Canadian Cyclist


May 19/01 5:57 am - Canadian Trackies Head to World Cup, Peace Race Update

Posted by Editoress on 05/19/01

Canadian Track Team off to World Cup # 1

In true Calgary fashion, the weather greets our Calgary based athletes with a May long weekend snow storm. As we finished up our last practice on the Glenmore Velodrome this morning at 11h00, just in time for the winds to pick up, blowing in a snow storm from the Rocky Mountains. By 14h00 the snow was falling on Calgary! At 15h00 the snow continues to fall, melting by the time it hit the ground, but still a snow storm all the same.

The first UCI track world Cup of 2001 takes place next weekend, May 25-27 in Cali, Colombia. Our Canadian Team will be composed of 9 athletes, and 2 staff.

The team is made up of 4 male sprinters, 1 female sprinters, 2 endurance males, and 2 endurance females.

Tyler Hansen (Victoria)
Steen Madsen (Edmonton)
Lars Madsen (Edmonton)
Jim Fisher (Calgary)
Alex Cloutier (Montreal)
Glen Rendall (Ontario)
Lori-Ann Muenzer (Edmonton)
Mandy Poitras (Victoria)
Erin Carter (Victoria)

Kurt Innes (Calgary) and Houshang Amiri (Victoria).

We are off tomorrow to Montreal, to visit the training centre in Bromont, Quebec. We are planning a team building session, along with a planning session for the upcoming quadrennial with the National Team Co-ordinator (Sean ODonnell) and National Team High Performance Director (Pierre Hutsebaut). Following the meetings on Sunday and Monday, along with some light training in the beautiful surroundings of Bromont, we head to Cali.

This years team has a lot of international experience, with only one newcomer (Tyler Hansen) making his debut to the World Cup scene.

I will attempt to update with results as they come in, hoping to be able to bring all at home the exciting news as it happens.

Kurt Innes

Peace Race - Czech Republic

Stage 10 - Schkeuditz to Potsdam 166 km

1. Thilo Schuler (Ger) Germany U23 4:18:13
2. Crescenzo D'Amore (Ita) Mapei-Quick Step
3. Andreas Beikirch (Ger) Agro-Adler Mark Brandenburg
4. Donatas Virbickas (Ltu) Collstrop-Palmans
5. Roberto Lochowski (Ger) Team Fakta
6. Robert Forster (Ger) Team Nurnberger
7. Steffen Radochla (Ger) Festina
8. Glenn Magnusson (Swe) Domo-Farm Frites
9. Andre Schulze (Ger) Team Wiesenhof Leipzig
10. Radoslaw Romanik (Pol) CCC-Mat
17. Czeslaw Lukascewicz (Can) Servisco
30. Michael Barry (Can) Saturn Cycling Team

66. Harm Jansen (Ned) Saturn Cycling Team
72. Mark McCormack (USA) Saturn Cycling Team all s.t.

Final GC
1. Jakob Storm Piil (Den) CSC-World Online 39:21:57
2. Aito Garmendia Arbilla (Esp) Team Coast at 0:18
3. Radoslaw Romanik (Pol) CCC-Mat 0:35
4. Michael Barry (Can) Saturn Cycling Team 0:45
5. Zbigniew Piatek (Pol) Mroz-Supradyn Witaminy 1:10
6. Enrico Poitschke (Ger) Team Wiesenhof Leipzig 1:21
7. Scott Sunderland (Aus) Team Fakta 1:41
8. Uwe Peschel (Ger) Gerolsteiner 3:22
9. Thomas Liese (Ger) Team Nürnberger 4:12
10. Pedro Horrillo Munoz (Spa) Mapei-Quick Step 4:25

53. Harm Jansen (Ned) Saturn Cycling Team 41:07
55. Mark McCormack (USA) Saturn Cycling Team 41:21
58. Czeslaw Lukascewicz (Can) Servisco 43:18


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.