Canadian Cyclist


April 18/01 1:17 am - Ontario Canada Games Info, Sudbury CC Death, Fleche-Wallonne

Posted by Editor on 04/18/01

Ontario Team Selection Race - Canada Games
Courtesy Denise Kelly

The first selection race for those wishing to gain a spot on the Ontario Team heading to the Canada Games in London, ON this summer will be held at Dagmar (Ontario Cup # 1) on April 29th. Eligible Senior Elite men will race with the Junior Expert men at 11:00 am. Eligible Pro-Elite women will race with the Junior women at 2:00 pm.

NOTE THE TIME CHANGE FOR ELIGIBLE PRO-ELITE WOMEN. The winners of both the men's and women's races will earn automatic positions on the team. Team Ontario coaches, Frank Fogolin, Denise Kelly and Neil Ross, will be present at the race. For more information on the race and to pre-register go to Thanks to Adam Ruppel for accommodating the necessary changes.

Former Sudbury CC President Dies
Courtesy Sandra Kleppe


Gary Trevisiol's father Enrico has passed away (Obituary below). For those of you who don't know Gary or his father they were both involved in the club in the '80's. Gary was one of the nation's best cyclist at that time and went to the 1984 Los Angles Olympic's. Enrico was involved with the club as one of our club President's. He volunteered countless hours to the club at events, bingo's, races and other important facets of the running of the club.

If you have the opportunity to attend visitation or send a note to Gary I'm sure it would be appreciated.

Resting at the LOUGHEED FUNERAL HOME, 252 Regent St. (at Hazel St.). Funeral Mass in Our Lady of Perpetual Help Church, Thursday, April 19th, 2001 at 11 a.m. Interment in the Parklawn Cemetery. Donations to Liver Foundation would be appreciated. (Friends may call 2-5 & 7-9 p.m. Wednesday).

Fleche-Wallonne, Belgium

1. Rik Verbrugghe (Bel) Lotto 4:50:03
2. Ivan Basso (Ita) Fassa Bortolo at 0:05
3. Jorg Jaksche (Ger) ONCE 0:12
4. César Solaun (Esp) 0:21
5. David Etxebarria (Esp)
6. Francesco Casagrande (Ita)
7. Dario Frigo (Ita)
8. Davide Rebellin (Ita)
9. Michael Boogerd (Ned)
10. Peter Luttenberger (Aut) all s.t.
11. Michele Bartoli (Ita) 0:27
12. Raimundas Rumsas (Lit)
13. Francisco Mancebo (Esp)
14. Marcos Serrano (Esp)
15. Oscar Camenzind (Sui)
16. Mario Aerts (Bel)
17. Paolo Savoldelli (Ita) all s.t.
18. Angel Castresana (Esp) 0:37
19. Axel Merckx (Bel)
20. Paolo Bettini (Ita) both s.t.

Women's World Cup - La Fleche-Wallonne, Belgium

1. Fabiana Luperini (Ita) 2:41:32
2. Anna Millward (Aus) at 0:09
3. Trixi Worrack (Ger) s.t.
4. Edita Pucinskaite (Lit) 0:15
5. Ceris Gilfillan (GBR) s.t.
6. Heidi Van de Vijver (Bel) 0:20
7. Simona Parente (Ita) 0:22
8. Zinaida Stahurskaia (Blr) 0:24
9. Mirjan Merchers (Ned)
10. Susanne Ljungskog (Swe) all s.t.

Anna Millward still leads the overall standings.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.