Canadian Cyclist


August 2/19 13:14 pm - Canada Sends Strong Team to Baie Comeau Para Road World Cup

Posted by Editoress on 08/2/19

Cycling Canada will conclude the para-cycling road season on home soil in Baie Comeau, Quebec, for the third and final round of the Road World Cup on August 8-11.  Canada will send a team of 21 riders across all categories, including world and Paralympic champions.

"For the final para-cycling World Cup of the season, the Canadian Para-Cycling National Team will be composed of athletes from both the High Performance and Development groups,"said Sebastien Travers, national para coach at Cycling Canada.  "As this event is the only out-of-Europe World Cup of the season, we are expecting a high level of competitiveness, with other nations sending strong squads for the qualification to the Tokyo 2020 Paralympics.  With close to three months since our last international events, the Baie Comeau World Cup will be a good indicator of the efficiency of the work done during the summer and what are the next priorities for the team."

"The high performance group will be targeting medal performances and the event will be the final tune up before the Para-cycling Road World Championships, that will be held three weeks later. We should expect solid results, as some athletes will be fighting to win the World Cup overall ranking."

"On the development side, the selected athletes will test their preparation before they depart for the Parapan American Games in Lima, Peru, one week after the World Cup. UCI points will be for grabs for all development athletes to help Canada climb the nations ranking."

The team will be led Shelley Gautier of Toronto, double gold medalist at the world championships in Women's T1; Tristen Chernove of Cranbrook, BC, gold and silver medalist in Men's C2; and Michael Sametz of Calgary, gold medalist in Men's C3.

Athletes will compete in time trial events on Thursday and Friday, followed by the road races on Saturday and Sunday.

Annie Bouchard - Tandem [Baie-St-Paul, QC]
Evelyne Gagnon - Tandem Pilot [Montreal, QC]
Marie-Eve Croteau - T2 [Quebec City, QC]
Kara Douville - H4 [Calgary, AB]
Shelley Gautier - T1 [Toronto, ON]
Marie-Claude Molnar - C4 [St Hubert, QC]
Carla Shibley - Tandem [Calgary, AB]
Meghan Lemiski - Tandem Pilot [Edmonton, AB]

Daniel Chalifour - Tandem [Mont-Laurier, QC]
Jean Michel Lachance - Tandem Pilot [Quebec City, QC]
Tristen Chernove - C2 [Cranbrook, BC]
Joey Desjardins - H3 [Hawksbury, ON]
Patrick Desnoyers - H5 [Blainville, QC]
Alex Hyndman - H3 [Morpeth, ON]
Matthew Kinnie - H2 [Riverview, NB]
Charles Moreau - H3 [Victoriaville, QC]
Michael Sametz - C3 [Calgary, AB]
Mike Shetler - T2 [Kirkland, QC]
Lowell Taylor - Tandem [Lethbridge, AB]
Andrew Davidson - Tandem Pilot [Calgary, AB]
Ross Wilson - C1 [Sherwood Park, AB]


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.