Canadian Cyclist


April 11/01 4:38 am - Ontario Date Changes & Cancellations, Euro News, CC Store

Posted by Editor on 04/11/01

Downhill at Ontario Cup #1 Cancelled at Lakeridge

We have officially cancelled the first Ontario Cup Downhill of the season due to the overuse of snowmaking on the ski runs, and nature's slow spring thaw. It was decided that cancelling the downhill race was the best decision to make. We apologize for any inconvenience, however all funds sent into us for the downhill will be returned.

The x-country race on Sunday, April 29 is on and you can pick up your registration forms off of our website at That course will be dry and fast for the most part, as snowmaking wasn't done on the x-country ski trails. We look forward to seeing you at the first Ontario Cup of the season.

Adam Ruppel,
Chico Racing

Aztech Kingston Grand Prix Date Change

Aztech Associates Inc. of Kingston Ontario is pleased to announce its continued involvement with elite amateur cycling for the 2001 road season as the title sponsor of the Aztech Kingston Grand Prix.

This 2 day, three stage race is currently on the OCA calendar for June 16th and 17th. Due to a direct conflict with the Preston Stree Crit in Ottawa, we will not be holding our race on this weekend.

The race will still take place, but will change dates to the 21st and 22nd of July. (Good news also for local boy Ray Duggan who will be busy getting married on the 16th and 17th).

Please mark this one on your calendars and plan to come out.

Lee Fraser

Gent-Wevelgem, Belgium

1 George Hincapie (USA) U.S. Postal Service 215 km in 5:00:50
2 Leon Van Bon (Ned) Mercury-Viatel
3 Steffen Wesemann (Ger) Team Deutsche Telekom
4 Arvis Piziks (Lat) CSC-World Online
5 Nico Mattan (Bel) Cofidis all s.t.
6 Nico Eeckhout (Bel) Lotto-Adecco at 0:41
7 Chris Peers (Bel) Cofidis s.t.
8 Daniele Nardello (Ita) Mapei-Quick Step 1:00
9 Erik Zabel (Ger) Team Deutsche Telekom 1:16
10 Gabriele Balducci (Ita) Tacconi Sport-Vini Caldirola
11 Thor Hushovd (Nor) Credit Agricole
12 Biagio Conte (Ita) Saeco Macchine Per Caffe all s.t.
13 Romans Vainsteins (Lat) Domo-Farm Frites 1:26
14 Alessandro Petacchi (Ita) Fassa Bortolo 2:24
15 Gianluca Bortolami (Ita) Tacconi Sport-Vini Cal 6:03
16 Vjatceslav Ekimov (Rus) U.S. Postal Service
17 Hendrik Van Dyck (Bel) Lotto-Adecco
18 Servais Knaven (Ned) Domo-Farm Frites
19 Franck Renier (Fra) Bonjour
20 Saulius Ruskys (Ltu) Gerolsteiner
21 Davide Bramati (Ita) Mapei-Quick Step
22 Roger Hammond (GBR) Collstrop-Palmans
23 Stuart O'Grady (Aus) Credit Agricole
24 Fabio Sacchi (Ita) Saeco Macchine Per Caffe
25 Lars Michaelsen (Den) Team Coast
26 Mauro Radaelli (Ita) Tacconi Sport-Vini Caldirola
27 Oscar Cavagnis (Ita) Saeco Macchine Per Caffe
28 Bert Hiemstra (Ned) Bankgiroloterij-Batavus
29 Koen Beeckman (Bel) CSC-World Online
30 Antonio Cruz (USA) U.S. Postal Service
31 Eddy Serri (Ita) Alexia Alluminio
32 Fabian De Waele (Bel) Lotto-Adecco
33 Gian Matteo Fagnini (Ita) Team Deutsche Telekom
34 Jens Voigt (Ger) Credit Agricole
35 Paul Van Hyfte (Bel) Lotto-Adecco
36 Sven Nijs (Bel) Rabobank
37 Mariano Piccoli (Ita) Lampre-Daikin
38 Danilo Hondo (Ger) Team Deutsche Telekom all s.t.
39 Luca Paolini (Ita) Mapei-Quick Step 6:11
40 Stefan Van Dijk (Ned) Bankgiroloterij-Batavus 6:13
41 Philippe Gaumont (Fra) Cofidis
42 Enrico Cassani (Ita) Domo-Farm Frites
43 Nicola Loda (Ita) Fassa Bortolo
44 Remco Van Der Ven (Ned) Bankgiroloterij-Batavus
45 Nicolay Bo Larsen (Den) CSC-World Online
46 Tom Desmet (Bel) Bankgiroloterij-Batavus
47 Mario Manzoni (Ita) Alexia Alluminio
48 Christophe Detilloux (Bel) Collstrop-Palmans
49 Raphael Schweda (Ger) Team Coast
50 Mathew Hayman (Aus) Rabobank
51 Massimo Apollonio (Ita) Tacconi Sport-Vini Caldirola
52 Coen Boerman (Ned) Rabobank
53 Wilfried Peeters (Bel) Domo-Farm Frites
54 Peter Farazijn (Bel) Cofidis
55 Jan Schaffrath (Ger) Team Deutsche Telekom
56 Johan Museeuw (Bel) Domo-Farm Frites
57 Matthew White (Aus) U.S. Postal Service
58 Jo Planckaert (Bel) Cofidis
59 Franco Ballerini (Ita) Mapei-Quick Step
60 Jan Van Velzen (Ned) Bankgiroloterij-Batavus
61 Jeroen Blijlevens (Ned) Lotto-Adecco
62 Aart Vierhouten (Ned) Rabobank all s.t.
63 Bart Leysen (Bel) Mapei-Quick Step 7:26
64 Karsten Kroon (Ned) Rabobank s.t.
65 Piotr Wadecki (Pol) Domo-Farm Frites 7:56
66 Martin Van Steen (Ned) Bankgiroloterij-Batavus 8:13
67 Matthe Pronk (Ned) Rabobank
68 Marcel Duijn (Ned) Rabobank
69 Giacomo Battistel (Ita) Alexia Alluminio
70 Gregory Barbier (Fra) Ville de Charleroi-New Systems
71 Sylvain Chavanel (Fra) Bonjour
72 Gerben Lowik (Ned) Raboank all s.t.

