Canadian Cyclist


June 26/18 17:25 pm - Walter & Guthrie Dominate Canada Cup #6 in Whistler

Posted by Editoress on 06/26/18

After four rounds of competition in Quebec and Ontario, the 2018 Canada Cup XCO Series returned to British Columbia for Round 6, at Whistler on June 23rd.  Two new faces appeared on the top step of the podium for this season, with Sandra Walter (Liv Cycling Canada) winning the Elite women's competition, while Evan Guthrie (RaceFace/Fox/On the Edge/Kal Tire) took the men's.

In the women's race, Walter won by over eight and half minutes, with Elyse Nieuwold (Pendrel Racing) finishing second and Brittany Webster (Rundle Mountain CC) third.  Series leader Jenn Jackson (Team Ontario/AWI Racing) continues to lead the standings with 770 points, despite missing the Whistler round, with Nieuwold jumping from ninth to second at 580 points.  Haley Smith (Norco Factory), winner of Rounds 4 and 5 drops from second to third after not attending Whistler.

Guthrie also dominated his race, finishing over three minutes in front of American rider Cole Paton (Giant Factory Off-Road), with Quinn Moberg (Rocky Mountain Factory) finishing third.  Felix Burke (Rocky Mountain), winner of Rounds 2 and 3, continues to lead the standings with 850 points, despite missing this round.  Guthrie moves up to second from ninth with his win at 575 points, while Andrew L'Esperance (Forward Racing-Norco) drops from second to third.

"Being back in Whistler is always a highlight for anyone who rides mountain bikes," said Guthrie.  "I did my very first Canada Cup there in 2006 as a first-year Under-17 and won that race.  I've chased that top step ever since and landed in every spot from second to seventh in the past six years racing there, so to get back on that top step was special.  It was also combined with our BC Provincial Championships and that is a title I've only had once before. I'm proud to have that title for the next years. Can't miss highlighting the fact that Sandra Walter and I got to cross the line hand-in-hand celebrating our victories together.  Thanks to the event crew for hosting another great event!"

In the Junior men's race, Carter Woods (Dodge City Cycles/RMB/CBC) won his second Canada Cup of the season.  Holden Jones (Pendrel Racing), also a two-time winner, finished second, with American rider Scott Funston (Team USA) taking third.  Woods moves into the Series lead, tied at 370 points with Jones, since each has two wins and two second place results, with Woods taking the Leader's Jersey by virtue of the more recent victory.  Former leader Tyler Clark (Team Ontario), missing the event while he attended the Global Relay Canadian Road Championships p/b Quebecor, drops to third at 295 points.

With only one Junior woman attending Whistler - Laurence Levesque (Equipe du Quebec) - the women's standings are unchanged, as Marianne Théberge (Équipe du Québec : Mathieu Performance) continues to lead the standings with 355 points, followed by Mireille Larose-Gingras (Equipe du Quebec/Sigma) at 290 and Canadian champion Roxanne Vermette (CC Mont Sainte-Anne) at 285 points.

Emily Johnston (Trek BC Devo) won her third event of the Series in the Under-17 women's category, followed by Ana Large (Red Devils Cycling Academy) and Carolyn Shaw (Red Devils Cycling Academy).  Juliette Larose-Gingras (Velo Cartel X BL Coaching) remains in the overall lead of the Series with 355 points, although Johnston moves up to second from fifth and is now only 29 points back.

Jakob Yells (River City CC), the winner of Round 1, took his second win of the Series in Whistler, followed by Xavier Roy (Equipe du Quebec / XTRM Amos) and Cody Scott (Cannondale p/b Fortius).  Yells jumps from third to first in the standings with 355 points, tied with former leader Owen Clark (Homestead Racing), who did not attend.

The Canada Cup XCO Series now takes a hiatus until August 5th, when the final round will take place in Kentville, Nova Scotia.




Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2024 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.