Canadian Cyclist


May 16/19 18:54 pm - Women's Tour of California: Stage 1 results

Posted by Editoress on 05/16/19

The Tour of California Women's Race began today with the punchy and windy 60-mile (96.5 km) course beginning and ending in Ventura.The wind and challenging climbs saw the peloton shatter and reform many times over, including on the final ascent to the finish. Just as the teams were organizing to launch their sprinters to the line, World Champion Anna van der Breggen (Boels Dolmans Cycling Team) attacked and rode away to a solo victory despite a wicked headwind. Van der Breggen is a returning race champion, having won the event in 2017.

"There was a beautiful climb 5k’s from the finish so it was a good moment to go and try to see if I could go solo to the finish line," said van der Breggen. “It was up to us on that final climb to try something… I'm really happy for the team and for myself to take the stage win and to have a good start on this stage race."

Olga Zabelinskaya (Cogeas Mettler Look Pro Cycling Team), the former Russian National Time Trial Champion and three-time Olympic medalist, attacked at Casitas Pass and grew her lead to a minute and a half, but was caught shortly before the finish where attacks then began flying. Valcar Cylance Cycling’s Elisa Balsamo (ITA) came in second (+18s), with Arlenis Sierra (Astana) in third (+18s) for the day.

Earlier on the stage, Lindsay Goldman (Hagens Berman | Supermint Pro Cycling) made a solo break that held for nearly an hour, earning her the Breakaway from Heart DiseaseTM Most Courageous Rider Jersey.


Top Canadian was Leah Kirchmann (Team Sunweb) finishing 4th at 18s back.



