daniel (Fra) Team Fortuneo-Samsic
98 Nicola Conci (Ita) Trek-Segafredo
99 Casper Pedersen (Den) Aqua Blue Sport
100 Brian Van Goethem (Ned) Roompot-Nederlandse Loterij
101 Jon Irisarri Rincon (Esp) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA
102 Ian Boswell (USA) Team Katusha-Alpecin
103 Kristijan Durasek (Cro) UAE Team Emirates
104 Conor Dunne (Irl) Aqua Blue Sport all s.t.
105 Roberto Ferrari (Ita) UAE Team Emirates 0:14
106 Lorrenzo Manzin (Fra) Vital Concept Cycling Club 0:17
107 Kris Boeckmans (Bel) Vital Concept Cycling Club s.t.
108 Roy Curvers (Ned) Team Sunweb 0:21
109 Soren Kragh Andersen (Den) Team Sunweb s.t.
110 Oliviero Troia (Ita) UAE Team Emirates 0:23
111 Johannes Frohlinger 9Ger) Team Sunweb 0:26
112 Tom Stamsnijder (Ned) Team Sunweb s.t.
113 Kevin Reza (Fra) Vital Concept Cycling Club 0:30
114 Tyler Magner (USA) Rally Cycling 0:37
115 Florian Vachon (Fra) Team Fortuneo-Samsic 0:54
116 Johan Le Bon (Fra) Vital Concept Cycling Club 0:57
117 Julien Morice (Fra) Vital Concept Cycling Club s.t.
118 Loic Chetout (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credit 0:59
119 Cyril Lemoine (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credit s.t.
120 Bert De Backer (Bel) Vital Concept Cycling Club 1:05
121 Fabricio Ferrari Barcelo (Uru) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA 1:09
122 Charles Bradley Huff (USA) Rally Cycling 1:31
123 Adam de Vos (Can) Rally Cycling 1:48
124 Artijn Tusveld (Ned) Team Sunweb 1:55
125 Nikita Stalnov (Kaz) Astana Pro Team s.t.
126 Robin Carpenter (USA) Rally Cycling 3:04


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.