Canadian Cyclist


May 27/18 10:46 am - Rochette & Burke Repeat at Mont Tremblant Canada Cup

Posted by Editoress on 05/27/18

The Canada Cup national cross-country series returned to Mont Tremblant, Quebec, on Saturday for the Round 3 of competition, with many familiar faces on the podiums.

Many of Canada's top professionals in the Elite and Under-23 categories are in Europe for the World Cup series, and their absence provides an opportunity for Canada's up-and-coming athletes to gain valuable UCI ranking points in this UCI C2 and UCI Junior sanctioned event.

Both the Elite races saw the same riders on the top step of the podium as last weekend at Round 2 in Baie-Saint-Paul, Quebec.  Maghalie Rochette (Clif Pro Team) took her second straight win in the women's race, while Felix Burke (Rocky Mountain) did the same for the men.

The women's race saw an identical podium to the previous weekend, with Rochette beating Jenn Jackson (AWI Racing) by 1:35 and Elyse Nieuwold (Pendrel Racing) taking third at 5:55.  Jackson continues to lead the Series standings with 465 points, followed by Nieuwold at 405 and Rochette - who missed the first round - moving up to third with 400 points.

Under-23 rider Burke won the men's race ahead of two American riders; Stephen Hyde (Cannondale-CXWorld) at 1:15 and Daniel Johnson (Bear Pro Team) at 3:04.  Burke also continues to hold onto the lead in the men's Series with 500 points, followed by Evan Guthrie (RaceFace/Fox/On the Edge/Kal Tire) in second at 375 points and Alexandre Vialle (Equipe du Quebec/Toyota St-Eustache) at 360.

The Junior Expert men's Series remains a neck-and-neck competition, with Holden Jones (Pendrel Racing) and Carter Woods (Dodge City Cycles/RMB/CBC) swapping first and second for the third time.  Jones won the first round, Woods the second and now Jones has won again, in a sprint finish.  Tyler Clark (Team Ontario/Homestead Racing) took third.  Jones has retaken the Series lead with 285 points, followed by Woods at 270.  Clark moves up to third from fourth, with 177 points.

The Junior women's race was won by Czech national team rider Tereza Saskova (Czech National/Specialized), who dominated the competition, defeating Canada Cup leader Marianne Theberge (Mathieu Performance) by nearly five minutes.  Madeline Robbins (USA National) took third.  Theberge continues to lead the standings with 270 points, followed by Mireille Larose-Gingras (Equipe du Quebec/Sigma) at 210 and Robbins in third with 190 points.

The Under-17 competition saw Nicole Bradbury (NCCH p/b Franklin Templeton) take her first win in the women's Series, with Juliette Larose-Gingras (Velo Cartel X BL Coaching) finishing second to take over the lead in the overall standings, at 255 points to Bradbury's 240.  The men's Series also saw a lead change, with the win by Owen Clark (Homestead Racing) propelling him into the leader's jersey with 255 points, ahead of former leader Jakob Yells (River City CC) at 213 points.

The Canada Cup XCO series continues with Round 4 at Horseshoe Resort, Ontario, on June 10th.



Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2024 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.