Canadian Cyclist


February 8/01 11:41 am - Cross Canada Bike Tour, Euro News

Posted by Editoress on 02/8/01

Cross Canada Bike Tour for Climate Change
Courtesy Leslie Bruce

Hello concerned citizens! On May 8, 2001, using the bike as a symbol of "movement" (environmental/physical), the climatechangecaravan will be embarking on a tour across Canada, from Tofino, BC to Halifax, NS (including NFLD) to spread the word of a bet to the Canadian government. Along with a coalition of groups, the climatechangecaravan is betting the government, who have done little in terms of climate change, that Canadian people can achieve Canada's commitment in Kyoto. Please let us know if you would like to join the coalition.

With the help of some experts, we will develop a concrete way of measuring the emissions that individuals and communities will cut and make this widely known to the media and the government. This is an extremely large task and we need the help of everyone!

With a variety of technologies, including a bus run on biodiesal, solar and wind power, and bike trailers, the climatechangecaravan will have a fun, circus-like appearance, and all are welcome to join us, whether they are interested in biking the entire way, or even just for a day or week.

We need you to bike with us!!

Check Climate Change Caravan

We welcome everyone to bike with us for an hour, a day, a week or the entire time!

People are what is going to make the difference here, so get out your biking shoes.

If you want to bike with us, help organize, be a contact person for your town or city, help with food or accomodation,contact

Hope to hear from you soon.

PS. if you have any contacts with celebrities, let us know!

Challenge Mallorca - Final

Stage 5: Palmanova, 153 km
1. Robbie McEwen (Aus) Domo-farm Frites 3:54:04
2. Erik Zabel (Ger) Telekom
3. Sven Teutenberg (Ger) Festina
4. Pablo Fernandez (Esp) Colchon Relax
5. Remco van der Ven (Ned) Bakgirolotterij
6. Tom Desmet (Bel) Bakgirolotterij
7. Jens Zemke (Ger) Nurnberger
8. Ludo Dierckxens (Bel) Lampre
9. Gerrit Glomser (Aut) Post Swiss
10. Josu Silloniz (Esp) Euskaltel all s.t
14 David Clinger (USA) Festina

GC unofficial
1. Matthew Hayman (Aus) Rabobank 19:38:57
2. Francisco Cabello (Esp) Kelme at 1:46
3. Fèlix Garcia Casas (Esp) Festina
4. Juan Josè de los Angeles (Esp) Kelme all s.t
5. Erik Zabel (Ger) Telekom 3:12
6. Sven Teutenberg (Ger) Festina
7. Tom Desmet (Bel) Bankgirolotterij
8. Josu Silloniz (Esp) Euskaltel
9. David Clinger (USA) Festina
10. Javier Pascual Llorente (Esp) Kelme all s.t

Etoile de Besseges

Stage 2: Septémes-les-Vallons to Miramas (150.6 km)
1. Steffen Radochla (Ger) Festina 3:26:50
2. Jaan Kirsipuu (Est) AG2r Prevoyance
3. Nico Eeckhout (Bel) Lotto-Adecco
4. Jo Planckaert (Bel) Cofidis
5. Lénaïc Olivier (Fra) Jean Delatour
6. Jimmy Casper (Fra) FranÁaise des Jeux)
7. Fabien De Waele (Bel) Lotto-Adecco
8. Christophe Detilloux (Bel) Collstrop-Palmans
9. Nicolas Jalabert (Fra) CSC-World on Line
10. Laurent Brochard (Fra) Jean Delatour all s.t.
38 Jonathan Vaughters (USA) Crédit Agricole
60 Bobby Julich (USA) Crédit Agricole all s.t.

1. Nico Eeckhout (Bel) Lotto-Adecco 6.55:23
2. Jakob Pill (Dan) CSC-World on Line at 0:08
3. Chris Peers (Bel) Cofidis 0:11
4. Christophe Bassons (Fra) Jean Delatour 0:14.
5. Nicolas Reynaud (Fra) Festina 0:17
6. Nicolas Jalabert (Fra) CSC-World on Line 0:23
7. Steffen Radochla (Ger) Festina 0:29
8. Jaan Kirsipuu (Est) AG2r Prevoyance 0:32
9. Raphaël Jeune (Fra) CSC-World on Line 0:38
10. Hendrijk Van Dijk (Bel) Lotto-Adecco 0:39


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.