Canadian Cyclist


June 8/19 8:04 am - Masters Road Nationals Open with Time Trials

Posted by Editoress on 06/8/19

Masters Road Nationals Open with Time Trials

Thunder Bay's Jennifer Bell won one of eight national individual time trial titles awarded on Friday at the Canadian Masters Road Championships in Victoria, BC.  "I train indoors seven months of the year," the Thunder Bay Cycling Club member said after capturing her third consecutive Canadian Masters Time Trial Cycling Championship (women 30-39). "Thunder Bay (winters) are really cold."

Bell covered the windy but scenic 18K time trial in 25 minutes and seven seconds, followed by Powerwatts/Planete-Courier's Élodie Berthlier (from Quebec City) in second and Victoria Wheelers' Samantha Hoft taking the final podium spot.

In the 30-39 Men's Masters championship, Campbell River's John Vanderveen claimed the crown finishing in 21:58:8.  "I'm just trying to figure this all out," he said after his win, referring to his first year of road racing after making a successful transition from triathlon.

In only her second year of racing, Victoria's Triple Shot Cycling Heather Simonson repeated her 2018 debut by again winning the 50-59 women's crown with a time of 24:30.8.  "The wind was tough, but it's the same for everyone," Simonson said.

Nine-time Master Track World Champion Stéphane LeBeau from Rawdon, Quebec won the 60+ men's race, edging out the reigning Canadian Masters champion, CAL-NAT's Racing Robert Anderson, by five seconds.

Of special note was Paralympic champion Tristen Chernove finishing sixth in the men's 40-49 category.

Others crowned: Watt Riot Cycling's Debra Parker (W40-49) from Cranbrook; Penderfund p/b Neighbourhood Holdings' Matt Usborne (M40-49 from Vancouver); Hammer/53X11's David Gazsi from Quebec and Escape Velocity's Barbara Morris (w60+) from Vancouver.


Masters Road Championships ITT results


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.