Canadian Cyclist


April 27/22 9:28 am - Cycling Canada Announces Team for Milton Nations Cup

Posted by Editoress on 04/27/22

A total of 26 riders will represent Canada at Round 2 of the Track Nations Cup at the Mattamy National Cycling Centre in Milton, Ontario, on May 12-15. More than 350 athletes from 36 nations are registered for the event. This competition will mark the return of international track events to Canadian soil after a two-year absence.

Olympic medallists Kelsey Mitchell and Lauriane Genest will be leading the Canadian contingent, along with Tokyo 2020 Olympians Ariane Bonhomme, Derek Gee, Michael Foley, Nick Wammes, and rowing Olympic bronze medallist Caileigh Filmer. Mitchell is the current Nations Cup leader in the women's Sprint competition.





Nick Wammes vs Harrie Lavreysen


They will be joined by three additional sprinters and four men's and women's endurance squads, including 2020 Milton Track World Cup bronze medallists Evan Burtnik, Chris Ernst, Amiel Flett-Brown, Jackson Kinniburgh, Sean Richardson, Devaney Collier and Erin Attwell.

"The thing I love most about home crowds is the noise, it's always amazing. There's like a soundwave following us around the track and it's one of my best memories from the first Milton World Cup," said Milton local Michael Foley. "Having family and friends in the stands is always really nice, because they hear all about our racing, but now they get to experience it as well."

Other athletes to watch out for include Sprint World Champion Emma Hinze and Time Trial World Champion Lea Friedrich, both from Germany, along with Omnium World Champions Ethan Hayter from Great Britain and Jennifer Valente from the USA, who also won gold in the event at the last Milton World Cup. The lineup also includes Italian Olympic medallist Elia Viviani, Points Race former World Champion Corbin Strong of New Zealand and Team Pursuit Olympic Champions Jonathan Milan and Filippo Ganna from Italy.

In addition to the Individual Sprint, Team Sprint, Keirin, Team Pursuit, Madison and Omnium, athletes will be competing in the Scratch Race, Points Race, Individual Pursuit and Kilometre-500m Time Trial. Tickets and event passes are still available for purchase, along with limited VIP passes for all evening sessions which provide access to on-site parking, food and beverages, infield access and more. Individuals interested in volunteering at the event can apply Here.

Team Canada

Women's Sprint
Lauriane Genest - Lévis, QC [Team Sprint, Keirin, Sprint]
Kelsey Mitchell - Sherwood Park, AB [Team Sprint, Keirin, Sprint, Time Trial]
Sarah Orban - Calgary, AB [Team Sprint, Time Trial]

Men's Sprint
Ryan Dodyk - Edmonton, AB [Team Sprint, Sprint, Keirin]
Je'Land Sydney - Georgetown, ON [Team Sprint]
Nick Wammes - Bothwell, ON [Team Sprint, Sprint, Time Trial]

Women's Track Endurance
Erin Attwell - Victoria, BC [Team Pursuit]
Ngaire Barraclough - Edmonton, AB [Team Pursuit, Omnium, Scratch]
Ariane Bonhomme - Gatineau, QC [Team Pursuit]
Devaney Collier - Edmonton, AB [Team Pursuit]
Adèle Desgagnés - Montreal, QC [Team Pursuit]
Caileigh Filmer - Victoria, BC [Team Pursuit]
Fiona Majendie - Vancouver, BC [Team Pursuit]
Lily Plante - Sutton, QC [Team Pursuit, Madison]
Sarah Van Dam - Victoria, BC [Team Pursuit, Elimination, Madison]
Ruby West - Dundas, ON [Team Pursuit]

Men's Track Endurance
Evan Burtnik - Edmonton, AB AB [Team Pursuit]
Chris Ernst - Kitchener, ON [Team Pursuit]
Amiel Flett-Brown - Vancouver, BC [Team Pursuit]
Michael Foley - Milton, ON [Team Pursuit, Madison]
Daniel Fraser - Anmore, BC [Team Pursuit]
Derek Gee - Ottawa, ON [Madison]
Mathias Guillemette - Trois-Rivières, QC [Team Pursuit, Elimination]
Jackson Kinniburgh - Calgary, AB [Team Pursuit, Omnium, Scratch]
Ethan Ogrodniczuk - Vancouver, BC [Team Pursuit]
Sean Richardson - Vancouver, BC [Team Pursuit]


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2024 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.