Canadian Cyclist


March 19/19 16:10 pm - Cycling Canada Announces New Board Members

Posted by Editor on 03/19/19

Cycling Canada is pleased to announce the appointment of three new members to its Board of Directors following a Cycling Canada Board meeting held on Tuesday, March 12th.

The three appointments are: Annie Foreman-Mackey, who was recommended by the Athlete Council as the National Team Athlete Representative, and two Director positions which will be filled by Curt Harnett (Toronto, ON) and Shauna Finlay (Edmonton, AB).  Foreman-Mackey replaces Geoff Kabush as the athlete representative.  Harnett fills a previously vacant position as a Board appointment, while Finlay replaces Pierre Laflamme, who became the President of Cycling Canada.

Annie Foreman-Mackey, who serves as a Road and Track representative on the Athlete Council, is a current member of Canada's National track cycling team. She is a world championship and world cup medalist on the track and was the Canadian road champion in 2016.

No stranger to the Canadian cycling community, Curt Harnett is a three-time Olympian and one of Canada's most decorated cyclists of all time. After retiring from cycling in 1996, Harnett was involved in sports marketing and business development, leading up to his current role as Senior Advisor at Deloitte Canada. Harnett is still heavily involved in the sport community, having served as Canada's Chef de Mission at the 2016 Olympic Games as well as the 2015 PanAm Games. He is a member of the Toronto 2015 Legacy Fund Allocation Committee and currently sits on the board of the Canadian Sport Institute Ontario.

Shauna Finlay has been practicing law for almost 20 years and is currently a Partner at the RMRF LLP law firm based in Edmonton. Throughout the years, she has developed an expertise in municipal, environmental and regulatory law and has provided independent counsel for different governing bodies.

"We are thrilled to welcome Annie, Shauna and Curt to our Board of Directors," said Cycling Canada President Pierre Laflamme. "They will each bring unique skills and expertise to the table and I have no doubt they will be valuable contributors in moving our organization and our sport forward. I want to thank all the phenomenal candidates who put their names forward for these positions - it is a healthy sign to see so many new and qualified individuals interested in contributing."

Current Board Members
Pierre Laflamme - President
Greg Cote - Director-at-Large
Paul DeVries - Director-at-Large
Shauna Finley - Director-at-Large
Curt Harnett - Director
Scott Kelly - Director-at-Large
Bill Kinash - Director-at-Large
Robin Porter - Director-at-Large
Annie Foreman-Mackey - National Team Athlete Representative


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2024 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.