Canadian Cyclist


August 2/19 13:09 pm - Van der Poel Takes Fourth Short Track Victory, Bouchard 17th

Posted by Editoress on 08/2/19

Mathieu van der Poel (Corendon-Circus) took his fourth short track win of the year on Friday at Round 5 of the Mountain Bike World Cup in Val di Sole, Italy. For the first time in the history of the short track, riders faced wet conditions, with steady day-long rain making the 1.1 kilometre circuit very muddy and slippery.

Despite starting well back on the grid, Leandre Bouchard (Pivot Cycles-OTE) rode well in the muddy conditions to finish 17th, two spots ahead of Canadian champion Peter Disera (Norco Factory).

By the second lap, this had become a two rider race, between van der Poel and Henrique Avancini (Cannondale Factory), the only other rider to have won a short track this season, albeit in Round 3 when van der Poel was absent.

The pair initially opened a small gap on the muddy climb, with world champion and World Cup leader Nino Schurter (Scott-SRAM) leading the chase group. The gap to the two leaders grew steadily, to 17 seconds by the start of the eighth lap, but a lap later, as the riders began their last lap, it was down to nine seconds, and van der Poel decided it was time to go, dropping Avancini like a stone on the last climb. The new European champion increased his lead on the descent to cruise across the line five seconds ahead of his rival, with Belgian champion Jens Schuermans (Scott Creuse Oxygene Gueret) winning the sprint for third.

Cyclo-cross world champion van der Poel admitted that the muddy conditions were to his liking, "I think it doesn't get much better than this for me. It's actually harder to ride in the mud on a mountain bike than on a cyclo-cross bike, but I enjoy these conditions. I think Henrique is my biggest opponent in the short track; he is very explosive and very strong on the not so long climbs. He is deadly to fight against, he is always willing to pull at the front of the race."

Van der Poel's win moved him up to second in the overall standings ahead of Avancini, 206 points behind Series leader Schurter. Disera dropped out of the top ten, to 11th, after Schuerman's third moved the Belgian up to ninth. Bouchard moves up to 45th from 48th.


Men, 9 laps
1 Mathieu Van Der Poel (Ned) Corendon-Circus 0:20:31
2 Henrique Avancini (Bra) Cannondale Factory Racing at 0:05
3 Jens Schuermans (Bel) Scott Creuse Oxygene Gueret 0:14
4 Ondrej Cink (Cze) Kross Racing Team 0:14
5 Nino Schurter (Sui) Scott-SRAM MTBRacing 0:14
6 Jordan Sarrou (Fra) Absolute-Absalon 0:16
7 Mathias Flueckiger (Sui) Thömus RN Swiss Bike Team 0:17
8 Titouan Carod (Fra) BMC Mountainbike Racing Team 0:21
9 Reto Indergand (Sui) BMC Mountainbike Racing Team 0:23
10 Florian Vogel (Sui) KMC-Ekoi-Orbea 0:28
11 Jan Skarnitzl (Cze) Mitas Mercedes-Benz Praha Trek 0:31
12 Sebastian Fini Carstensen (Den) CST Sandd Bafang MTB Racing Team 0:34
13 Lars Forster (Sui) Scott-SRAM MTBRacing 0:35
14 Gerhard Kerschbaumer (Ita) Torpado Ursus 0:39
15 Luca Braidot (Ita) CS Carabinieri-Cicli Olympia-Vittoria 0:40
16 Daniele Braidot (Ita) CS Carabinieri-Cicli Olympia-Vittoria 0:44
17 Leandre Bouchard (Can) Pivot Cycles-OTE 0:52
18 Stephane Tempier (Fra) Bianchi Countervail 0:53
19 Peter Disera (Can) Norco Factory Team 0:54
20 Nadir Colledani (Ita) Bianchi Countervail 0:54
21 Carlos Coloma Nicolas (Esp) BH Templo Cafés UCC 0:59
22 Luiz Henrique Cocuzzi (Bra) 1:02
23 Matthias Stirnemann (Sui) Moebel Maerki MTB Pro Team 1:02
24 Anton Cooper (NZl) Trek Factory Racing Xc 1:04
25 Ben Zwiehoff (Ger) 1:11
26 Bartlomiej Wawak (Pol) Volkswagen Samochody Uzytkowe MTB Team 1:15
27 Andri Frischknecht (Sui) Scott-SRAM MTBRacing 1:27
28 Anton Sintsov (Rus) Primaflor Mondraker Rotor 1:35
29 Gregor Raggl (Aut) Moebel Maerki MTB Pro Team -1 lap
30 Karl Markt (Aut) Moebel Maerki MTB Pro Team -1 lap
31 David Valero Serrano (Esp) MMR Factory Racing Team -2 laps
32 Ben Oliver (NZl) Subway NZ MTB Hub -2 laps
33 Georg Egger (Ger) -2 laps
34 Alan Hatherly (RSA) Specialized Racing -2 laps
35 Pablo Rodriguez Guede (Esp) Primaflor Mondraker Rotor -4 laps
36 Kohei Yamamoto (Jpn) Dream Seeker MTB Racing Team -4 laps
37 Andras Parti (Hun) -5 laps
DNF Thomas Litscher (Sui) KMC-Ekoi-Orbea
DNS Manuel Fumic (Ger) Cannondale Factory Racing
DNS Joshua Dubau (Fra) Sunn Factory Racing


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.