Canadian Cyclist


June 6/19 12:24 pm - Tour de Beauce Announces 2019 Teams & Rosters

Posted by Editoress on 06/6/19

The Tour de Beauce has released the list of teams and riders expected to take part in this years race, the 34th edition of Canada's longest running UCI-sanctioned men's stage race.

A total of 17 teams are scheduled to participate, led by Team Canada, which will include defending champion James Piccoli.  Two other former Beauce champions will race - 2017 champion Andzs Flaksis (Arapahoe/Hincapie p/b BMC) and 2016 champion Greg Daniel (DC Bank).  In addition, two former champions will be managing teams - Eric Wohlberg (1995) for Rally and Czeslaw Lukaszewicz (1991) for Velo Select.  Eight of the teams are from Canada and a total of 42 of the 91 riders are Canadian.


James Piccoli winning 2018 stage 4

James Piccoli in yellow

Adam de Vos

Ryan Roth

Andzs Flaksis (right)

The teams come from North America, Europe and Asia, with eight from Canada.  In addition to Piccoli, Team Canada will have three members of the Canadian track endurance squad - Adam Jamieson, Michael Foley and Derek Gee.  Other Canadians of note include Adam de Vos, Matteo Dal-cin Nigel Ellsay and Pier-Andre Cote all from Rally UHC; Alec Cowan and Nic Zukowsky from Floyd's; Ben Katerberg from Team BC; and Ryan Roth and Will Elliott from X-Speed United.

The race will follow the usual format of six stages over five days, running from Wednesday (June 19th) to Sunday (June 23rd).  Wednesday will be an out-and-back 177 kilometre course from St-Georges to a circuit around St-Odilon, followed by the queen stage starting in Lac Megantic and finishing atop Mont Megantic.  On Friday, the riders will face a 19.4 kilometre individual time trial in the morning and a 77 kilometre road stage in the evening.  On Saturday, the peloton will head to Quebec City for the criterium around the Grand Allée and Legislature, before the final brutal urban circuit through St-Georges, which often causes an upheaval in the final standings.

2019 Teams
Team Canada
Arapahoe | Hincapie p/b BMC
Rally UHC Cycling
Floyd's Pro Cycling Team
Inteja Imca - Ridea DCT
Ride with Rendall
303 Project
Novo Nordisk
Team B.C.
Villalobos Solis, Roman Daniel
Brunei Continental Cycling Team
ASPTT Nancy Meurthe et Moselle
Team Skyline
DC Bank Pro Cycling Team
XSpeed United Continenal
Veloselect Racing Team


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.