Canadian Cyclist


August 27/19 9:56 am - Canada Selects Strong Team for Pan Am Track Championships

Posted by Editoress on 08/27/19

Canada will send a world-class team of 16 athletes to the Pan American Track Championships, to be held in Cochabamba, Bolivia, on September 4-8.  The team includes Pan American and Commonwealth Games champions, plus two members of Canada's Olympic bronze medal team from the 2016 Games - Allison Beveridge and Georgia Simmerling.  Pan Am Championships provide an important opportunity to gain points in the world rankings, which will be used to determine the number of athletes Canada will be allowed to enter in next year's Olympic Games.


Lauriane Genest

Kelsey Mitchell

Joel Archambault

Hugo Barrette

Nick Wammes

Men's Team Pursuit Sqaud

Women's Team Pursuit Squad


Brendon Cameron, Head Coach for the track program at Cycling Canada, said, "The PanAm Champs is the second highest Olympic Qualifying event that our team has on the season calendar and, although logistically challenging to prepare for and get to, we are sending a full team to compete.  We're looking for strong performances but the team is also mindful of the long season ahead and are making sure there's a balanced approach with their training."

"The event is being held at an altitude of 2500m, so the coaching team have had to put some detail into preparation of the athletes for this campaign.  It is also the first competition for new Women's Endurance coach Matt Shallcrass in a Canadian shirt."

Sprint Women
Lauriane Genest - Levis, QC
Kelsey Mitchell - Edmonton, AB
Both riders will compete in Team Sprint, Sprint, Keirin, 500m time trial

Sprint Men
Joel Archambault (Sprint, Keirin) - St-Christine, QC
Hugo Barrette (Sprint, Keirin) - Iles de la Madeleine, QC
Nick Wammes (Sprint, Kilo) - Bothwell, ON

Endurance Men
Aidan Caves (Team Pursuit, Scratch) - Vancouver, BC
Vincent De Haitre (Team Pursuit, Kilo) - Ottawa, ON
Michael Foley (Team Pursuit, Madison, Points) - Milton, ON
Derek Gee (Team Pursuit, Omnium, Madison) - Ottawa, ON
Jay Lamoureux (Team Pursuit, Individual Pursuit) - Victoria, BC

Endurance Women
Allison Beveridge (Team Pursuit, Omnium) - Calgary, AB
Ariane Bonhomme (Team Pursuit, Individual Pursuit) - Gatineau, QC
Annie Foreman-Mackey (Team Pursuit, Individual Pursuit) - Kingston, ON
Kinley Gibson (Team Pursuit, Points, Madison) - Edmonton, AB
Stephanie Roorda (Team Pursuit, Madison, Scratch) - Vancouver, BC
Georgia Simmerling (Team Pursuit) - Vancouver, BC


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.