Canadian Cyclist


February 14/20 15:03 pm - de Vos 2nd on First stage of Murcia

Posted by Editoress on 02/14/20

De Vos Second Overall at Murcia After Stage 1

Canadian national road champion Adam de Vos (Rally Cycling) had a career defining ride on stage 1 of Vuelta Murcia on Friday, sprinting uphill to a second place finish ahead of his WorldTour breakaway companions.

After nearly an hour of attacks, the breakaway reached the foot of the final cobbled climb intact where de Vos kicked off in pursuit of eventual stage winner Xandro Meurisse (Circus - Wanty Gobert) to finish second. De Vos moved into second place overall and into the lead of the the Metas Volantes sprint competition.

"That was probably the hardest bit of biking I've ever done," said de Vos after Stage 1. "The last 30 kilometres we had such a huge gap we were able to really mess around. I don't think there was more than a couple actual paceline pulls, the only way we were moving forward was haymaker attacks."

On Stage 1, Pier-André Coté tried his hand at an attack in the opening kilometres, and as they were brought back Adam de Vos countered and went clear with nine others, including representatives from Movistar and Astana, both of which dominated the 2019 edition. De Vos contested both Metas Volantes points (intermediate sprints) and tied on points with Antonio Jesus Soto (Fundación - Orbea). With 30 km remaining and the gap over the peloton eclipsing 10 minutes, breakaway riders begin to attack each other, over and over, however, the breakaway entered Caravaca de la Cruz intact and turned onto cobbled climb to the finish. Meurisse was first to attack as de Vos attempted to close the gap, eventually finishing an impressive second on the stage and earning the Metas Volantes jersey on countback.

Courtesy Rally Cycling


Results from the first stage of Vuelta Ciclista a la Región de Murcia "Costa Calida" in Spain.