Circuit de la Sarthe - France

Stage 1 - Ecommoy to Evron 197 km

1 Laurent Brochard (Fra) Jean Delatour 5:21:26
2 Anthony Morin (Fra) Credit Agricole
3 Franck Bouyer (Fra) Bonjour
4 David Millar (GBr) Cofidis
5 Mickael Blaudzun (Den) CSC-World Online
6 Christophe Agnolutto (Fra) Ag2r-Prevoyance
7 Bradley McGee (Aus) Francaise des Jeux
8 Patrice Halgand (Fra) Delatour all s.t.
9 Christophe Moreau (Fra) Festina at 0:25
10 Stephane Heulot (Fra) BigMat s.t.

Stage 2 - Evron to Tierce 192 km

1 Jaan Kirsipuu (Est) Ag2R Prevoyance 4:33:46
2 Steffen Radochla (Ger) Festina
3 Bradley McGee (Aus) La Francaise Des Jeux
4 Alberto Benito (Esp)
5 Bernhard Eisel (Aut) Mapei-Quick Step
6 François Simon (Fra) Bonjour
7 Emmanuel Magnien (Fra) La Francaise Des Jeux
8 Christophe Moreau (Fra) Festina
9 Josu Silloniz (Esp) Euskaltel-Euskadi
10 Peter Wrolich (Aut) Gerolsteiner

31 Bobby Julich (USA) Credit Agricole
49 Steffen Kjaergaard (Nor) U.S. Postal Service
51 Tyler Hamilton (USA) U.S. Postal Service
59 Lance Armstrong (USA) U.S. Postal Service
60 Christian Vandevelde (USA) U.S. Postal Service
69 Jose Luis Rubiera Vigil (Esp) U.S. Postal Service all s.t.
102 Victor Hugo Pena Grisales (Col) U.S. Postal Service 11:34


1 Laurent Brochard (Fra) Jean Delatour 9:54:53
2 Anthony Morin (Fra) Credit Agricole at 0:13
3 Franck Bouyer (Fra) Bonjour 0:14
4 Bradley McGee (Aus) La Francaise Des Jeux 0:15
5 Christophe Agnolutto (Fra) Ag2R Prevoyance 0:17
6 David Millar (GBR) Cofidis s.t.
7 Patrice Halgand (Fra) Jean Delatour 0:18
8 Michael Blaudzun (Den) CSC-World Online 0:19
9 Christophe Moreau (Fra) Festina 0:42
10 Christian Vandevelde (USA) U.S. Postal Service 0:43

New Products in CC Store

We have added a bunch of new stuff to the CC Store, including a full range of saddles, disc-compatible wheels, clothing and rollers (going in later today). We have added Canadian Cyclist subscriptions in the 'Other' category. We also still have a few copies of the Graham Watson 2001 Pro Cycling calendar available for the low price of $12.95 (less than half regular price) - in the Blowouts section.

If you haven't been to the CC Store for a while, be sure to check it out.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.