Canadian Cyclist


April 5/01 8:13 am - Hill to U.K., University MTBing, de Panne

Posted by Editor on 04/5/01

Vancouverite Named as Top British Coach

The British Cycling Federation's, World Class Performance Programme, is proud to announce the appointment of Canadian, Peg Hill as British National Women's Endurance Coach. Hill was selected from a global search for this newly created position, which begins this April and continues through the next Olympics in Athens, Greece, 2004.

In the UK, Hill's new charges are 8 top British women road and track cyclists. She inherits Olympic Silver Medallist and World Pursuit Champion, Yvonne McGregor; #1 World Ranked Under 23 Years Old, Ceris Gilfidden; Olympians Sara Symington and Emma Davies, who skillfully guided by Team Manager, Ken Matheson, are currently in top placings in the HP Women's Challenge, G.P. Feminine, and World Cup Road Races.

This highly charged road and track team is based in Alsager near Stoke on Trent, south of Manchester. The gorgeous indoor velodrome facility in Manchester houses the BCF main offices and is home to the Olympic medalling track team. Manchester is the host of the 2002 Commonwealth Games. The British Team is funded through their Sport Lottery system and has plans through 2012, lead by Performance Director Peter Keen. Keen was coach to Olympic Champion and World Record holder Chris Boardman.

Matheson, who has been both managing and coaching the squad, is happy to be handing over coaching responsibilities to Peg: "Peg will be in charge of coaching and I believe that she will bring something new to the preparation of our athletes. Our approach to structured training has been a real strength of the Programme, but Peg's knowledge of technical and psychological preparation opens up some exciting new opportunities for the riders."

Peg is looking forward to her new role: "This is a very exciting opportunity. The Women's Endurance squad includes proven world-class athletes and some very promising young talent. With the Commonwealth Games in Manchester next year and the Athens Olympics in 2004 we have some tough but inspiring challenges ahead."

Hill will begin her duties on April 20th.

University Cup: Mountain Bike Race Series for Canada's University Students

If you are a university student and looking for a great, laid back, positive atmosphere kinda race series then check out the University Cup.

It is a non-profit races series organized by the Ontario University Mountain Bike Race Council (OUMRC). The Council is made up of volunteer students and alumni from universities across Ontario. The race series is Ontario based, but we would be more than happy to welcome any university students who want to make the trek from out of Province.

Races are in September and October and sanctioned by the Ontario Cycling Association.

FYI - We are looking for a new student mountain bike rep who is/will be attending the University of Western Ontario.

For more infor go to OUMRC link: or e-mail:


David Wright
Chairperson: Ontario University Mountain Bike Race Council

Driedaagse van De Panne, Belgium

Final GC

1 Nico Mattan (Bel) Cofidis 13:20:46
2 Erik Dekker (Ned) Rabobank at 0:04
3 Vjatceslav Ekimov (Rus) US Postal Service 0:14
4 Christian Vandevelde (USA) US Postal Service 0:24
5 George Hincapie (USA) US Postal Service 0:27
6 Philippe Gaumont (Fra) Cofidis 0:28
7 Servais Knaven (Ned) Domo-Farm Frites 0:31
8 Andrei Tchmil (Bel) Lotto-Adecco 0:37
9 Nico Eeckhout (Bel) Lotto-Adecco 0:38
10 Romans Vainsteins (Lat) Domo-Farm Frites 0:40

12 Antonio Cruz (USA) US Postal Service 0:46
16 Johan Museeuw (Bel) Domo-Farm Frites 1:11
27 Guido Trenti (USA) Cantina Tollo 14:06
32 Cedric Vasseur (Fra) US Postal Service 22:18
34 Levy Leipheimer (USA) US Postal Service 34:48
56 Geert Van Bondt (Bel) Mercury-Viatel 38:27
77 Wim Vansevenant (Bel) Mercury-Viatel 47:00
84 Plamen Stainov (Bul) Mercury-Viatel 49:36
87 Jeff Louder (USA) Landbouwkrediet-Colnago 50:55
94 Benoit Joachim (Lux) US Postal Service 58:44


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.