Canadian Cyclist


September 15/18 14:49 pm - Kirchmann Leads after Stage 1 of Madrid Challenge

Posted by Editoress on 09/15/18

One week before defending their title, reigning world champions Team Sunweb claimed the first team time trial in the history of the WNT Madrid Challenge by La Vuelta on the 12.6km rolling course at Boadilla del Monte as they bettered the time set by Wiggle High5 before Mitchelton-Scott settled for third. The Dutch squad positioned Canada’s Leah Kirchmann on top of the overall ranking ahead of the circuit race in Madrid on Sunday before the peloton of La Vuelta 18 comes to town.

106 riders from 19 different teams took the start of the 4th edition of the WNT Madrid Challenge by La Vuelta. The first team on the starting ramp was the Spanish national team with sunny weather, hot temperatures up to 30° and very little wind. After one hour of racing while teams setting off with four minute intervals, Cogeas Mettler Pro Cycling Team set the best time of 18:50. BTC City Ljubljana rode faster with a time 18:32 while the much awaited local Movistar Team clocked in at 18:54, the same time as Valcar PBM who came with high ambitions for Italy’s Elisa Balsamo.

The last four teams were the favourites. Just as expected, the five members of Wiggle High5 smashed the time of the Slovenian-registered squad. They were the first to cross the line within 18 minutes as they covered the course in 17’58’’. But their joy was short lived as Team Sunweb reached the finishing area in front of the Palacio del Infante Don Luis in 17:40 at the average speed of 42.8km/h.

Australia’s Mitchelton-Scott couldn’t do any better than that and scored the third best time in 18:26. First on the line for Team Sunweb, Kirchmann will wear the lilac jersey in the capital of Spain for stage 2 of the WNT Madrid Challenge by La Vuelta.


Stage 1: TTT, 12.6km
1 Team Sunweb 0:17:40
2 Wiggle High5 at 0:18
3 Mitchelton-Scott 0:46
4 BTC City Ljubljana 0:52
5 Cogeas 1:10
6 Valcar PBM 1:14
7 Movistar Team Women 1:14
8 FDJ Nouvelle-Aquitaine Futuroscope 1:22
9 Parkhotel Valkenburg 1:24
10 Ale Cipollini 1:24
11 Cylance Cycling 1:27
12 Doltcini-Van Eyck Sport 1:39
13 WNT Rotor Pro Cycling Team 1:44
14 Hitec Products-Birk Sport 1:47
15 Lotto Soudal Ladies 1:54
16 Bizkaia Durango 2:22
17 Sopela Team 2:34
18 Spain 2:43
19 BePink 2:59
1 Leah Kirchmann (Can) Team Sunweb 0:17:40
2 Coryn Rivera (USA)Team Sunweb
3 Ellen Van Djik (Ned) Team Sunweb
4 Liane Lippert (Ger) Team Sunweb all s.t.
5 Audrey Cordon Ragot (Fra) Wiggle High5 0:18
6 Elisa Longo Borghini (Ita) Wiggle High5
7 Emilia Fahlin (Swe) Wiggle High5
8 Lisa Brennauer (Ger) Wiggle High5
9 Kirsten Wild (Ned) Wiggle High5 all s.t.
10 Gracie Elvin (Aus) Mitchelton-Scott 0:46


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.