Canadian Cyclist


October 28/20 10:55 am - X-Speed United Announces 2021 Roster

Posted by Editoress on 10/28/20

Canadian UCI Continental team X-Speed United (XSU) has recruited some big names, and is proud to announce the 2021 roster, with two final riders to be added at a later date. The eight nation team includes seven Canadians, two Australians, two Dutch, and one rider each from Bermuda, UK, Iran, Luxembourg and Belgium.

Two of the Canadian Men's Track Endurance team are included on the roster, Derek Gee and Adam Jamieson. Joining them will be Evan Burtnik, Nic Diniz, Ontario Under-23 up and comers Christ Ernst and Daniel Nordemann-DaSilva, plus Quebec's Mathias Guillemette (who will join the team in August).

Bermuda's Conor White, residing in Ontario, will add a big motor to the engine room, as will Tom Thill, who finished fourth in the 2020 Luxembourg National TT championships.

The two Australian riders are Taj Mueller from Western Australia and rising Star Amarni Drake from Gold Coast Queensland.

Iranian, and Canadian permanent resident, Arvin Moazami-Godarzi, winner of the Ontario Road series, eighth at the 2019 Canadian Road Championships, and 2016 Olympian, will bring a wealth of experience to the team.

The Netherlands will be represented by Wesley Moll, and Jesse Rass, with Great Britain's Belgium-based Josh Teasdale and Belgian sprinter Simon Daniels rounding out the squad.

Team Manager Rick Lee said, "The selection process was pretty tough, and we still have some decisions to make. We selected eight Under-23 riders to give them an opportunity at international racing, with a number of local riders from Ontario development programs filtering into XSU. COVID depending, the majority of racing will be centred in Europe, as well as Canada, and maybe Asia".

He went on to say, "We have a great group of staff members, including Amanda O'Connor from Australia, Marc Godart of Luxembourg, and Art Adams here in Canada. Karolien Liesens from Belgium will be the team soigneur. Marc will do most of the DS work in Europe, and has a ton of experience."

X-Speed United 2021 Roster

Evan Burtnik (Canada)
Simon Daniels (Belgium)
Nicholas Diniz (Canada)
Amarni Drake (Australia)
Christopher Ernst (Canada)
Derek Gee (Canada)
Mathias Guillemette (Canada)
Adam Jamieson (Canada)
Arvin Moazami Godarzi (Iran)
Wesley Mol (Netherlands)
Taj Mueller (Australia)
Daniel Nordemann-DaSilva (Canada)
Jesse Raas (Netherlands)
Joshua Teasdale (Great Britain)
Tom Thill (Luxembourg)
Connor White (Bermuda)


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.