Canadian Cyclist


May 3/22 15:28 pm - Cote Avoids Crash in Final Metres of Dunkerque Stage 1

Posted by Editoress on 05/3/22

Pier-André Côté (Human Powered Health) narrowly missed a crash in the final metres of Stage 1 of the 4 Days of Dunkerque on Tuesday to finish 14th. Coté's team mate Arvid De Kleijn took the win after the rider who caused the crash was relegated.

There were only about 50 metres to go when Arnaud De Lie (Lotto Soudal) moved to the front of the bunch sprint, trying to make his way between Dan McLay (Arkéa Samsic) and Sam Welsford (Team DSM). Welsford went slightly out of his trajectory to his left and came into contact with De Lie, which caused the crash of several riders.

Behind, Pier-André Côté managed to avoid the worst, stating to Sportcom, "I think I had a guardian angel at the very end! You can see me crossing the line at almost 1 km / h, I had to do the last 100 metres just by braking and zigzagging between bikes flying around me. We did the work for Arvid, but we are far from giving him the perfect approach, it was so chaotic!"

Stage 1: Dunkerque to Aniche, 161.1 km
1 Arvid De Kleijn (Ned) Human Powered Health 3:31:14
2 Jason Tesson (Fra) St Michel-Auber 93
3 Nils Eekhoff (Ned) Team DSM
4 Pierre Barbier (Fra) B&B Hotels-KTM
5 Alexis Renard (Fra) Cofidis
6 Arnaud de Lie (Bel) Lotto Soudal
7 Bram Welten (Ned) Groupama-FDJ
8 Arne Marit (Bel) Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise
9 Gerben Thijssen (Bel) Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert
10 Emiel Vermeulen (Bel) GO Sport-Roubaix Lille Métropole
11 Christopher Lawless (GBr) TotalEnergies
12 Felipe Orts Lloret (Esp) Burgos-BH
13 Jonathan Couanon (Ned) Nice Métropole Côte d'Azur
14 Pier-André Côté (Can) Human Powered Health
15 Jake Stewart (GBr) Groupama-FDJ
16 Tristan Delacroix (Fra) Nice Métropole Côte d'Azur
17 Sam Watson (GBr) Groupama-FDJ
18 Damien Touzé (Fra) AG2R Citroën Team
19 Mihkel Räim (Est) Burgos-BH
20 Axel Zingle (Fra) Cofidis
21 Romain Cardis (Fra) St Michel-Auber 93
22 Gianni Vermeersch (Bel) Alpecin-Fenix
23 Hugo Hofstetter (Fra) Team Arkéa-Samsic
24 Norman Vahtra (Est) GO Sport-Roubaix Lille Métropole
25 Emmanuel Morin (Fra) Team U Nantes-Atlantique
26 Quentin Jauregui (Fra) B&B Hotels-KTM
27 Antoine Raugel (Fra) AG2R Citroën Team
28 Hugo Page (Fra) Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert
29 Cyril Barthe (Fra) B&B Hotels-KTM
30 Paul Hennequin (Fra) Nice Métropole Côte d'Azur
31 Oliver Naesen (Bel) AG2R Citroën Team
32 Reinardt Janse Van Rensburg (RSA) Lotto Soudal
33 Milan Fretin (Esp) Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise
34 Lorrenzo Manzin (Fra) TotalEnergies
35 Robert Stannard (Aut) Alpecin-Fenix
36 Óscar Pelegrí (Aut) Burgos-BH
37 Clément Russo (Fra) Team Arkéa-Samsic
38 Michael Gogl (Aut) Alpecin-Fenix
39 Sebastian Schönberger (Aut) B&B Hotels-KTM
40 Juraj Sagan (Svk) TotalEnergies
41 Cyril Gautier (Fra) B&B Hotels-KTM
42 Cédric Beullens (Bel) Lotto Soudal
43 Evaldas Siskevicius (Ltu) GO Sport-Roubaix Lille Métropole
44 Christophe Noppe (Bel) Team Arkéa-Samsic
45 Joris Delbove (Fra) St Michel-Auber 93
46 Maciej Bodnar (Pol) TotalEnergies
47 Tom Wirtgen (Ned) Bingoal Pauwels Sauces WB
48 Jetse Bol (Ned) Burgos-BH
49 Ludovic Robeet (Bel) Bingoal Pauwels Sauces WB
50 Louis Blouwe (Bel) Bingoal Pauwels Sauces WB
51 Brent van Moer (Bel) Lotto Soudal
52 Clément Carisey (Fra) GO Sport-Roubaix Lille Métropole
53 Laurent Pichon (Fra) Team Arkéa-Samsic
