Canadian Cyclist


August 20/18 9:45 am - Canada has Strong Finish to Para World Cup with 12 Medals

Posted by Editoress on 08/20/18

Canada had a strong finish to the para-cycling road season on Sunday at the final round of the UCI Para-cycling Road World Cup in Baie Comeau, Quebec, with four medals on the last day of competition, including two golds.  Canada finishes the final round of the World Cup with a total of 12 medals, including six silver; tied with Great Britain and Germany for the most gold medals.  Canadian athletes won six gold, two silver and four bronze medals in Baie Comeau.

On the final day of competition, world champions Shelley Gautier of Toronto in women's T1, and Tristen Chernove of Cranbrook, BC, in men's C2, each won their respective road races.  In men's C1, Ross Wilson of Edmonton took the silver medal, and in women's C4, Marie-Claude Molnar of St-Hubert, Quebec, won the bronze medal.

In the final World Cup standings, Shelley Gautier finished off an incredible road season that saw her sweep all six World Cup events - three time trials and three road races - for a perfect 360 points.  This was in addition to her two world titles earlier in the month.  World champion Tristen Chernove finished second overall in the men's C2 World Cup rankings, despite competing in only four of six events, while world champion Michael Sametz of Calgary finished third in men's C3 standings, despite racing in only half of the events; all of which he won.  Holly Dapp of Fort Erie, Ontario, was second overall in women's H2, Charles Moreau of Victoriaville, Quebec, finished second overall in men's H3, while Nicole Clermont of St Denis de Brompton, Quebec, was third overall in women's C5.

"Indeed, it was a really, really good World Cup for us," said Sebastien Travers, Para head coach for Cycling Canada.  "Twelve medals is a new record for the Para group, and it is comprised of medals from the High Performance and the NextGen groups, which is exactly what we hoped for.  The athletes that came on board for this event showed a lot of potential, and we can be assured we will see more of them in the coming years.  Points-wise, we are in a good position; we have already earned a spot for the Paralympics, so things are looking good.  Of course, 2019 and 202 are still part of the qualification process, so we have to make sure we are qualifying as many spots as we can for the Games.  But, I'm pretty happy and proud of everyone, and it was a good event for us."

Results from Day 4

Men C2, 56.7 km
1 Tristen Chernove (Can) Canada 1:29:27
2 Maurice Far Eckhard Tio (Esp) Spain 1:47
3 Arslan Gilmutdinov (Rus) Russia 2:11
4 Shota Kawamoto (Jpn) Japan 2:11
5 Ewoud Vromant (Bel) Belgium 3:14
6 Roger Bolliger (Sui) Switzerland 3:35
7 Simon Price (GBr) Great Britain 4:38
8 Victor Luise De Oliveira Herling (Bra) Independent 7:06
9 Francisco Duran Brenes (CRc) Costa Rica -1 lap
Men C1, 56.7 km
1 Ricardo Ten Argiles (Esp) Spain 1:31:31
2 Ross Wilson (Can) Canada 0:07
3 Michael Teuber (Ger) Germany 0:15
4 Pierre Senska (Ger) Germany 2:24
5 Andrea Pusateri (Ita) Independent 5:02
6 William Lister (USA) USA 10:28
7 Koen Heuvinck (Bel) Belgium 10:28
8 Todd Key (USA) USA 11:17
9 David Smith (GBr) Great Britain 15:35
10 Andreas Zirkl (Aut) Austria -1 lap
11 Damian Lopez Alfonso (Cub) Cuba -1 lap
Men C3, 56.7 km
1 Matthias Schindler (Ger) Germany 1:30:32
2 Steffen Warias (Ger) Germany 1:02
3 David Nicholas (Aus) Australia 1:06
4 Benjamin Watson (GBr) Great Britain 1:06
5 Stijn Boersma (Ned) Independent 1:06
6 Kris Bosmans (Bel) Belgium 1:06
7 Eduardo Santas Asensio (Esp) Spain 1:06
8 Diederick Schelfhout (Bel) Belgium 1:13
9 Yongsik Jin (Kor) South Korea 4:37
10 Adolfo Felipe Almarza Riquelme (Chi) Chile -1 lap
DNF Michael Sametz (Can) Canada
Women C4, 56.7 km
1 Meg Lemon (Aus) Australia 1:40:04
2 Hannah Macdougall (Aus) Australia 0:03
3 Marie-Claude Molnar (Can) Canada 2:40
4 Katell Alencon (Fra) France 2:50
5 Anna Tikhonova (Rus) Russia -1 lap
6 Lykke Koefoed (Den) Denmark -2 laps
Women C5, 56.7 km
1 Anna Harkowska (Pol) Poland 1:35:09
2 Kerstin Brachtendorf (Ger) Germany at s.t.
3 Crystal Lane-Wright (GBr) Great Britain 1:55
4 Samantha Bosco (USA) USA 1:55
5 Nicole Murray (NZl) New Zealand 7:30
6 Nicole Clermont (Can) Canada 7:32
7 Mari-Liis Juul (Est) Estonia 7:44
8 Ana Raquel Montenegro Batista Lins (Bra) Independent -1 lap
Women T1, 18.9 km
1 Shelley Gautier (Canada) 0:52:09
Men T2, 28.4 km
1 Hans-Peter Durst (Germany) 0:52:23
2 Craig Collis-Mccann (Great Britain) 3:28
3 Stephen Hills (New Zealand) 3:49
4 Joan Reinoso Figuerola (Spain) 3:49
5 David Stone (Great Britain) 3:49
6 Raphael Blaise (Belgium) 4:29
7 Louis-Albert Corriveau Jolin (Independant) 4:29
8 Stuart Jones (Australia) 5:28
9 Steven Peace (USA) 12:04
Women B, 75.6 km
1 Great Britain (Lora Fachie/Corrine Hall) 2:00:14
2 Poland (Iwona Podkoscielna/Aleksandra Teclaw) 0:09
3 Belgium (Griet Hoet/Anneleen Monsieur) 8:17
4 Independent (Annie Bouchard/Evelyne Gagnon) 8:25
5 Independent (Carla Shibley/Erin Ruttan)
6 Canada (Robbi Weldon/Anais Courteille) both s.t.
Men B, 104 km
1 Independent (Tristan Bangma/Cor Van Leeuwen) 2:23:51
2 Great Britain (Stephen Bate/Adam Duggleby)
3 Spain (Ignacio Avila Rodriguez/Joan Font Bertoli) both s.t.
4 Germany (Timo Kleinwachter/Peter Renner) 0:02
5 Independent (Vincent Ter Schure/Timo Fransen) 0:50
6 Canada (Daniel Chalifour/Jean-Michel Lachance) s.t.
7 Japan (Kazuhei Kimura/Takuto Kurabayashi) 1:12
8 Canada (Matthieu Croteau Daigle/Benoit Lussier) 3:07
9 Spain (Adolfo Bellido Guerrero/Noel Martin Infante) 4:33
10 Poland (Marcin Polak/Michal Ladosz) s.t.
11 Poland (Przemyslaw Wegner/Artur Korc) 4:36
12 Slovakia (Juraj Prager/Jan Gallik) 8:34
13 Independent (Lowell Taylor/Andrew Davidson) 9:05
14 Independent (Benoit Lalumiere Cloutier/Maxime Vives) -1 lap
15 Independent (Chester Triplett/John Delong) -1 lap

Full results



Canada Wins 4th Gold at Baie Comeau Para World Cup

Canada Wins 5 Medals on Day 2 of Para Road World Cup

Two Medals for Canada on Opening Day of Baie Comeau Para World Cup


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.