Canadian Cyclist


November 29/19 11:13 am - Cyclist Among Youth Indigenous Award Winners (B.C.)

Posted by Editor on 11/29/19

The 2019 Premier's Awards for Indigenous Youth Excellence in Sport were presented on November 27th to six outstanding Indigenous youth athletes from British Columbia's Vancouver Island Region.  Aedan Crocker, road and track cyclist who is a member of the Penelakut Tribe (Victoria), was one of the six winners.

The Regional Awards were presented during a formal celebration held at the Quw'utsun' Cultural & Conference Centre in Duncan, BC. The Vancouver Island is the sixth and final of the Indigenous Sport, Physical Activity & Recreation Council's (I·SPARC) six regions to honour Indigenous athletes through this unique province-wide awards program.

I·SPARC, in collaboration with the Province of British Columbia, launched the regional nomination process in August 2019, receiving close to 130 nominations from across the province for Indigenous athletes under 25 years of age who are competing in performance sport and committed to living healthy, active lifestyles.

A total of 36 recipients were chosen within I·SPARC's six regions - Fraser, Interior, Northeast, Northwest, Vancouver Coastal, and Vancouver Island.

The 2019 Premier's Awards for Indigenous Youth Excellence in Sport - Vancouver Island Regional Recipients

• Jada Livingston, 17, Hockey, Rugby, Métis Nation BC (Ladysmith)
• Ty Ludwikowski, 15, Basketball, Soccer, Wei Wai Kum First Nation (Campbell River)
• Emoni Bush, 16, Volleyball, Wei Wai Kum First Nation (Campbell River)
Aedan Crocker, 16, Road & Track Cycling, Penelakut Tribe (Victoria)
• Nicola Smith, 19, Rugby, Peguis First Nation (Victoria)
• Ty Brant, 18, Hockey, Mohawks of the Bay of Quinte (Victoria)

These Regional recipients automatically serve as nominees for the Provincial Awards selected in early 2020. Ten Provincial Recipients will be awarded at the Gathering Our Voices Opening Ceremony in Kamloops on March 16, 2020 and go on display at the BC Sports Hall of Fame.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2023 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.