Results from the first stage in California, USA

Stage 1: Ventura to Ventura, 96.5 km
1 Anna van der Breggen (Ned) Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam 2:36:17
2 Elisa Balsamo (Ita) Valcar Cylance Cycling at 0:18
3 Arlenis Sierra (Cub) Astana Women's Team
4 Leah Kirchmann (Can) Team Sunweb
5 Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio (Rsa) CCC - Liv
6 Katarzyna Niewiadoma (Pol) Canyon // SRAM Racing
7 Emma White (USA) Rally UHC Cycling
8 Elizabeth Deignan (GBr) Trek - Segafredo all s.t.
9 Brodie Chapman (Aus) Team TIBCO - Silicon Valley Bank 0:20
10 Marta Cavalli (Ita) Valcar Cylance Cycling
11 Clara Koppenburg (Ger) WNT Rotor Pro Cycling Team
12 Erica Magnaldi (Ita) WNT Rotor Pro Cycling Team
13 Katharine Hall (USA) Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam
14 Krista Doebel-Hickok (USA) Rally UHC Cycling
15 Pauliena Rooijakkers (Ned) CCC - Liv
16 Olga Zabelinskaya (Uzb) Cogeas Mettler Look Pro Cycling Team
17 Tayler Wiles (USA) Trek - Segafredo all s.t.
18 Marie Soleil Blais (Can) Astana Women's Team 0:32
19 Edwige Pitel (Fra) Cogeas Mettler Look Pro Cycling Team
20 Juliette Labous (Fra) Team Sunweb
21 Chloe Dygert-Owen (USA) Sho - Air Twenty20 all s.t.
22 Coryn Rivera (USA) Team Sunweb 0:38
23 Alison Jackson (Can) Team TIBCO - Silicon Valley Bank 0:39
24 Blanca Liliana Moreno Canchon (Col) Astana Women's Team 0:41
25 Lisa Brennauer (Ger) WNT Rotor Pro Cycling Team
26 Lisa Klein (Ger) Canyon // SRAM Racing
27 Andrea Ramírez Fregoso (Mex) Swapit Agolico
28 Emma Grant (GBr) Sho - Air Twenty20
29 Amber Leone Neben (USA) Cogeas Mettler Look Pro Cycling Team all s.t.
30 Leigh ann Ganzar (USA) Hagens Berman / Supermint 0:56
31 Silvia Persico (Ita) Valcar Cylance Cycling
32 Elizabeth Holden (GBr) Drops
33 Alice Maria Arzuffi (Ita) Valcar Cylance Cycling
34 Hannah Barnes (GBr) Canyon // SRAM Racing
35 Elinor Barker (GBr) Drops
36 Sara Bergen (Can) Rally UHC Cycling
37 Deborah Paine (NZl) Cogeas Mettler Look Pro Cycling Team
38 Omer Shapira (Isr) Canyon // SRAM Racing
39 Tatiana Guderzo (Ita) BePink
40 Whitney Allison (USA) Hagens Berman / Supermint
41 Anet Barrera Esparza (Mex) Swapit Agolico
42 Lily Williams (USA) Hagens Berman / Supermint all s.t.
43 Erica Clevenger (USA) Sho - Air Twenty20 1:38
44 Lizbeth Yareli Salazar Vazquez (Mex) Astana Women's Team 1:46
45 Heidi Franz (USA) Rally UHC Cycling
46 Marta Lach (Pol) CCC - Liv 1:48
47 Emily Newsom (USA) Team TIBCO - Silicon Valley Bank
48 Maria Giulia Confalonieri (Ita) Valcar Cylance Cycling
49 Alice Cobb (GBr) Team TIBCO - Silicon Valley Bank
50 Ruth Winder (USA) Trek - Segafredo
51 Evy Kuijpers (Ned) CCC - Liv
52 Jessica Cerra (USA) Hagens Berman / Supermint
53 Dalia Muccioli (Ita) Valcar Cylance Cycling all s.t.
54 Chiara Perini (Ita) BePink 1:58
55 Pernille Mathiesen (Den) Team Sunweb 2:22
56 Lauren Stephens (USA) Team TIBCO - Silicon Valley Bank 2:46
57 Anna Christian (GBr) Drops 3:27
58 Allie Dragoo (USA) Sho - Air Twenty20 4:26
59 Kathrin Hammes (Ger) WNT Rotor Pro Cycling Team
60 Jasmin Duehring (Can) Sho - Air Twenty20
61 Jennifer Luebke (USA) Sho - Air Twenty20
62 Karol-Ann Canuel (Can) Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam
63 Chantal Blaak (Ned) Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam
64 Trixi Worrack (Ger) Trek - Segafredo all s.t.
65 Brenda Andrea Santoyo Perez (Mex) Swapit Agolico 6:39
66 Jannie Milena Salcedo Zambrano (Col) Swapit Agolico
67 Alexis Ryan (USA) Canyon // SRAM Racing both s.t.
68 Lauretta Hanson (Aus) Trek - Segafredo 7:17
69 Julia Soek (Ned) Team Sunweb
70 Laura Asencio (Fra) WNT Rotor Pro Cycling Team 7:46
71 Tiffany Cromwell (Aus) Canyon // SRAM Racing 8:04
72 Ariadna Gutierrez Arzaluz (Mex) Swapit Agolico 8:33
73 Kendall Ryan (USA) Team TIBCO - Silicon Valley Bank 9:20
74 Megan Barker (GBr) Drops
75 Liza Rachetto (USA) Hagens Berman / Supermint both s.t.
76 Lindsay Goldman (USA) Hagens Berman / Supermint 9:57
77 Simona Frapporti (Ita) BePink
78 Carolina Rodriguez Gutierrez (Mex) Astana Women's Team
79 Abigail Mickey (USA) Rally UHC Cycling
80 Silvia Valsecchi (Ita) BePink
81 Ana Cristina Sanabria Sanchez (Col) Swapit Agolico
82 Gillian Ellsay (Can) Rally UHC Cycling all s.t.
83 Joscelin Lowden (GBr) Drops 11:48
84 Susanne Andersen (Nor) Team Sunweb s.t.
DNF Skylar Schneider (USA) Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam
DNF Lotta Pauliina Lepistö (Fin) Trek - Segafredo
DNF Inge Van Der Heijden (Ned) CCC - Liv
DNF Rachele Barbieri (Ita) BePink
DNF Silvia Zanardi (Ita) BePink
DNF Virginie Perizzolo Pointet (Sui) Cogeas Mettler Look Pro Cycling Team
DNF Valentina Scandolara (Ita) Cogeas Mettler Look Pro Cycling Team
DNF Abby-Mae Parkinson (GBr) Drops


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2024 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.