54 Laurence Pithie (NZl) Groupama-FDJ
55 Samuel Leroux (Fra) GO Sport-Roubaix Lille Métropole
56 Benjamin Thomas (Fra) Cofidis
57 Ward Vanhoof (Bel) Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise
58 Thomas Boudat (Fra) GO Sport-Roubaix Lille Métropole
59 Niklas Märkl (Bel) Team DSM
60 Maxime Urruty (Fra) Nice Métropole Côte d'Azur
61 Florian Richard-Andrade (Fra) Team U Nantes-Atlantique
62 Kevin Ledanois (Fra) Team Arkéa-Samsic
63 Eddy Finé (Fra) Cofidis
64 Stephen Bassett (USA) Human Powered Health
65 Gilles de Wilde (Bel) Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise
66 Colin Joyce (USA) Human Powered Health
67 Flavien Maurelet (Fra) St Michel-Auber 93
68 Wessel Krul (Ned) Human Powered Health
69 Baptiste Planckaert (Bel) Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert
70 Jens Debusschere (Bel) B&B Hotels-KTM
71 Morne van Niekerk (RSA) St Michel-Auber 93
72 Jordi Warlop (Bel) B&B Hotels-KTM
73 Niki Terpstra (Ned) TotalEnergies
74 Hugo Toumire (Fra) Cofidis
75 Dimitri Claeys (Bel) Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert
76 Arjen Livyns (Bel) Bingoal Pauwels Sauces WB
77 Szymon Sajnok (Pol) Cofidis
78 Alexandre Delettre (Fra) Cofidis
79 Julien Vermote (Bel) Alpecin-Fenix
80 Alan Riou (Fra) Team Arkéa-Samsic
81 Jean Goubert (Fra) Nice Métropole Côte d'Azur
82 Marc Sarreau (Fra) AG2R Citroën Team
83 Jonas Iversby Hvideberg (Nor) Team DSM
84 Dorian De Maeght (Bel) Bingoal Pauwels Sauces WB
85 Jordan Jegat (Fra) Team U Nantes-Atlantique
86 Léo Danès (Fra) Team U Nantes-Atlantique
87 Mathias Le Turnier (Fra) Team U Nantes-Atlantique
88 Ayco Bastiaens (Bel) Alpecin-Fenix
89 Boy van Poppel (Ned) Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert
90 Lionel Taminiaux (Bel) Alpecin-Fenix
91 Kévin Besson (Fra) Nice Métropole Côte d'Azur
92 Philippe Gilbert (Bel) Lotto Soudal
93 Corne Van Kessel (Ned) Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert
94 Sven Erik Bystrøm (Nor) Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert
95 Angel Fuentes (Esp) Burgos-BH
96 Jules Hesters (Bel) Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise
97 Laurenz Rex (Bel) Bingoal Pauwels Sauces WB
98 Geoffrey Soupe (Fra) TotalEnergies
99 Julien Simon (Fra) TotalEnergies
100 Daniel McLay (GBr) Team Arkéa-Samsic
101 Ruben Apers (Bel) Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise
102 Stanislaw Aniolkowski (Pol) Bingoal Pauwels Sauces WB
103 Alex Colman (Bel) Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise
104 Stéphane Rossetto (Fra) St Michel-Auber 93
105 Fabian Lienhard (Sui) Groupama-FDJ
106 Matthieu Ladagnous (Fra) Groupama-FDJ
107 Andrea Mifsud (Fra) Nice Métropole Côte d'Azur
108 Nicolas Debeaumarché (Fra) St Michel-Auber 93
109 Max Poole (GBr) Team DSM
110 Enzo Leijnse (Ned) Team DSM
111 Paul Lapeira (Fra) AG2R Citroën Team
112 Gijs van Hoecke (Bel) AG2R Citroën Team
113 Alex Molenaar (Ned) Burgos-BH
114 Andreas Kron (Den) Lotto Soudal
115 Jérémy Leveau (Fra) GO Sport-Roubaix Lille Métropole
116 Maël Guégan (Fra) Team U Nantes-Atlantique
117 Maurice Ballerstedt (Ger) Alpecin-Fenix
118 Sam Welsford (Aus) Team DSM all s.t.
119 Nathan Brown (USA) Human Powered Health 13:56
120 Louis Richard (Fra) Team U Nantes-Atlantique
121 Carlos Barbero (Esp) Lotto Soudal
122 Juan Antonio Lopez-Cozar (Esp) Burgos-BH all s.t.
123 Gage Hecht (USA) Human Powered Health 16:21


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2023 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.