Stage 1: Los Alcázares to Caravaca de la Cruz, 177.6 km
1 Xandro Meurisse (Circus - Wanty Gobert) 4:24:00
2 Adam de Vos (Rally Cycling) at 0:04
3 Josef Cerny (CCC Team) 0:11
4 Thibault Guernalec (Team Arkea - Samsic) s.t.
5 Lennard Kämna (BORA - hansgrohe) 0:17
6 Nikita Stalnov (Astana Pro Team) 0:20
7 Jefferson Cepeda (Caja Rural - Seguros RGA) 0:23
8 Sergio Garcia Gonzalez (Kometa Xstra Cycling Team) 0:29
9 Hector Carretero (Movistar Team) 0:37
10 Antonio Jesus Soto Guirao (Fundación Orbea) 0:50
11 Clément Russo (Team Arkea - Samsic) 16:48
12 Arjen Livyns (Wallonie Bruxelles) 16:49
13 Patrick Bevin (CCC Team)
14 Kevin Deltombe (Sport Vlaanderen - Baloise)
15 Alejandro Valverde (Movistar Team)
16 Felix Grossschartner (BORA - hansgrohe)
17 Martijn Budding (Riwal Readynez Cycling Team)
18 Omar Fraile Matarranz (Astana Pro Team)
19 Ruben Fernandez (Fundación Orbea)
20 Vicente Garcia De Mateos (Aviludo - Louletano)
21 Luis León Sanchez (Astana Pro Team)
22 Matteo Trentin (CCC Team)
23 Aksel Nõmmela (Wallonie Bruxelles)
24 Willem Jakobus Smit (Burgos - BH)
25 Dimitri Peyskens (Wallonie Bruxelles)
26 Anthony Delaplace (Team Arkea - Samsic)
27 Julien Mortier (Wallonie Bruxelles)
28 Pier Andre Cote (Rally Cycling)
29 Jhojan Orlando Garcia Sosa (Caja Rural - Seguros RGA)
30 Diego Rubio Hernandez (Burgos - BH)
31 Thomas Sprengers (Sport Vlaanderen - Baloise)
32 Kenny Molly (Wallonie Bruxelles)
33 Carmelo Urbano Fontiveros (Caja Rural - Seguros RGA)
34 Giacomo Garavaglia (Kometa Xstra Cycling Team)
35 Joan Bou Company (Fundación Orbea)
36 Kristian Aasvold (Riwal Readynez Cycling Team) all s.t.
37 Sindre Skjøstad Lunke (Riwal Readynez Cycling Team) 17:01
38 Juan Fernando Calle Hurtado (Caja Rural - Seguros RGA) 17:03
39 Alex Molenaar (Burgos - BH) 17:04
40 Oscar Hernandez Martinez (Aviludo - Louletano)
41 Maurits Lammertink (Circus - Wanty Gobert)
42 Francisco Galvan Fernandez (Equipo Kern Pharma)
43 Alvaro Cuadros Morata (Caja Rural - Seguros RGA)
44 Angel Madrazo Ruiz (Burgos - BH)
45 Rasmus Christia Quaade (Riwal Readynez Cycling Team)
46 Oscar Rodriguez Garaicoechea (Astana Pro Team)
47 Roger Adria Oliveras (Equipo Kern Pharma)
48 Stephen Basset (Rally Cycling)
49 Nathan Van Hooydonck (CCC Team)
50 Ricardo Vilela (Burgos - BH)
51 Aaron Van Poucke (Sport Vlaanderen - Baloise)
52 David De La Fuente Rasilla (Aviludo - Louletano)
53 Erik Fetter (Kometa Xstra Cycling Team)
54 Emerson Oronte (Rally Cycling)
55 Imerio Cima (Gazprom - Rusvelo)
56 Joel Nicolau Beltran (Caja Rural - Seguros RGA)
57 Laurens Huys (Wallonie Bruxelles)
58 Laurent Pichon (Team Arkea - Samsic)
59 Mikel Alonso Flores (Fundación Orbea)
60 Aaron Verwilst (Sport Vlaanderen - Baloise)
61 José Fernandes Neves (Burgos - BH)
62 Daniel Viegas (Kometa Xstra Cycling Team)
63 Donavan Vincent Grondin (Team Arkea - Samsic)
64 Dzmitry Zhyhunou (Fundación Orbea)
65 Diego Pablo Sevilla Lopez (Kometa Xstra Cycling Team)
66 Jaime Castrillo Zapater (Equipo Kern Pharma)
67 Riccardo Verza (Kometa Xstra Cycling Team)
68 Mikel Iturria Segurola (Fundación Orbea)
69 Dmitrii Sokolov (Lokosphinx)
70 Jean-pierre Drucker (BORA - hansgrohe)
71 Alessandro Fancellu (Kometa Xstra Cycling Team)
72 Sergei Chernetski (Gazprom - Rusvelo)
73 Simone Petilli (Circus - Wanty Gobert)
74 Loïc Vliegen (Circus - Wanty Gobert)
75 Alexander Vdovin (Lokosphinx)
76 Jetse Bol (Burgos - BH)
77 Arseny Nikiforov (Lokosphinx)
78 Nelson Oliveira (Movistar Team)
79 Gijs Van Hoecke (CCC Team)
80 Jesus Del Pino Corrochano (Aviludo - Louletano)
81 Marti Marquez Roman (Equipo Kern Pharma)
82 Guillaume Van Keirsbulck (CCC Team)
83 Nick Van Der Lijke (Riwal Readynez Cycling Team)
84 Aleksandr Barsov (Lokosphinx)
85 Zhandos Bizhigitov (Astana Pro Team)
86 Nigel Ellsay (Rally Cycling)
87 Kirill Sveshnikov (Lokosphinx)
88 Yevgeniy Gidich (Astana Pro Team)
89 Daniil Fominykh (Astana Pro Team)
90 Martin Bouzas Rey (Equipo Kern Pharma)
91 Denis Nekrasov (Gazprom - Rusvelo)
92 Iñigo Elosegui Momeñe (Movistar Team)
93 Kamil Malecki (CCC Team)
94 Antonio Pedrero (Movistar Team)
95 Vladislav Kulikov (Gazprom - Rusvelo)
96 Hector Saez Benito (Caja Rural - Seguros RGA)
97 Matis Louvel (Team Arkea - Samsic)
98 Emiel Planckaert (Sport Vlaanderen - Baloise)
99 Amaury Capiot (Sport Vlaanderen - Baloise)
100 Ibon Ruiz Sedano (Equipo Kern Pharma)
101 Sergio Nestor Araiz Michel (Equipo Kern Pharma)
102 Matteo Dal-Cin (Rally Cycling)
103 Thomas Boudat (Team Arkea - Samsic) all s.t.
104 Tyler Magner (Rally Cycling) 18:04
105 Sondre Holst Enger (Riwal Readynez Cycling Team) 18:16
106 Peio Goikoetxea Goiogana (Fundación Orbea) s.t.
107 Anton Kuzmin (Gazprom - Rusvelo) 18:20
108 Tobias Mørch Kongstad (Riwal Readynez Cycling Team) 18:22
109 Igor Boev (Gazprom - Rusvelo) s.t.
110 Aime De Gendt (Circus - Wanty Gobert) 18:27
111 Pieter Vanspeybrouck (Circus - Wanty Gobert) 18:29
112 Lukas Pöstlberger (BORA - hansgrohe) 18:31
113 Andreas Schillinger (BORA - hansgrohe) 18:41
114 Pascal Ackermann (BORA - hansgrohe) s.t.
115 Rüdiger Selig (BORA - hansgrohe) 18:44
116 Albert Torres Barcelo (Movistar Team) 18:45
117 Luc Wirtgen (Wallonie Bruxelles) 35:01
118 Nuno Meireles (Aviludo - Louletano) 35:16


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2023 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.