Canadian Cyclist


March 24/01 1:32 am - Milan San-Remo, Women's World Cup

Posted by Editoress on 03/24/01

Zabel Wins his 4th Milan San-Remo

Eric Zabel won his 4th Milan San-Remo in 5 years and did it in convincing fashion. Defeating 'Super' Mario Cipollini, reigning World Champion Romans Vainsteins and 50 other riders in the pack in a sprint to the line.

Zabel was led out by his team mate Italian Gian Matteo Fagnini and won by half a bike length.

1. Erik Zabel (Ger) Telekom 7:23:13
2. Mario Cipollini (Ita) Saeco
3. Romans Vainsteins (Let) Domo
4. Biagio Conte (Ita) Saeco
5. Paolo Bettini (Ita) Mapei
6. Gabriele Colombo (Ita) Cantina Tollo
7. Gabriele Balducci (Ita) Tacconi
8. Jo Planckaert (Bel) Cofidis
9. Beat Zberg (Sui) Rabobank
10. George Hincapie (USA) US Postal all s.t.

Women's World Cup Primavera Rosa, Italy

Varazze to San Remo, 118km
1. Susanne Ljungskog (Swe) 2:51:34.(260 km/h)
2. Mirjam Melchers (Ned) at 0:05.
3. Sara Felloni (Ita)
4. Zinaida Stahurskaia (Blr)
5. Chantal Beltman (Ned)
6. Heidi Van de Vijver (Bel)
7. Madeleine Lindberg (Swe)
8. Nicole Brandli (Sui)
9. Edita Pucinskaite (Lit)
10. Fabiana Luperini (Ita) all s.t.

34. Hanka Kupfernagel (Ger)

World Cup Rankings after 3 races
1. Anna Wilson-Millward (Aus) 150pts
2. Mirjam Melchers (Ned) 150
3. Sara Felloni (Ita) 76
4. Susanne Ljungskog (Swe) 75
5. Zinaida Stahurskaya (Blr) 73
6. Sarah Ulmer (NZl) 45
7. Sara Carrigan (Aus) 37
8. Rochelle Gilmore (Aus)35
9. Alison Wright (Aus) 34
10. Mari Holden (USA) 33

Remaining Women's World Cup races
18.04. Fleche Wallonne (Bel)
02.06. Montreal (Can)
10.06. First Union Liberty Classic (USA)
03.08. Trophee international (Fra)
09.09. GP Suisse (Sui)
16.09. Rotterdam Tour (Ned).


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.